We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
+44 1733 239638
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 980: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Quaint pub with lots of seating indoor and out. Good selection of food that was alright. Handy for the holiday Inn express if staying there and the harvester not your choice.

Helpful?
Thank Denise1803
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The cuckoo is a lovely building in Alsatian on the western edge of Peterborough near the show ground and A1. Owned by a chain it has a pleasant interior and some decent beers. We had a family meal and the food was ok. It wasn't cheap-£11+ for a Sunday roast. I had beef sirloin as lamb had sold out. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank sgoodliffe
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dropped in for meal with after cinema. Everyone had steak. All undercooked but we were all starving so didn't bother sending back as had waited for nearly 45 minutes after placing order. Service good but food disappointment and nearly £100 for 4 mains and drinks so hard to argue it's value for money. Been here several times in past but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Id21
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Id21, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional food, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. I regret to hear that you didn't want to wait with returning your steaks as I would have loved to have resolved this on the evening. I do understand your reasoning, however, and appreciate your frustration.... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Innkeeper lodge was quite close to our hotel. The restaurant was full and we had not booked but were told we could eat at a standard table in the bar area. This was absolutely adequate as the tables were not to close together. The food was of an excellent standard and the drinks were good quality.

Helpful?
Thank Pandemoniumsteve
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Hi Pandemoniumsteve, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Cuckoo! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was adequate, but the service at all times was appallingly bad. We initially had to queue at the bar to order drinks from the sole barman. And then queue again to order main courses. And then queue yet again to get another round of drinks as the waitress clearing the table couldn't/wouldn't get us more drinks. And then... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuaGiLo
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Hi Suagilo, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Understaffing can on the... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food, staff and menu! One of my favorites when I am in Peterborough. Must go again asap! There's a salmon with bacon salad, hummmmm

Helpful?
Thank SidFurquim
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Hello, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So we were very disgusted by being sat down near a door and there was a very cold draft, we had to ask three times if our table was ready, but after all of that it was ready! Soon after, we sat down and ordered 2 kids meals and 2 adult meals, shortly after, the food came after a 35... More 

Helpful?
Thank DANVLOGZ Y
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please get in contact with us as we are confused about some of your review. The Cuckoo More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place, lovely location with plenty of space outside if it is sunny and fantastic look inside with old fire places. Food was fantastic especially the carrot cake cheesecake, only reason i did not give this a 5 star rating was when choosing off the menu they always run out and i had to go for my 3rd choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeeG1305
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in here for a birthday lunchtime meal on Monday 8th May. The Cuckoo is a lovely old stone building with a lot of charm. It was a cold day outsideand chilly inside. The radiator next to our table was cold. It's appreciated that this was a lunchtime and the tempersture was below average for the time of year but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Veryhappycouple_11
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cuckoo is an extremely beautiful restaurant, fantastic gardens, beautifully presented hanging baskets outside. Inside it is a really old building with much character and makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and quick to serve you. The food was very hot, well presented and arrived quickly, but not rushed between courses. Would highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Jane T, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Cuckoo! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! More 

Travellers who viewed The Cuckoo also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 40
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1733 239638
Description
The Cuckoo in Alwalton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cuckoo and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cuckoo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?