We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bijou Restaurant

#541 of 2,017 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Rathfarnham
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46/47 Highfield Road | Rathgar, Dublin Dublin 6, Ireland
+353 1 496 1518
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came here for a late lunch with my mother in law who was celebrating her 91st birthday. We had her 90th birthday in their private room located on the first floor which was an amazing evening. That review is here somewhere. Always great food served here with friendly staff. Excellent value. Can't go wrong, though my guest was also here... More 

Helpful?
Thank flynn1812
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Dropped in after a late trip to Dublin on recommendation from my concierge. Although they were very busy, they managed to find a lovely table in good time. Service was friendly, timely and professional. Ordered the chicken in chorizo broth, and it was divine, great flavour balance, perfect for a late night meal. Great wine selection too, with helpful information... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rokalou
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit here. We look forward to have you soon again! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are in Bijou few times a year, but most like to go for a Sunday brunch. Great atmosphere, not too busy, lovely waiting staff, talented chefs and dishes to die for, to include french toasts and bread and butter pudding.

Helpful?
2 Thank bajonczek
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you enjoy our food and atmosphere. We hope you visit us also for dinner in the future! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you for a really lovely evening. Staff were really nice & to be welcomed with a lovely drink with a strawberry in it was a pleasant touch. We rarely have more than 1 course but we were reminded that it was Early Bird menu was great. Delighted with my pate. Delicious. I had a leg of duck with butternut... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank celia_lynch
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Celia, we are really glad you have enjoyed your evening here. We look forward to having you again soon! More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited "Bijou" to try their new early bird menu offer and could not be happier with my choice. Food was great, atmosphere - cozy and service - attentive and friendly. Waitress helped me picked the wine, answer all the questions I had about the dishes and kept my glass full all night. It was one of the best restaurant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Austeja A
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Austeja, thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to have you again soon. Thanks More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having really enjoyed the Bijou deli, I was excited to try the restaurant. We were disappointed to find that service was slow and unfriendly at times, and that the food was nice but very overpriced for what it was. We also felt rushed out of our table and that we were an inconvenience to the staff at a time when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank carriew519
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we really appreciate your feedback and I am truly sorry you found the service slow and unfriendly. We are working on keeping our standards of service consistently high also when the restaurant is very busy or we have many bookings on the same evening. We truly hope you give us the chance the make it right. Thanks again More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the restaurant on the 11th of February at roughly 4:45. We had no reservation so we were enquiring about possibly getting a table. They said they had a table free until 6 which was fine for us. We then sat down and by the time they had taking our food order, which at this stage was just... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Grace W
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I am so sorry to hear your unfortunate experience. I have personally looked into the issue and we are making sure these things don't happen again. Unfortunately, although we pride ourselves on providing the highest attention towards our clients, sometimes things go wrong anyway. Regarding the price, we offer a 2 course meal for €22 and 3 course... More 

Co Down
Level Contributor
280 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here four times in recent weeks first three were mid week and service was good. Food is solid everyday fare - good burgers and chicken etc. But last visit on Saturday evening not so good, welcome not great (not great mid week either) service was not great yet was very good mid week (old staff mid week... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernerCoDown
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback, we truly appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed our food and service the first three times...we are always happy to hear that. I am really sorry if your last visit here was disappointing. Saturdays are usually very busy and, although we already strive to keep our... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Prompt service, seated quickly, very engaging waitress, good menu choice, food quality excellent, plenty of time between course to sit, chat & watch the world go by, if you are in a hurry then perhaps you should choose a different restaurant, but we were very pleased with everything

Helpful?
Thank Mause11
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your positive review. We are really happy you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to have you back soon again! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
312 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were seated quickly and starter was served promptly. However we waited over 1 hour and 20 min from the time we were seated to the arrival of the main course. Food was ok if not spectacular. All-night early bird price makes the price reasonable, but I would much prefer to pay more for better service and better food.

Helpful?
Thank Beahive
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we really appreciate your feedback and I am really sorry you had to wait for so long for the main course. More than that I am sorry you didn't find the food so good. Air aim is always to serve 'spectacular food', for this reason we only use fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. We really hope you give... More 

Travellers who viewed Bijou Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Rathgar, County Dublin
 

Been to Bijou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 21 - USD 42
Cuisine
French, European, Irish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46/47 Highfield Road | Rathgar, Dublin Dublin 6, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > Rathfarnham
  • Neighbourhood: Rathfarnham
  • Phone Number: +353 1 496 1518
Description
Bijou Bistro is home to a relaxed Dining Experience. Open 7 days a week from early until late. Simple Bistro cooking using the finest local ingredients give us the opportunity to tempt and delight you. Our Outside Terrace on the 1st Floor offers you one of the most stylish terraces in Dublin, should you wish to dine outside or have a cocktail.Bijou has twice been awarded one of the Irish Hospitality Industry's highest honours, the prestigious "Hotel & Catering Review Gold Medal in 2008 and recently in 2011.Dine with the locals -

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bijou Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bijou Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?