We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
+44 1733 239638
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lovely pub” (25 reviews)
“pub restaurant” (16 reviews)
“food was lovely” (16 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Food was fantastic and well presented but the service was so terrible we had to find the funny side! Great environment, recommend giving it a go as it’s a lovely place, just be grateful if you get half decent service - staff were nice though!

Thank Amy C
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is a really beautiful pub, I would definitely come back for drinks. Unfortunately the food is very disappointing. I was there with a group of colleagues last week. We ordered food, then waited the best part of an hour for it to arrive. I...More

Thank Lucylucylucylucylucy
Reviewed 5 days ago

Really enjoyed the meal - off the lunch menu - very reasonable price too. Fish cakes good as was creme brulee. Nice leisurely lunch with friendly staff. What more could you want!

Thank mags t
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took two colleagues for a leaving lunch. It’s always a bit of a risk to go here as the service is so slow & the food pretty poor. We arrived at midday & ordered straight away before it became busy so we were served...More

Thank Caroline L
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Cuckoo. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here on Sunday over the Bank Holiday weekend for a roast. Bust, busy, busy...but massive beer garden made waiting anything but a chore. Food was decent enough – roast beef and all the trimmings, washed down with a couple of ciders. No frills dining......More

Thank STR159
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Here at The Cuckoo, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. We will take onboard your comments and we will try and learn from them. We hope you will consider giving us another try. Take care

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was very poor, everything was either cold or burnt, most of it inedible. service poor too as we told waitress at the time. Her response was to smile and say maybe it will be better next time. Bill was £100, mostly for food that...More

Thank Kathleen C
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kathleen C, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visit here roughly every 2/3 months as not being too local - never can fault the meal or the service. Staff are the same each time we go and a credit to the establishment First class every time

Thank Lincsch1972
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your five star review. We all at the cuckoo greatly appreciate your wonderful comments and are proud we are able to provide you with excellent service. Have a lovely day see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food and a Nice atmosphere, I would recommend the chicken and thyme pie, delicious! Josh was great!

Thank gabrielle-tay
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Gabrielle for taking the time to leave such an amazing review. We are proud to here what a lovely experience it was and that Josh provided you with excellent service. Take care

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has such a friendly atmosphere! The food was great and Alex is a credit to the company! She is AMAZING!More

1  Thank Victoria W
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Victoria W for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about our pub and our amazing waitress Alex! We are so happy (definately Alex!) that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you return sometime soon. Take care and have a lovely...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is a very nice place to meet and have a meal The meal and staff service was very good but a shame there was no draught beer.More

Thank Gill37
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Gill37 for your lovely review and star rating about our team and your visit. May I ask were all the draught beer off when you came? and could you let me know the date and time of your visit please? I ask as...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Peterborough
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
882 reviews
.34 km away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
443 reviews
.40 km away
Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton
238 reviews
.41 km away
Days Inn Peterborough
393 reviews
1.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alwalton Post Office Tearoom & Stores
49 reviews
.02 km away
Extra’s Peterborough Service Area
31 reviews
.35 km away
Source Grill at The Marriott
53 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alwalton Hall
10 reviews
.15 km away
Nene Valley Railway
648 reviews
4.66 km away
Ferry Meadows Country Park
1,318 reviews
2.18 km away
Elton Hall & Gardens
70 reviews
5.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FennJR
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from critic8888 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not 100% certain but they are very Accommodating give them a call.
1
Vote
Rosey B
8 August 2015|
Answer
Response from TrakESumisu | Reviewed this property |
Quite honestly, it might be better to try The Windmill, about a mile away, or The Bell at Stilton, next junction South on the A1. The Cuckoo used to be a lovely pub, but it has suffered the same fate as most modern... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1733 239638
Description
The Cuckoo in Alwalton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;