We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chop Chop

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
West End
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
+44 131 221 1155
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 720: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Revolting food, the chicken wings I spat out on disgust . One actually tasted like a dead rat. The shredded duck looked like a cut up pigeon. It was a brutal experience for me and my girlfriend , so brutal we refused to eat the main , and the poor old man let us leave without paying for the bill.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronan O
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thank you, Ronan, for your review. I was very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience but it was certainly not representative of the hundreds of diners who visit us every week. We serve approximately 400 portions of chicken wings weekly and I regret that you received a very rare sub-standard portion. Had you mentioned it, I would gladly... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The atmosphere was a bit dead, nothing at all like the restaurant was when it first opened down in Leith. The serving staff all had terrible English. But the worst of all was the maître D. determined kept his back to the customers, bad mouthing the serving staff to the customers, didn't see it as his responsibility to look after... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebbieE568
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hello, Debbie and thank you for your review. Sorry that you did not really enjoy the food. I will check on the ingredients of the glass noodle salad. We have never had this issue before. The meat in the jiaozi is certainly not cheap and our jiao zi have been the most popular dishes on our menu since we opened... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends and I have always had great experiences of Chop Chop but tonight was lacking service wise and felt like we were limited in the 'unlimited' banquet. Don't know if it's been taken over recently but definitely not the great time we have had in the last ten years. Won't be back any time soon, waited ages for food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hello, Rosie. Thank you for your review. I am afraid I have to agree with you. The Chop Chop experience should be a very happy one with plenty of cheerful staff caring for your every need promptly. We are urgently working in this direction and if you give us another chance, you will see an immediate improvement. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor. Small portions, low quality meat, very small amount of meat in chow mein, bland dumplings, not enough sauce, order was totally wrong. Aubergine in garlic swimming in veg oil but says slightly fried and large portion was hardly different in size to the small. We all left hungry and with expensive bill. Will never visit this place again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dino v
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hello, Dino. Thank you for your review. Our style of Chinese food is not for everyone but we have thousands of fans. I will check your points one by one in detail to ensure that the chef is following all our guidelines and recipes. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chop Chop isn't a standard Western Chinese restaurant featuring pages of the same dishes you find in every other Chinese restaurant; in Chop Chop it's all about dim sum, with the emphasis heavily on dumplings. In addition to the dumplings there is a great selection of meat and vegetable dishes where you won't find any "Chicken and Cashew Nuts" or... More 

Helpful?
Thank InEdinburgh
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hi, InEdinburgh and thanks for your generous review, highlighting our very popular Unlimited Banquet for £21.95 (up to 17 dishes with unlimited refills!) and pointing out that our dishes are unique. I take on board your comment about being understaffed and we have already addressed this issue: you will find on your next visit that staff levels will have risen... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here a few years ago and thought it was really good. My 2 friends and I decided to go for dinner on Saturday night and I was really disappointed. The service was awful and the food was alright but not amazing in any way. We arrived and got pointed towards our table. After about 15 mins we managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole A
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thank you, Carole, for your review. You are quite right in your criticism of the service as it was at the time of your visit. It had indeed sunk to a low point and drastic action was rapidly taken by improving the quality and quantity of our front of house staff from 13th February. Our new team all speak excellent... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked table for 7.30 and were shown straight to seat even though restaurant was full, order was taken for drinks promptly although we had to amend choice of wine as our original choice unavailable. After a short wait our duck with pancakes etc were served but to our surprise the main courses were delivered within seconds. There was no hotplate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Richard, many thanks for your kind review and compliments regarding the staff and the quality of the food. Regarding the serving of your food, we generally follow the Chinese style of service, which does not recognise any distinction between "starters" and "main courses" as with Western style of serving, which means that food is brought out as soon as it... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined at Chop Chop Haymarket tonight. The restaurant was only around one third full so the staff were by no means stretched. We received our food in portions as they were cooked and the quality of the food is excellent. However, when the last portion was delivered the waiter asked what we wished to re-order. We asked for additional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Tony, thank you for your review. It was disappointing to read of your woeful experience regarding the service at our restaurant. Unfortunately it may be too late for you but we have taken your comments on board and readers of this response should know that since 13th February we have had a complete change of or front of house staff... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Place is getting a bit run down now and could do with a face lift. The all you can eat weekday lunch is amazing value for £10 a head. Plenty of dumplings and noodles all freshly made. Shame it's only weekdays they do this lunch deal

Helpful?
Thank kittyivan
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hi, kittyivan. Many thanks for your very positive review. Our weekday lunch is indeed amazing value - eat all you like from a choice of over 20 dishes at a fixed price of £9.95. We offer a similar deal for early evening and weekend lunches with an even wider selection at £13.95. Still tremendous value. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is more cafe standard than fine dining. With melamine style plates rather than crockery. The food however is the reason to come. I am led to believe that the dumplings are a speciality but due to food constraints of my wife we are off the main menu. The banquets looked good but again dietary constraints meant we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank john2501

Travellers who viewed Chop Chop also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Chop Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 31
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighbourhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 221 1155
Description
Authentic north eastern Chinese cuisine featuring dishes rarely found outside China but very appealing to the western palate.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chop Chop and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chop Chop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood