We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Leaf

25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
+44 1256 355272
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (51 reviews)
“weeping tiger” (16 reviews)
“duck curry” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited with friends and we were not disappointed. The food and service were both excellent. The sharing platter and the red chicken curry were superb as were the other dishes served. I’ll certainly return on my next visit.

Thank johnpeter2253
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to the Lime Leaf with my partner and I have to say it was very nice , the Massamam curry was lovely as was the chicken Satay. There wasn’t anything out of the ordinary on the menu it was all the standard stuff...More

Thank boombashaggy
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this review. I am glad you appreciated the food. I regret we can't offer draught beer. We don't have the space to set it up. In any case, you have exaggerated the cost of the bottled beers. Two bottles cost £7.60 -...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A small quaint 2 floor restaurant.. love the food. A bit pricey but its the only Thai restaurant in Basingstoke so no competition. Book in advance as its always fully booked.More

Thank sweetjc a
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. I am glad you love our food. With regard to pricing, I think you will find our prices compare favourably with other Thai restaurants of similar quality. It is nor the case that we have no competition. We recognise that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As Wagamama was recently undergoing refurbishment, my wife and I decided to give Lime Leaf a go. We were both pleasantly surprised and had a great experience here. Spring rolls - excellent and with a nice home made sweet chilli dip. Also a good portion...More

Thank CraigHopper
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this comprehensive review. I am sorry to have been slow to respond. I would only say we can cater for those "in a rush". Our express lunch and early evening menus are designed with that in mind. We have some regular lunchtime...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Fantastic food, well priced and atmosphere ii restaurant is great. There is an extensive traditional menu and the staff are excellent.

Thank Laura D
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. Comments such as these are a great encouragement for us.

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely food and great service, very impressed. On a wednesday in October it was fully booked which says a lot. Food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Pricing was reasonable as well. Atmosphere was great too. I will certainly return.

1  Thank awhittall
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. I am glad to see we managed to tick all the boxes to create a good dining experience.

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We visited straight after work and enjoyed a lovely meal with great service. The decor is really nice and the customer service efficient and friendly without being overbearing. A good choice of menu and the food we had was delicious. I’d have no hesitation in...More

Thank James S
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. It is true that the early evening can seem quiet on some days. But that is not always the case as diners take advantage of our early bird menu.

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Excellent early dinner though not early bird menu so a la carte was required and appreciated. We started off with Chicken Satay for the lady and Poh Tauk for myself- a sort of Thai seafood consomme with added spice followed by Prawn Green Curry for...More

Thank ChrisC46
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Many thanks for this comprehensive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary dinner.

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Food and service is great, but the overall ambience doesn't make it feel very relaxing. With a little more effort to improve the ambience and interior settings, this place will definitely attract more diners

Thank Raj K
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Welcoming, authentic Thai spiced but not "hot" cuisine in an English environment. Good for Basingstoke.More

Thank ruudhaasjes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for this review. We tend not to overdo the heat but are always happy to spice it up for those who like it hot. They only have to ask. We do it this way as it's easier to add spice - not so...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mayflower
281 reviews
.10 km away
Zizzi - Basingstoke
212 reviews
.10 km away
Thai Knight
21 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Anvil
240 reviews
.52 km away
Eastrop Park
133 reviews
.37 km away
Festival Place Shopping Centre
114 reviews
.44 km away
Willis Museum
75 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
31 July 2016|
Answer
Response from David W | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We do try to cater for special requests but some sauces are an integral part of the dish and may be difficult to remove. It might be better for you to tell us what you do like and we'll see what... More
1
Vote
Dropkicknm
18 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David W | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Most of our vegetarian dishes marked with a V on the menu are also suitable for vegans. The exceptions are egg fried rice and Vegetable Pad Thai. The latter normally contains egg but can be... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:15 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 355272
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant serving authentic Thai food. Situated in a 16th century two storey building in Basingstoke's Top of Town area. Small intimate dining areas suitable for small group bookings up to 16 persons.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing