We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Port House

64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 677 0298
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (266 reviews)
“churros” (31 reviews)
“croquetas” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here for lunch, the food was delicious and the girl who served us was very attentive. The wine was delicious and complimented the food perfect. Great atmosphere in lovely rustic surroundings

Thank martymca33
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I decided to go here for dinner following some rave reviews & were not disappointed. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The wait was pretty excessive 1.15 mins. They do not take bookings and it is a very popular venue so...More

Thank sarahlouiseruth
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us. We remember the plumbing issue we had, it was back in June and we recall moving all of our customers from the affected area and complimenting some bills as a gesture of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favourite restaurant in Dublin and I go every chance I get! Never disappoints. Food is always delicious and atmosphere always buzzing! Definitely recommend to everyone who enjoys great food and great wine!

Thank Lauren0106
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Lauren, we are truly honoured. Getting such wonderful recommendations like this one is tremendous, thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a tapas with some friends and waited for a table. Bought and paid for a round of drinks at the bar(we were the only 4 people at the bar) from the single most uninterested bartender I have ever encountered in Dublin. Grabbed my...More

1  Thank Francis L
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this review of our restaurant. With regard to our staff member you are reviewing, we apologise for the confusion surrounding your drinks that you paid for already and were subsequently billed again. There was absolutely no intention of making you feel...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with my boyfriend yesterday. Busy restaurant, we didn't book a table but neither did the queue of people behind us. I cant fault the food, full of flavour, the prawns pil pil were probably the most amazing prawns I have ever had....More

Thank PrincessAT1986
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Firstly thank you for your feedback. Be it negative or positive, we really appreciate the input from our customers. It is disappointing that you felt this way about our staff. We will certainly investigate the matter as we can assure you that all of our...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

One of the first things I tend to take in when visiting a restauraunt is the interior, it's a whole experience in the port house. From the catacomb feel of the dimly lit dining area to the vast array of wine selection. I thoroughly enjoy...More

Thank 195niamhc
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are thrilled you have dined with us on more than one occasion and we always look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant. Majority of our ingredients are sourced directly from Spain which unfortunately can prove costly however we do believe we are much...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Knew in advance they didn't take bookings, but arrived on busy Saturday evening at around 7:15pm and was lucky got table straight away. The seating is tight and intimate throughout. Service was good drink selection was immense. Huge selection of different tapas and we were...More

Thank corribcross
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the fantastic review, we are very grateful. You are indeed correct, our restaurant is bustling majority of the time and you're quite right, it adds to the experience! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Place was packed. Staff took our number and we went for a drink across the road. Our waitress was very helpful with explaining the menu. Food was very tasty and fresh.

Thank skenny1980
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate this feedback and are delighted you had a good time dining with us. See you again soon.

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Had heard a lot about this restaurant and tried it with a friend last weekend. I was extremely disappointed with the service. Our waiter returned after a 30 minute wait to tell us that she had lost our order. She then proceeded to take it...More

Thank Pokerfacelady
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for review, we are hugely disappointed that our service was less than desired on the evening you dined with us. We will look into this and ensure that our standards don't slip again. Thanks again.

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Went to this Tapas bar twice - it was so good. Lots of choice and prompt service with knowledgeable wine waiters.

Thank Marg255060
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for the awesome review of our restaurant and indeed for choosing to dine with us twice! We hope to see a lot more of you in our restaurant. Thanks again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Murphys Ice Cream
514 reviews
.03 km away
Cornucopia Restaurant
1,235 reviews
.04 km away
Trocadero
861 reviews
.06 km away
Eden Bar & Grill
462 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Powerscourt Townhouse Centre
133 reviews
.08 km away
Fallon & Byrne
78 reviews
.09 km away
Cafe On Thu Wheels
73 reviews
.02 km away
Rhinestones
14 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Port House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 12
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 00:00
Thursday
11:30 - 02:00
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 677 0298
  • E-mail
Description
Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas. The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions. It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing