We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltxipi

Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 32 33 10
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“clams” (16 reviews)
“monkfish” (14 reviews)
“baked crab” (7 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Saltxipi for the seafood -- a San Sebastián specialty, afterall. But the dish we really loved was a plate of chunky wild mushrooms in a garlicky sauce with a buttery fried egg. Almost like a filet, the mushrooms were tender and beefy....More

Thank Marla N
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad you have had such a great experience with us. It would be great to see you back to San Sebastian soon. Best.

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were in San Sebastián only for two days and had been recommended to eat at Saltxipi Checked out the reviews on trip advisor - and saw some less than complimentary reviews. We went anyway - and was so glad we did! To begin with...More

Thank DavcoDave
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Good morning. Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We are really happy to read you have had such a great experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food as well as the attention and it would be a big pleasure for...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Food was wonderful. We wanted to try both the monkfish and the steak so they brought out half each on separate plates. I'm not a big meat eater but the steak was superb - melt in the mouth. Had the anchovies, croquettes and stuffed peppers...More

Thank julia D
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Good morning Julia. Thank you very much for your comment. It is really nice to read the experience, in general terms, was so enjoyable. We take a note of the things to improve and hope to see you back soon. Best.

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Ina a word, boring. The food was cooked well enough but the presentation lacked imagination. It was our first night in San Sebastian and were tired after a long international journey, so we took the risk of asking the hotel to book for us. We...More

Thank dcah1
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Good morning. We regret you did not find the experience as enjoyable as we would have liked. We take a note and will keep working hard to improve. Best.

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We came across this restaurant by chance and thought ourselves lucky as the setting was lovely and we had not made a reservation. We sat down, made our selections from the menu and were anticipating a pleasant evening of good food in pleasant surroundings. Unfortunately...More

2  Thank Becky_TdS
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning Becky. Our daily objective is to make people enjoy our food and service. We regret we did not achieve this goal in your case. We take a note of your review, as we do with all of them, and will keep working hard...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had not booked a table and were searching for a slightly out of town reastarurant when we came across Saltxipi. What a beautiful setting! However, this turned out to be the high point. The head waiter had an aloof manner and arrogant manner. When...More

2  Thank Shiran235
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning. We regret you did not feel as well attended as we would have liked. Of course, we read all the comments and try to use them to improve in every aspect of our job. We will d so with your review. Kind regards.

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The waiter is positively rude at every opportunity. He took a dismissive attitude every time he came to our table. The food was nice, but nothing special, and very overpriced.

2  Thank craig M
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Good morning Craig. We regret you did not find the experience as enjoyable as we would have liked. We will keep working hard to improve in every aspect. Best.

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The head waiter was repeatedly rude. He kept us waiting and when he appeared he immediately left us, with no explanation, to deal with another table. His surly rude attitude continued, including failing to inform us that items on the menu were unavailable. The dishes...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Good morning. We regret you did not enjoy the visit as we would have liked. We take a note and will keep working hard to improve. Best.

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Recommended by our hotel. We both chose monkfish and it was great. It was also a very large piece of fish which was nice. Great service and would definitely go back

Thank 08pank2017
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning. Thanks a lot for sharing your review. We are glad you have had such a great experience with us. It would be nice to see you back soon. Best.

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

For sure the place to visit for a lovely dinner if you stay a cuple of nights in St.Sebastian... This is the place where Dustin Hoffman or Meryl Strip were for dinner when they came to the Cine Festival!The grilled fish is superb!! And the...More

Thank gorkazm
Atencion_Restaurante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Saltxipi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good morning. Thanks a lot for the comment. We are glad you have such a great concept of our restaurant. That means you have had enjoyed your experience with us, so we are happy for it and we hope to see you back. Best.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Zelai Txiki
323 reviews
.30 km away
Bar Bergara
551 reviews
.35 km away
Tatami
136 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
La Gintoneria Donostiarra
237 reviews
.70 km away
San Ignacio Church
46 reviews
.56 km away
Kubo Kutxa
8 reviews
.76 km away
Basque Tours
562 reviews
.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wluk
17 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Atencion_Restaurante | Property representative |
Good morning wluk. Thnaks for your question. Yes we have a parking for 15-20 cars just in front of the restaurant's garden. Looking forward to seeing you soon. All the best.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 71
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Tuesday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
8:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calzada Vieja de Ategorrieta, 3, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Basque Country  >  Province of Guipuzcoa  >  San Sebastian - Donostia
  • Phone Number: +34 943 32 33 10
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional basque cuisine since 1973. Large terrace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing