We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Raj Of Black Dam

$$ - $$$
Indian, Asian, Balti, Halal
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Rucstall Center | Rembrandt Close, Basingstoke RG21 3QN, England
+44 1256 818450
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 17:30 - 22:30
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Mon - Thu 17:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Huge thanks to all the staff for another fantastic charity event to support Citizens Advice Basingstoke. Over the last week we have had so many positive comments about the friendly service and great tasting food. We are already being asked for the date of the next evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

Despite the satnav it felt counter-intuitive to be driving up a winding road in a housing estate on the outskirts of Basingstoke! Have no fear! At the end of the road is an admittedly anonymous looking indian restaurant. Inside - and this was a Citizens Advice Fund raising event - it was buzzing so atmosphere+++ Service given the numbers -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The last ever time we will order from this place! We ordered our meal at 19:00 on a Saturday, I fully expect to have to wait and the delivery time of 19:45 was fine. Shortly after this increase to 20:00, again no major issue. However we had to then call at 20:15, 20:30,20:45 every time to be told he is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan E
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Have visited the Raj many times over the past 10 - 15 years, and have been impressed every time. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful, the food is cooked to perfection, and the service you receive is warm and welcoming......superb as always! Looking forward to the next visit.

Helpful?
Thank mrfwon
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Visited For Charity night buffet for £11.95, eat as much as you like. First disappointment was that poppadoms cost extra. Second one was the lack of choice for vegetarians compared with the number of meat options. There was live music.......a band which was too loud so difficult to hold a conversation.

Helpful?
Thank B J T
Raj-of-Black-Dam, Manager at Raj Of Black Dam, responded to this review

Thank for coming to our charity event yesterday, we hope you enjoyed the evening. It is our mistake that we don't make it clear that papadoms and condiments cost extra, and that we weren't able to provide more variety in our buffet options. In retrospect, regarding the live entertainment, we agree that the band were at a volume that could... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

Six family members walked here from town to celebrate our daughter's birthday, it being some considerable time since we had eaten at an Indian (actually , Bangladeshi- I asked the manager). We have eaten here a number of times over the years and we were not disappointed either with the food , service or air conditioning, essential since this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisC46
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

Such a shame that the Raj of Black Dam isn't in a more central location in Basingstoke as it would clean up! Very good food for the most part, the lamb can be hit and miss so order chicken if you can!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley S
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great meal for 10 of us. Beer kept in flowing. Food was very good. Great portions. Only downside is the entrance (rear) could do with smartening up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kryz_O
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

After not visiting the Raj for a while we were looking forward to going back. The service was terrible, extremely slow and uninterested staff. The food was mediocre after an unacceptably long wait. Hair in one of the dishes. Definitely won't be returning. Such a shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarrals
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2016

No kerb appeal however once inside, a spacious and comfortable restaurant. Good tasty food with excellent service and definitely value for money. Will certainly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robertmc12

Travellers who viewed Raj Of Black Dam also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Raj Of Black Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Halal
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Rucstall Center | Rembrandt Close, Basingstoke RG21 3QN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 818450

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Raj Of Black Dam staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?