We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Khublai Khans

#169 of 1,927 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
City Centre
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
+44 141 552 5646
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 600: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great experience! We went with a Groupon voucher that gave us a starter, 1 visit to the buffet & a desert - starters were all lovely although they took quite a while when it wasn't too busy. The main course is great fun, picking your meat, veg, sauce & spices then the chef cooks it up & it's brought back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chachaa89
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Came for lunch today on a Groupon deal. The waitress was really helpful. When we ordered out starter I ordered 2 portions of Salt pepper and garlic chips to have with our main meal. The stater of Wild Boar dumplings were lovely. I also ordered the bugs (have to try at least once) I thought they were nice. Sweet and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Broxi73
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here a few times now and I can't ever complain about the service, food quality or price. Lovely setting and great experience of traditional Mongolian food!

Helpful?
Thank RJL92
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoy dining with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I, and many of our friends, have been to Khublai Khan more times than I can remember. We just can't get enough of the place. The food is like nothing you'll ever have had before with your many visits to the barbecue grill. The selection of world meats is huge and exciting. Never did I think that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula D
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Paula Thanks very much for your glowing review - are we related?! Thanks again, you've made our day. Kind regards Andrew More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely welcome from the staff, they seated us then talked us through the menu and how it works. Starter was lovely, Wild Boar parcels & Crocodile Croquets, main dish was fill your own bowl from the selection of meats, seafood, vegetables and spices on offer, then pass to chefs who cook it on massive hot plate island. The bowls don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weebettysboy
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your positive review, much appreciated. Don't worry about queuing when we get busy, you can just leave your bowl and number on the BBQ and return to your seat to enjoy more of our very reasonably priced drinks! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Never been to a Mongolian restaurant before. Booked for the All You Can Eat Feast deal. Good fun putting together different combinations of noodles/rice, veggies, seafood and meats (regular & exotic), plus spices and ingredients for your own sauces. Chef does the stir frying. Then you eat the result. Then go back and make something else. Great value if you've... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Margaret Thanks very much for taking the time to review KKs, we value all feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience. I will pass on your kind words to the Team. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Food, Good Service :) Great Selection of Meats. Definitely Will Be Back again as we want to try some of the other food that's to offer.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty Anne W
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty Great review - thanks! Kind regards Andrew More 

Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times since discovering it last year. Loads choices of meat as well as fish and vegetables (I don't eat meat). Love experimenting with different sauces on my dishes. All staff very friendly and helpful. Already planning on heading back to Glasgow with 3 newbies, now that I'm an expert.

Helpful?
Thank x28cam
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for your really positive review. We are especially chuffed as many potential diners are put off visiting us as they think you have to be a big neat eater to enjoy the restaurant, as you say "not at all". Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

starters were nice, but for what you pay, main course disappointing,Top tip, fill that "wee"silver bowl at the barbecue,right to the top,because when it arrives, looks nothing.Sticky toffee pudding amazing.Staff great , but slow behind bar

Helpful?
Thank irish00
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know your opinion of the restaurant. I am obviously delighted that you enjoyed the food. However, I cannot agree with your assessment of our value for money. You were obviously dining using our incredible popular Group On deal (over 1400 vouchers sold). So you paid £10.97 for a choice... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for the first time after wanting to try it for a while. The service and surroundings were great. The starters of Thai broth mussels were nice, the mains are a great way of experimenting with flavours and meats, some of them were great, we tried venison, crocodile, monk fish, rabbit and pheasant. All in all we really enjoyed it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mijmap
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review

Hi Thanks vey much for taking the time to write in. Firstly, I am delighted you enjoyed the food, the service and the ambience. However, I am slightly disappointed that you felt your bill was excessive, especially when we had given you and your dining partner a 20% discount off your food bill as you are a serving police officer... More 

Travellers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 29
Cuisine
Barbecue, Asian, Mongolian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Buffet
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 552 5646

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Khublai Khans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?