We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Biddy Mulligans Pub

96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
+44 131 220 1246
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (25 reviews)
“club sandwich” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

I recently moved to Edinburgh and discovered this place while walking around grassmarket, I love Irish pubs and immediately feels at home when I get into one. Everytime I go there, there's always good live music with great tunes, the bar is normally filled with...More

Thank Mathilde L
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mathilde L, Firstly, welcome to Edinburgh! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We strive to create a friendly & welcoming atmosphere, live music and a bit of craic so it is fantastic to hear that's exactly what...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had been in Edinburgh about 8 years ago and the highlight had been a visit to this pub on a chilly Halloween. I hadn't noted the name but recognised it again as soon as I went in this weekend. Great atmosphere, brilliant duo playing a...More

Thank karen d
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for a fantastic 5* review! We absolutely love that you came back to visit us. I will pass all of your lovely comments on to our team - they will be so pleased to hear such great feedback. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had ordered a meal, only to be told ten minutes later that a large group of people had just come in and our food would be 40 minutes at least. We finished our drinks and left. I wish now we had complained at this...More

Thank EdinburghHeretoday
64manager, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us. We do try our very best to not stretch wait times quite so long even when we do get lots of large groups. Thank you for taking the time to leave...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for a drink. We asked for a Bloody Mary and a mimosa but were told that they didn’t make anything other than basic cocktails. I asked for a gin and tonic and it came in the smallest water glass I’ve ever seen...More

Thank William S
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi William, We aim for a high standard of service and I'm genuinely sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us this time! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback to allow us to improve. Many thanks, Biddy's Management.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked 3 tables as we had a big group. Lovely food, nice selection of drinks & great entertainment from the guy playing from 7 on a Friday night!

Thank Donal L
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Donal, Thanks for the lovely 5* review!! Glad you had a great time when you were last here, i'll pass your comments on to the staff - they'll be delighted. Hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Biddy's Management.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Slow laborious service. Disinterested staff. Adequate food. Not a venue I’d repeat with the choice of the whole city.More

Thank Helen J
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Helen, We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us- this is never the experience we wish for our guests. We expect a high quality of service, atmosphere and food for all of our visitors, and we're truly sorry to hear...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This Irish pub is super interesting and cool. The drinks are easily the cheapest in the area, and they even have discounts for students which is a plus. Service is good and friendly, and it’s right on the Grassmarket.

Thank Daniel K
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Daniel, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your visit with us! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much, and we hope you'll be back to see us again soon! All the best, The Biddys Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food with awfull taste and with a Lot of papper. Service only if you are going to ask and at the end we clean the table.More

Thank DanielMischie
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Daniel, We're sorry to hear about your experience, this is not the standard of service or quality of food that we strive to provide. We would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further, if you could email us on info@biddymulligans.co.uk with further...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a drink after dinner on Sunday. It was okay, a good atmosphere, nice selection of drinks, a little pricey but it is Edinburgh by the castle. Clean with a nice atmosphere, I enjoyed it

Thank KevinSadler2364
64manager, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kevin, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit- we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you'll be back again! Best wishes, Shelly and the Biddys Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had done a fair amount of walking up and down the mile. Needed a rest. Found an outside table here. Sat and watched the world go by. Light nibbles brunch. A couple of beers. Lifes easy, relax. Watch all the running around.More

Thank AngusR56
64manager, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Angus, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your visit to us- we're delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing brunch with us. We're lucky to have such a great location for people watching, and our brunch selection ranges from pastries and...More

Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Edinburgh
Grassmarket Hotel
2,380 reviews
.01 km away
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
2,905 reviews
.06 km away
Edinburgh Conference Centre
18 reviews
.09 km away
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
4,087 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Barantine
161 reviews
.07 km away
Graze On Grassmarket
268 reviews
.02 km away
La Barantine Victoria
212 reviews
.07 km away
Oink
2,456 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Mile
20,365 reviews
.14 km away
The Scotch Whisky Experience
5,146 reviews
.12 km away
Castle Rock
173 reviews
.01 km away
University of Edinburgh
86 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
meg1Scotland
1 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Les W | Reviewed this property |
You need to go to the Biddy Mulligan webpage for that
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 20
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 220 1246
  • E-mail
Description
Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;