We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen's Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Silver Street, Chew Magna BS40 8RQ, England
+44 1275 333509
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this lovely pub for lunch for our group of 12 bellringers and everyone enjoyed their food. The staff were helpful and in an expensive village this was a gem, with excellent food at affordable prices.

Helpful?
Thank John S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived 12.20pm on a lunchtime. Sat at a table to be told that this had not yet been cleaned from the previous evening. Moved to another area which was also uncleaned. Unfortunately when front of house hygeine is so poor you do have concerns about behind the scenes. Chicken was good with tasty veg although very small amounts. Chocolate tart... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Y
TheQueensChewMagna, Owner at Queen's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review - Firstly I'm dumbfounded to see that you continued to eat a two course lunch when your concerns were so high over our hygiene levels, secondly we would like to thank you for the 18.5% tip that you handed the lady at the bar after a small error was rectified quickly and... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately we had a really bad experience here. Food was very very slow and very average. Staff were unfriendly and rude. Such a shame as the location is lovely.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheQueensChewMagna, Owner at Queen's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Queens Arms ... It is disappointing of your experience. We take our customer service standards very seriously and as such I am shocked to have learned from you that you felt that our staff were rude - however, I will take on board your comments and address all staff with a... More 

Chew Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Dropped by at the last minute on a Friday evening. Despite it being 8:45 we were warmly welcomed and shown to a table in a quieter part of the pub. Drinks were ordered and arrived promptly and staff went out of their way to be accommodating. I opted out of a starter but my girlfriend went for the lobster soup... More 

Helpful?
Thank DDRShaolin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

3 1/2 hours for the set lunch menu without tea or coffee! Very few vegetables- disappointing all round. Lots of unhappy, complaining people and bored, fractious children!

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Bristol. England.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2017

My Dad suggested the Queens Arms after trying and failing to find something with a decent range of vegetarian food nearby and we were not disappointed. Genuinely some of the best food I have had. I bring family and friends back again and again. Be aware though, that even if it is quiet (as it often is when we visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilshopaholic101
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We've had a lot of Sunday Roasts, and this is by far, the worst we've ever had. The meat was tough and way too thickly sliced. The potatoes were rock solid. Everything tasted like margarine, and somehow the Yorkshire puddings were both dry and soggy at the same time. Pretty sure the whole lot had been sat out for hours... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ammoalexa
TheQueensChewMagna, Owner at Queen's Arms, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We always endeavour to ensure the best experience for all of our customers, however, I understand on this occasion we have far from fulfilled your expectations. I would like to ask you to call me personally to discuss the matter and hopefully find a way that we can put things right for... More 

Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Busy Sunday lunchtime. Friendly welcome. Lengthy wait for food well worth it - all platters delicious (fish; a roast beef and a beefburger). Wonderful to have veg not overcooked (cauliflower cheese; red cabbage, baby carrots). Apple and rhubarb crumble freshly made and hot - fabulous! - just needed a bit more custard. Service friendly and cheerful. The glasses of Sauvignon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dash1945
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

It took nearly 45 minutes for us to get 2 bacon and brie sandwiches with chips on a very quiet Tuesday lunchtime and when it arrived the bacon was cold.The pub was also cold.At least as a compensation they took 10% off the food bill and did not charge for the drinks.

Helpful?
2 Thank hallrichard5
TheQueensChewMagna, Owner at Queen's Arms, responded to this review

Please may i take this opportunity to firstly apologise for the experience you had. We always endeavour to provide our customers with good customer service and fabulous food. I am unsure how on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations. I would like to invite you to call me directly on 07825296760, to discuss the issues that you... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Friendly professional staff !!! Great food and table service,brilliant relaxed atmosphere, 5* food definitely recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank tombiggs1989

Travellers who viewed Queen's Arms also viewed

Chew Magna, Somerset
Chew Magna, Somerset
 
Chew Magna, Somerset
Chew Stoke, Somerset
 

Been to Queen's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 5
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silver Street, Chew Magna BS40 8RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Chew Magna
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 333509
Description
The Queens Arms, Chew Magna a country pub serving freshly prepared meals and a superb range of cask ales, lagers, ciders along with a great selection of soft drinks. Warming log fires for chilly days and beautiful enclosed gardens are inviting to all ages. Baby changing facilities Wheel chair access accessible toilets

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Queen's Arms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Queen's Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?