We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brooklyn Bolton

Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Green Lane | Great Lever, Bolton BL3 2EF, England
+44 1204 523176
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 25: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub off green lane, great lever, Bolton. Quite near to motorway. Pub looks like an old mill owners mansion from the outside with large spacious rooms on the inside. Serves mainly Joseph holts beer which is no surprise considering it's a Joseph holts pub! The pub has large gardens at the rear so on a nice day you can... More 

Thank Peter R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went in to have a few drinks. The male behind the bar charged us approx. £6.00 for 2 pints and 1 half of lager. On the second round, we had three pints (2 the same as the first round) and the half of lager was now a pint - round cost £9.85. Asked the barman why it has cost an... More 

1 Thank Brooksy0124
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Just popped in to this place for a meal and watch the football. Just felt uncomfortable from the minute I walked in. Stopped serving food at 7pm. So thought have a drink while looking for another place to eat. £1.82 for a flat Diet Coke. Luckily the Southfields is just a minute up the road, serves food till 10.

2 Thank Bill E
jbradford42, General Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

Hi The 25 January was my birthday so I was around and we have been serving food from 12 till 7pm since the Brewrey took over 20 years ago. I would invite anyone to come in and try our new Menu which we have just launched. If anyone can say that the Brooklyn is not welcoming well this is just... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I go to the Brooklyn every now and again with family on Sunday. It's usually the blonde lady I think Pam serving. She's a lovely lady always makes us feel welcome. I wanted a coffee but the machine out of order so she made me a coffee from the staff kettle which was much appreciated. Food was lovely I like... More 

1 Thank adele2710
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Really enjoy my weekly visit to the Brooklyn with friends the pub is always spotlessly clean, music just the right volume and the food excellent. We tried the chicken wraps which were delicious and the chips best ive tasted in a long time- well worth a visit .

Thank Liz P
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Visited on Sunday 19th April 2015, this was the worst meal i and my family have ever. All the vegetables were not fresh but from frozen, the roast potatoes were again from Frozen. The lamb i had ordered was unrecognisable as any form of meat. I had three pieces approximately 2 inches long. It was tasteless and i am sure... More 

2 Thank zowiebowie1982
jbradford42, Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

It amazing how we do so many meals and 99% are good yet make one mistake and your in big trouble. here at the Brooklyn we do are very best on this occasion we did have a problem with the mash potato and we also ran out of fresh veg so we had to use fresh frozen veg. We did... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

Went to order food unfortunately they didn't have what I wanted . Not a good start for food ordering .

1 Thank stefan l
jbradford42, Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

Hi sorry that we didn't have your dish in but we've just introduced our new menu. We could not have the whole menu on at the time as we were waiting for the menu be downloaded on our tills teething problems I'm afraid. So we sincerely apologise. Ps all up and running now thanks. More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2014

There was Ten of us for a meal. Some had cavery and others had meal off the menu, the food was delishes the set meals could do with having more chips and stuff but other than that excellent and the vegeterian meal was excellent!! will be coming back for the new menu Thankyou for the lovely welcome to the chef... More 

Thank Donna-codey
jbradford42, Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

Well thank you for your review it's nice to see someone taking the time to wright a nice cements. As it does make all the difference. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

First time in here since 1985.......and won't be back in a hurry again. Don't expect to get served at the bar before any of the locals even when they are walking in after you. To be fair the food is OK even if the staff are rude and surly.

2 Thank Finbar2966
jbradford42, Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

Hi so sorry you had a poor experience at the Brooklyn and for this we sincerely apologise. I will be speaking to the member of staff who served you as this is NOT execrable. But please if something like this happens here at the Brooklyn or elsewhere please can you ask to see the manager as we can deal with... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

12 of us went for lunch had carvey and off the main menu was well worth the money £5 per meal could not fault the chef was very pleasant and welcoming as was bar staff etc for a cheap meal would recomend will defintley be returning x

Thank eleganc
jbradford42, Manager at The Brooklyn Bolton, responded to this review

Hi there may I take time out to say thank you for your kind comments. We try our to do our very best here at the Brooklyn so again THANK YOU. More 

Travellers who viewed The Brooklyn Bolton also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester

Been to The Brooklyn Bolton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 9
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Green Lane | Great Lever, Bolton BL3 2EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 523176
The Brooklyn was built in1859 and was built on a gothic thyme the pub is set in its own woodlands and is very picturesque we average about seven weddings last year with a free function room. Brand new menu coming soon. Sunday Carvery £4.95 Now on also full menu available 5oz £5.95 And 7oz £7.95 Booth come with all the trimming onion rings, toms, mushrooms (ect) Enjoy.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brooklyn Bolton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?