We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
+44 1423 797979
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 479: English reviews
Ripon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I absolutely loved this place! We went there for a Sunday lunch, and despite them running out of Beef Wellington (It means I'll have to go back for one!), the alternatives (Lamb shanks) were delicious. The food came out in a reasonable time and was very reasonably priced. The ambiance is great and the serving staff could not do more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth_Saunders
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time I have been here and both times it has been disappointing. Been to others in the chain and they are great. I certainly won't be going again. The food was over cooked with soggy batter on the first visit. Then dry and cold on the second.

Helpful?
Thank Erika B
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a very warm welcome when we arrived and seemed to struggle to find us a table for two even though it wasn't particularly busy ! We often visit the Kestrel as we live close by but this is the worst meal we've had! We had Sunday roast and although when it arrived, the plates were hot, the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12334567654333
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. I would like to apologise on behalf of my team here at the Kestrel and we hope this doesn't stop you visiting us again soon regards Jo Beevers More 

North yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in on the off chance after an appointment nearby. We used to come here often but we are spoiled for choice in Harrogate and The Kestrel somehow has been neglected by us recently. Still as good as I remember. Cosy little rooms with log fires and although the car park was fairly full, the place didn't feel full... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMCHNY
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

5 out of 5 superb and thank you! It means so much to us that we have made your visit special and we hope to see you again very soon! Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Kestrel belongs to a chain of inns controlled by Vintage. This one is very disappointing as it has excellent, well-sited premises and a menu that attracts. Unfortunately it does not carry out its promise. Service is poor, although politely administered, with lengthy gas between ordering and bringing food to the table. The food is not poor, but somehow unappetising.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David69729902
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Oh dear! I'm so sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this visit! please accept mine and my teams apologies for your poor experience I do hope this does not put you off returning to us in the near future Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, although could do with more vegetarian options. Nice staff. Window sills and walls could do with a clean from time to time. Good parking. Warm and cosy

Helpful?
Thank DanielGizmo
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us Daniel We really do appreciate feed back good or bad... in this case mainly good, however I do take your comments on board re the window sills and walls! we do hope to see you again soon! Regards Jo Beevers General Manager More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a mix of adults & very young children for Sunday lunch. We had a nice table in a small room with smaller tables & a roaring fire near, a children's menu and a good choice of vegetarian food for myself and my husband. The one item of food I didn't enjoy was the side of cauliflower cheese as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley61281
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have started going every couple of weeks for a late sunday lunch with the kids aged 2 and 3. We have had lovely food and the kids eat amazingly which is hard at their age. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank charlotte d
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your 5 Stars!! Hope to be looking after you again very soon! Regards Jo General Manager More 

Alton, Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We popped in to have a bite to eat and found the pub to be lovely and inviting. The food choice was very good and the quality excellent. Would highly recommend it and would definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Nick T
General Manager A, General Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this review

wow 5 Stars thank you so much! Myself and my team really appreciate you taking the time to review us! Thanks again Jo Beevers General Manager More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect from this place, having heard poor reports from friends and family who have been in the past. My aunt had booked a room for 30 or so for her 70th birthday party and I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. The outside area is charming and has lovely views over open countryside, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abi C

Travellers who viewed The Kestrel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kestrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 797979
Description
The Kestrel in Harrogate is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kestrel and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Kestrel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?