We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (85 reviews)
“curly fries” (7 reviews)
“fajitas” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great place for lunch .. quirky and extremely tasty .. nice friendly staff .. will definitely be back .. loved St Andrews 😎😎

Thank ruggiechick
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great night to celebrate a 40th birthday. We enjoyed making the cocktails with the help of Jack the barman. He was such good fun and created the right atmosphere for us all to enjoy the experience.

Thank ianCupar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A hip and popular bar for youngsters, and for others as well. Beverages in different kinds, table tennis and others.

Thank Anders386
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had previously been a few months back for cocktails and the service was great, waiting staff were a laugh and very polite. Fast-forward to now, I visited here with my mum & sister yesterday afternoon, looking for a quick lunch before the road trip...More

2  Thank Emma M
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks for getting in touch. I am upset to hear that your most recent experience did not mirror your previous one and that the service was slow and sloppy. I would like to discuss this with you further - please contact us at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a table for 6pm on Saturday night as a party of 8 (4 Couples) to find the place deserted & giving the Mary Celeste a run for her money. The waitress offered us any table in the place then came to take our...More

2  Thank TCJECOSSE
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am concerned to hear about your recent experience and would like to discuss this with you further - please contact us on hello@vicstandrews.co.uk Thanks, V

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch with my family. We ordered a Jumping Jack BBQ burger, Original Chargrilled burger, Chicken and Bacon sandwich and a few kids meals.The food came to us quickly and tasted great. I also ordered the Elderflower cooler and it was amazing. It...More

Thank Monika W
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi Monika, Thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review - I'm glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your lunch. Our Elderflower Cooler is a firm favourite indeed! We hope to see you in again soon. Thanks, V

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Eaten here a good few times and every time I return, I ask myself why? In general the food is pretty good.. that's not the issue. The service is the reason I definitely won't return. It's a mess, order was taken far too long after...More

1  Thank 0805_rm
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi there, I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience at the Vic as this level of service does not reflect our usual standards. Please get in contact with us at hello@vicstandrews.co.uk as I would like to discuss this with you further. Thanks,...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Arrived into what I thought would be a fabulous restaurant, oh was I mistaken!!! Waitresses running about like headless chickens, accomplishing nothing! Waited ages on someone serving our table, gave up and headed to the bar. To be told they had no bottles of red...More

1  Thank Joukydaidles
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi Joukydaidles, I'm sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience when you visited. We have been incredibly busy over the Easter break and unfortunately, it seems our customer service has temporarily slipped as a result. Please send us a message and we'll...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Great place, had chicken burgers with grilled chicken and black pudding and sweet potatoes chips. Salad and onion rings! Fresh and Yummy! Great service . Definitely will re visit soon!

Thank M G
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi M G! Thank you for such a positive response :) We aim to provide the best possible customer service, so it's good to hear that we've got that one covered! We look forward to seeing you again soon. The Vic.

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our lunch sitting out in the beer garden. Burgers and chips were really nice. Service good and staff pleasant. The one big downside were the toilets. You can smell them from the top of the stairs even though there are 2 doors closed between...More

Thank JaneReid
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hi JaneReid! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your food, The Vic knows how to do a burger and chips well! Apologies that the toilets were in such a bad state, we try to check them hourly but unfortunately staff cannot always find the time....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vine Leaf Restaurant
529 reviews
.14 km away
The Tailend Restaurant and Fish Bar
1,131 reviews
.08 km away
Forgan's
2,065 reviews
.13 km away
Mitchell Deli
1,138 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
University of St Andrews
147 reviews
.32 km away
Fisher and Donaldson
51 reviews
.27 km away
St Andrews VisitScotland iCentre
38 reviews
.27 km away
Holy Trinity Church (Town Kirk)
40 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Louise G
Can children come for food
8 June 2016|
Answer
Response from VicCafe | Property representative |
Hey Louise, those under 18 are welcome from 10am-10pm everyday. Our kitchen closes at 9pm some nights, so I suggest booking if you think it will be a late one. Hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Kathryn H
Do you allow dogs inside?
14 October 2015|
Answer
Response from VicCafe | Property representative |
Unfortunately because we're a restaurant and serve food all day, we don't allow any dogs except guide dogs into our venue.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 14
Cuisine
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 02:00
Thursday
10:00 - 02:00
Friday
10:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 St. Marys Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964
  • E-mail
Description
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.