We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
+44 141 553 1577
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (90 reviews)
“seafood” (71 reviews)
“venison” (43 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Group of fourteen friend recommended by hotel concierge. 2 hour wait and so far no food. Drink orders messed up. I would not recommend this restaurant.More

Thank JoelTifton
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear diner I am extremely disappointed in this review. Unfortunately you came to the restaurant on a day where we are unsure how many diners we would have. With the City Merchant festival on we had a surge of customers and tried to deal with...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Ate here for an early evening meal. Deal was 2 courses for 15.50, and this proved to be excellent value. I had polenta starter, my partner had mussels- both dishes were very tasty. Mains were lamb and pork - again very tasty. For sweet we...More

Thank finedinerScotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the heart if the Merchant city, it is easy to find. Without a reservation on our second visit, we were warmly welcomed and offered a nice table. We were lucky to visit for the debut of its new Theatre Menu, served up to...More

1  Thank TACustomer
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Our head chef and team have really pushed to give some fantastic variation to our menu in July and all I can say is that I look forward to further months as there is some great opportunity for excellent taste...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

1st class from start to finish, why not 5 out of 5 - the dropped point was time taken from starters to serve mains and the ridiculous price you charge for 6 slices of bread - "Basket of Fresh Crusty Bread (V) served with butter...More

2  Thank Scottex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great experience in the City Merchant. They staff were very welcoming and attentive and the food was amazing. The menu has a great selection and everything we had was cooked to perfection. Would highly recommend!

Thank Gillian M
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Gillian Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. We are so happy you had a lovely experience and that you enjoyed the food. Please feel free to recommend haha!!! Many thanks again Hope to see you again soon! Michelle

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was recommended by a Glasgow local during a trip. Dined mid-day and chose the sea bass and the Indian spiced hake. The servers were prompt and courteous. The meal presentation was good and the sea food was simply delicious and memorable as befits this restaurant's...More

Thank Webber2012
Maria N, Front Office Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review! Might we say that we will be extremely happy to welcome you back here and we are super happy that you have enjoyed the food as well as the service. Many thanks from all the team - this review...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday night and it wasn't that busy at 8pm. Service was ok, but staff were all congregated in one place which didn't look great. Food was fairly average and wouldn't rush back as plenty of other places within a few hundred yards that would give...More

Thank andhewittscores
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry This really isn't something we like to read when it comes to our reviews. It would be helpful if you can tell us what time you were in and what you had to eat so we could evaluate your review accurately. I would say...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of four of us ate here on a busy Friday evening. Food was good. We had a mix of steaks and fish and everyone enjoyed their meals. Atmosphere was informal and relaxed. However service was terribly slow. Over an hour wait for our...More

Thank Munster21
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there - thank you for your review. We really are very rarely criticised for our service. This has disappointed us and the staff! We have held a meeting with our team to ensure they know that this is unacceptable. However, I do thank you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not sure whether we were just unfortunate and it was an off day for the staff, but the service we received wasn't great unfortunately. We were served by several different people who all paid very little attention to us, to the point that we...More

Thank jess_zee
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and firstly might I take this opportunity to thank you for your review of our food. We do wish to always push for our clients to have a brilliant taste experience. However, what is not acceptable is your review of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Table was pre-booked and on arrival they had no record of our booking. After a difficult few moments the waiter confirmed they had a table available. On our way to our allocated table the restaurant was nearly empty and smelled a little fishy. Saturday night...More

Thank Ian C
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ian, Firstly thank you for your review although its not something I can agree with. Firstly we are a Seafood restaurant and therefore to smell fish in the restaurant cannot be avoided. Can you let me know how you placed your booking? Was this via...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Qua Italian Restaurant
1,480 reviews
.10 km away
Koolba
1,520 reviews
.02 km away
Cafe Gandolfi
1,055 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasgow Police Museum
267 reviews
.09 km away
Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
280 reviews
.22 km away
Tron Theatre
52 reviews
.23 km away
Trades Hall of Glasgow
31 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
0123bettyboo
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SATraveller07 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think that would be ok. They always offer both menus on arrival.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 48
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 553 1577
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing