We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunninghill Hotel

Hay Street | Sunninghill Hotel, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
+44 1343 547799
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“meringue” (3 reviews)
“fillet steak” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Hay Street | Sunninghill Hotel, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently organised an evening meal out for 6 couples. Staff were very helpful in the early stages of organising the night out and this pattern continued all throughout the meal. Nothing was a hastle to them when asked to add/remove/exchange items from their fairly extensive...More

Thank George7620
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived 10 minutes early for a 7.45pm booking. When we first arrived the staff were really obliging, showing us to the bar, and really making us feel welcome. One barman in particular went above and beyond, making one of us a hot drink when...More

Thank Ailie B
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

I am absolutely horrified that you have been treated like this by one of our staff. It would be very helpful to me if you could identify the member of staff by emailing me on wross@sunninghillhotel.com. My son iinitialy greeted you as he remembers your...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We've been coming here for many years but somehow have never posted a review so what better time than to do that now. Thankfully we booked earlier in the day and got a lovely table in the conservatory. With the usual great service (the waiters...More

Thank Ian B
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are all delighted you are pleased with the food and service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We both had a busy month what with me taking early retirement, my wife having a big birthday and being away with all the family. As my birthday came after my wife's I didn't think I would be able to squeeze on another pressie but...More

Thank John H
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We were delighted to read your review of your visit to our hotel restaurant. It is always good to get some positive feedback. we are very pleased you enjoyed your food and the service. Thank you for taking time to post this comment.

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We went here for a belated Mother's Day meal as I was away working on Mothers Day. The food and the service was great, as usual. Can't recommend this place enough .

Thank Norfolkmick
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our hotel restaurant.

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Firstly this review is 100%genuine. I have recently been here for a meal ....I had a nice tomato soup ...nothing special to be honest and rather a small dish served ...cost £4.50. Main meal was the chicken special done italian style....again nice enough but didn't...More

Thank MrT98
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and give us your thoughts. We make all our own soups from fresh ingredients and all our dishes are cooked to order using good quality produce. This obviously is reflected in the price as it is...More

Reviewed 10 March 2017

Friendly helpful staff.Good menu and great service.Myself and 5 friends were out for a special Birthday lunch ,the staff treated us like kings .I would recommend the food here to anyone ,great choice and will book here again.

Thank Alimurf
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your meal with us and i shall pass on your remarks to the staff.

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived for lunch and although we hadn't booked were given a warm welcome before being directed to a table. The service was good. The food was delightful and left us feeling full. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Thank Trish M
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always encouraging for us all when we get such positive feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Visited here with family to celebrate dads 80th birthday although the hotel restaurant was extremely busy on that night the standard and quality of food provided was top class everyone in the party enjoyed the food which could be seen by clean plates I would...More

Thank moraycup
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed you celebration at our hotel. It is always good to get some positive feedback.

Reviewed 18 January 2017

A friend and I decided to have Christmas Lunch out and while I wasn't initially impressed with the response on arrival to book our reservation, I have to say the food on the day was superb as was the service we received. We were very...More

Thank JEHodges2013
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Sorry you were disappointed with your booking process and if you would like to contact me I would be interested to know your experience. I am very glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Happy 2017 to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ada Turkish Restauarant
68 reviews
.42 km away
Royal Hotel Restaurant
137 reviews
.44 km away
Qismat
204 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Elgin Cathedral
462 reviews
.97 km away
Glen Moray Distillery
174 reviews
1.44 km away
The Drouthy Cobbler
126 reviews
.52 km away
Elgin Museum
61 reviews
.65 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
bUbBlEgUm91919
How much would a Sirloin Steak with Peppercorn sauce be?...
17 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Wross1 | Property representative |
£ 25.90
2
Votes
Reb5413
Do you have a gluten free option and do you have a table for 5 for this Thursday?18 Dec
16 December 2014|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hay Street | Sunninghill Hotel, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Elgin
  • Phone Number: +44 1343 547799
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Sunninghill Hotel