We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Biddy Mulligans Pub

96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
+44 131 220 1246
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good36%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“irish stew” (23 reviews)
“soda bread” (6 reviews)
“lamb stew” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Found this pub because it was opposite our hotel, we sat outside in the middle of the street cordoned off, you must order food to sit out there. We found out at the end of the meal that you cannot pay with a 50pound note...More

Thank kyzza01
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Kyzza, Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to us- we appreciate all of our guests feedback! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much! We apologise for any inconvenience caused by our company policy regarding £50 notes, we...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

This pub is accessible from the adjoining hotel. A great place for a brew after descending three flights of hotel steps! Food was good and the staff were pleasant - never annoyed if you 'overstayed' your stop. Music nightly.

Thank mayogirl41
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi mayogirl41, We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5* review!! I'll be sure to pass your lovely comments to the staff! Many thanks, Biddy's Management.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had fish and chips from here which was gorgeous! We used a discount offer from Stay Central which we were really happy about because otherwise we might not have stumbled across the pub. Friendly staff, nice drinks and a good outside area to people...More

Thank Charjade92
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Charjade92, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an amazing 5* review!! We take great pride in offering high quality food and your feedback is much appreciated! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff! Thanks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been a couple of times now this weekend for breakfast as staying in the hotel next door and now just popped in for a slow drink with my partner. Comfortable and relaxed even though the rugby is showing, music playing but not too loud so...More

Thank Sandra C
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sandra C, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We are constantly looking for ways to improve so hearing such positive feedback is great! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff! Enjoy the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for a drink and something to eat. Place was pretty busy even though quite early. We found a table which had obviously just been vacated, the waitress came over quickly to take our drinks order and clear the table. She was quite...More

Thank Kirsty T
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kirsty T, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff! Many thanks, Biddy's Management.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Grassmarket hotel next door so our breakfast was provided in Biddy Mulligans , food was of a good standard and the staff were friendly and attentive. At night the pub transforms into a buzzing busy pub with good music, beers and...More

Thank chrisking
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi chrisking, Thank you so much for the lovely 5* review!! We are delighted that you took the time to see our venue in all of it's glory from early morning breakfasts to fantastic live music and dancing in the evenings! We pride ourselves on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grassmarket Hotel next door, which made for a convenient nightly drinks spot. The food in the morning for breakfast was quite good, but the service was very slow. Breakfast started at 7am and because we had tour set up very early,...More

Thank Vanessa B
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Vanessa B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review- we do really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt that breakfast wasn't quite ready for your arrival - we aim to have all of the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most of the bars and restaurants on Grassmarket are rubbish, to be fair. But this place is actually really nice. They do amazing breakfast (try the smoked salmon florentine for 6 GBP). I went there on several occasions for both breakfast and afternoon drinks on...More

Thank NathanJ4
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi NathanJ4, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! We think breakfast is one of the best meals of the day and the Smoked Salmon Florentine is indeed one of our favourites too! It is great to hear your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A large group of us came here for Sunday lunch before heading back home, and fair play to this place, managed to seat a large group such as ourselves. A lot of us were pleased to know they were serving Sunday Roast, so a lot...More

Thank Chris P
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Chris P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience in our venue! I'm so glad to hear you were happy with our service and that we were able to accommodate your group! Your lovely comments have been...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in here for a few drinks and found a certain member of female staff accusing us of being nasty to her which was utter nonsense, all one of my friends said to her was that she had poured the wrong drink and later...More

Thank cujimeScotland
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi cujimeScotland, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit, we appreciate all of our guests feedback. Your account of your time with us is not our standard of service, and we are investigating all the issues you have...More

Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Grain Store
903 reviews
.11 km away
Oink
2,118 reviews
.10 km away
Mariachi
786 reviews
.11 km away
Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience
845 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Scotch Whisky Experience
4,517 reviews
.12 km away
Edinburgh International Festival
107 reviews
.12 km away
Greyfriars Kirkyard
66 reviews
.14 km away
Prisons of war
14 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Biddy Mulligans Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 20
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 220 1246
  • E-mail
Description
Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing