We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chop Chop

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
West End
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
+44 131 221 1155
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 696: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went here with my friend a few weeks back. It was a Saturday and we didn't have a booking, but we were lucky enough to still get a table. We both did a lot of travelling in the past. So we both recognise authentic Asian Food and that's excactly what we got at chop chops. We ordered the shredded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of us! We are delighted you had such a great time, and enjoyed our food! And you are absolutely right, all our food is made with natural ingredients, and is healthy. We do not use any colour, msg, nor additives in our cooking, all fresh with love! We look forward... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband, Graham, and I had a very enjoyable lunch here a month ago with our friend, Jan, who had always meant to visit but had never quite got round to it. Graham and Ihave eaten here often, so were anticipating the usual high standard of cooking and service, but it is always a bit nerve - wracking going to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your positive and valuable feedback. We are delighted you all had a great time! Attila is a very nice and kind waiter, and deserves your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Exquisite authentic taste, recipe of the Owner Chef Jian, and perfect service. Lovely to have table visit from Jian to answer questions, superb.

Helpful?
Thank AlexQQ7
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Dear Alex QQ7, Thank you so much for your wondeful review! Jian is delighted you had a good time, and it was great for her to meet you all! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a table for 7:30pm with my other half and his family after we had been to the rugby at Murrayfield. Food as delicious as always - we highly recommend the banquet option. Wine good too. As it was very busy service was a little bit slow but that's fine as we weren't in any hurry.

Helpful?
Thank tophergraham
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted you had a good time, and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A few minutes after being given the menus, and before we could order, some food was brought to our table and the menus taken away.When we pointed out we hadn't ordered yet the waitress said" oh, we assumed you wanted the banquet"!! The "banquet" for 3 (£ 62.85) consisted of 12 tiny tapa sized dishes to share, hardly enough for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 013757
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apology for your let down on this occasion. The staff member who served you was quite new, and this should not have happened. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate our usual high standards of food and service. Thank you for your understanding. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I hate giving bad reviews but I have to on this occasion. Me and my fiancé were on our way out of the city and needed somewhere to eat. We popped into Chop Chop and I wish I had listened to my instinct and left within the first 5mins... but I didn't! Service was quite quick, but waiter was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Dear Danielle, We are very sorry for the negative experience you had at Chop Chop. I will investigate and retrain the staff to ensure our usual high standards are consistent in future. Best wishes, Yin More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

100% the best restaurant in Scotland! We come here every week. The food is unbelievably good. The staff are brilliant and the owner is such a lovely lady! We recommend the pork boiled dumplings and the crispy chicken dumplings especially. We can't go without having the amazing ga da soup! The Chinese tea is authentic and very tasty. We love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cherylpq23
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hello Cheryl, Thanks a million for your wonderful review! We are proud to be your favourite restaurant! See you again soon! More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As somebody who has happily visited this restaurant many times over the years it is disappointing to notice a gradual decline in both service and quality of dishes. The service lately seems totally inconsistent and the 'system' almost comedy level of chaotic. If you visit on a busy day expect to be left for up to 20mins between dishes arriving.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dooberrywotsit
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perhaps ownership has changed, but this certainly didn't seem like a place that has at one time warranted celebrity chef endorsement. The food was 'ok' (average and very salty), the venue itself is very basic canteen style with fairly grim toilets. Both my partner and I started severe vomiting food poisoning shortly after getting home. I contacted Chop Chop so... More 

Helpful?
Thank u01
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is definitely living off its reputation. £4.95 for 4 fried dumplings....amazingly you can get 8 steamed for the same price......something wrong there oh I know it is all about profit! Really disappointing dumplings, noodles, and spare ribs....the only thing good was the hot and sour soup. I won't be going back as overpriced and the quality was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank BusybeeScotland
Yin F, General Manager at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Dear BusybeeScotland, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry to find you did not enjoy our food, which is not for everyone. Our food is unique, healthy, and dedicated to the North Eastern regions of China, it is different to the usual British Chinese food. We do not use any MSG, colour or anything not natural in... More 

Travellers who viewed Chop Chop also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Chop Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 32
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighbourhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 221 1155
Description
Authentic north eastern Chinese cuisine featuring dishes rarely found outside China but very appealing to the western palate.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chop Chop and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chop Chop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood