We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fodder Cafe

Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
+44 1423 546111
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (65 reviews)
“cake” (56 reviews)
“quiche” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Arrived on a busy Sunday a short wait shown to our table with the menus we decided order taken within 5 minutes which included 4 roast beef lunches two rare ,1 medium and one well done . They arrived piping hot within 10 mins all...More

Thank Jontyn
Reviewed 3 days ago

I visit this place regularly and really enjoy it. It's a really friendly relaxed atmosphere, the staff are lovely and the food is great. Portions are always generous, and they have a large variety of offerings - some more indulgent like their enormous fruit scones...More

Thank jasminecelesteoliver
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met up with my harrogate bezzy for a quick bite. Long queue for a table was a bit daunting but we caught up as we waited. Shown to a table and told the waitress we were in a hurry and sandwiches and drinks were soon...More

Thank Foodiehavercroft
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thanks for your great review, were glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. When the sun finally comes out to play we have more seating outside which tends to helps in the warmer days. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely cafe, the carrot and coriander soup was nice, but for the price expected a little more flavour. We also ordered a kids picnic box, in my opinion the cheese used was too strong for a child and it also came with coleslaw which wasn’t...More

Thank Chimelle20
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am a regular customer here and have to say that the quality of food is declining. I asked for a cheese and onion sandwich and my daughter ordered the Croque Monsieur. They have a cheese onion and mayo sandwich on the menu I requested...More

Thank Lipsre
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi, Sometimes we have to hold our hands up and say we got it wrong, this is unfortunately one of those occasions. Your waitress got a bit flustered as the Cheese, Onion and Mayo is already mixed ready to go into the sandwich and instead...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place though very busy on a sunny weekend! We stopped in for an afternoon brew and a scone. Service was friendly though the waitress in training was so focused she forgot to smile bless her. Food was lovely and the restaurant clean. Looks like...More

Thank JenH86
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback, much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon in Fodder.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came for a late lunch, we had to que to get a table but it wasn’t for long and we could read the menu while waiting. We had a table by the window which was really nice, it’s just a shame that once we...More

Thank Leah h
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

We’re pleased to hear that you didn’t have to wait long for a table, and that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We apologise that our team missed taking your order and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great breakfast with family. Breakfast bap with bacon, sausage and egg. Delicious. Very efficient and polite service from everyone.

Thank Mrsp442015
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Glad to know you and your family enjoyed breakfast with us, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t eat in the cafe but bought food from the farm shop. Great choice, excellent quality. Would recommend the stuffed chicken breasts. OH had cheese and leek and I had spicy Mediterranean which lived upto it’s name. Children had homemade burgers which were demolished...More

Thank 100,861
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review, we love the stuffed chicken breasts too, and glad to hear the children enjoyed the burgers. See you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a excellent lunch here, great to browse the shop too! excellent atmosphere, spacey but busy, had a white wine and the croque monsieur , which was better than i had in Betty’s, served with lots of different salad leaves and coleslaw, so much and...More

Thank andreahex
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit, we look forwarded to welcoming you on your next visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Harrogate
Rudding Park Hotel
4,887 reviews
1.14 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
919 reviews
1.68 km away
Cedar Court Hotel
2,434 reviews
2.15 km away
Travelodge Harrogate West Park Hotel
347 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Horto Restaurant
188 reviews
1.08 km away
Clocktower Bar & Restaurant
1,153 reviews
1.15 km away
Deer House Family Pub
29 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Harrogate Climbing Centre
40 reviews
1.55 km away
Great Yorkshire Show
58 reviews
.30 km away
Pavilions of Harrogate
14 reviews
.27 km away
Rudding Park Spa
182 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SENOJ111
16 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jane T | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Our menu can be found on our website under the café option on the top menu bar. We also have daily seasonal specials. I hope this information helps.
0
Votes
stephc00per
19 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Luigi M | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 546111
  • E-mail
Description
Fodder is the home of tasty, local, food based on the Great Yorkshire Showground in Harrogate. Fodder sells the very best food and drink from Yorkshire; with a fully stocked butchery counter, a deli counter laden with fresh pies, pasties and amazing cheese. Fruit and veg straight from the farms and lots of lovely jams and chutneys alongside freshly baked local bread and mouthwatering cakes. Fodder also has a lovely cafe which serves everything from a full Yorkshire Breakfast through to cream teas and an extensive lunch menu. Fodder is run and championed by the Yorkshire Agricultural Society and acts as a shop window for local farmers and producers giving a crucial local market for their produce. The shop is Britain's first charitable food hall with all profits re-invested to benefit the rural community. Fodder is dedicated to delivering the best possible service to its customers. In fact, we have regular mystery shopping reviews to help maintain their high standards of customer care.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;