We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chop Chop

248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
+44 131 221 1155
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“dumplings” (319 reviews)
“cucumber salad” (33 reviews)
“chilli” (30 reviews)
Open Now
5:30 pm - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was terrible! I had to repeatedly ask for my food. Dumplings arrived- how long do these take to cook? The chili was so hot my mouth was consumed with pain. Jolly atmosphere, and I will try again to see if my luck was the...More

1  Thank Chris S
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Chris, thanks for your comments. I'm sorry that the dumplings were slow in arriving. I don't know what you expected but fried dumplings, for example, take 15 minutes to cook. If we are busy, there may be a 10 minute queue for the boiler before...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is honestly a great place !! The food there is just amazing and as the food come quickly you can just keep on ordering !! Have fun

Thank alberthoellinger
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks, alberthoellinger, for your nice complimentary review. See you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great. However a main we ordered wasn't served at all and they gave our dumplings to another table. Then later tried to charge for the missing main. No apologies offered. It was a shame as the food when it came was lovely. Disappointed.More

Thank cpwle
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks, cpwle for praising the food. I was very disappointed to read that our staff had made three separate errors with you and that I had not been made aware of any of them. Obviously, I would have apologised and discounted your meal had I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Chop Chop is the type of restaurant you know you can go to to eat well. Their dim-sungs are extraordinary, the crispy sweet and sour chicken is also a must try. Even though the staff may seem a little preoccupied, the food does not take...More

Thank AlbanJCH
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Alban. You have said it all! See you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, Graham, and I had a delightful meal once again at our favourite Chinese restaurant in Edinburgh. As always, the freshly - made noodles were superb, as were our old favourites, the pork and coriander boiled dumplings. However, the most memorable dish was a...More

Thank Lesley C
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lesley, your lovely review highlighted our own noodles and the new dumpling flavour of beef and water chestnut. We are always striving to enhance the menu. Your comments made this the first time that I have seen Ryan blush.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and a friend popped into chop chop after struggling to find somewhere to get seated. Once we got seated, didn't feel as if it was a restaurant type of place and more of a cafe. That was just me I could be wrong. However...More

Thank ramzi s
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ramzi, thanks for your very positive review. You are right about the cafe feel - we would describe it as an Asian canteen with more comfortable seating! Delighted that you enjoyed the food and service so much.

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Have visited twice now in a couple of months. Once for lunch for 2 & once for dinner for 4. It’s a big place & there was little atmosphere on a Monday at lunchtime but the food was delicious & the lunch was certainly value...More

Thank Jingsabove
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jingsabove - delighted that you are likely to return! You are right in that Monday lunchtime and Saturday night are chalk and cheese in atmosphere but the food is always at its best!

Reviewed 14 October 2017

After travelling for a week, we wanted to have some Chinese food. We didn't have reservations but the owner was able to accommodate us. Our group is mainly from Seattle and Vancouver, BC., locations with large Asian community and lots of Chinese restaurants so we...More

Thank Jessilyn L
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks, Jessilyn for the review. Sorry you missed the wow factor but happy that we satisfied your cravings!

Reviewed 6 October 2017

on first approaching the restaurant, I was in two minds, purely because of the lack of decor/atmosphere, arrived quite early though, but I was so wrong. The staff were friendly and smiling and helpful but the pinnacle was the main thing i went for, which...More

Thank Zyzzy G
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Zyzzy, what a wonderful review! You are right: it's all about the food, not the decor/atmosphere although when we get busy, the restaurant sounds and feels like a very happy party. You're also right in that the combinations of flavours we offer are hard to...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We visited her during a trip To Edinburgh in August after a recommendation for a bartender. It’s not the most visually pretty venue but the food is amazing. Service was a bit haphazard but again the food makes up for this. The guy serving us...More

Thank Gina G
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you, Gina, for your kind words and for highlighting our famous dumplings!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mumbai Mansion
288 reviews
.01 km away
Vietnam House Restaurant
545 reviews
.11 km away
Rancho Steak House
157 reviews
.01 km away
The Khukuri
324 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Mary's Cathedral
223 reviews
.36 km away
Edinburgh International Conference Centre
37 reviews
.33 km away
Vietnam House Art Gallery & Cafe
40 reviews
.32 km away
St George's West Church
10 reviews
.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elex Q
30 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Roy K | Property representative |
Yes, all you can eat £9.95 Mon-Fri lunch; £13.95 weekend lunch; £13.95 earlybird dinner (Mon-Thurs before 18.30); anytime ultimate banquet £21.95; Chrismas super banquet throughout December £24.95. We also have an a la carte... More
1
Vote
Jenny W
1 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Roy K | Property representative |
Hi, Jene fny. No, we have never uswed MSG and never will. It is a lazy way to enhance flvour and is a chemical, not even a food. We also do niot use any artificial preservatives or colourings. Our food is all natural.
2
Votes
Maselko55
14 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from mairi w | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can't remember.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 221 1155
Description
Authentic north eastern Chinese cuisine featuring dishes rarely found outside China but very appealing to the western palate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing