We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ghillie Dhu

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
West End
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
2-6 Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD, Scotland
+44 131 222 9930
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 815: English reviews
County Wexford, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited the Ghillie Dhu on Valentines after making a reservation for 2 of us. We chose the restaurant as it was recommended to us at our hotel. We were given a card which should have entitled us to 15% discount & a complimentary drink. The waiter came to take our order and we asked for a bottle of Chardonnay... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigckelly
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would say that the food was very average, I was there last night for my friend's 70th, we waited over one hour to get our main course, they brought the wine after about 20 mins but forgot the glasses. Service was very bad, they did'nt appear to be very busy. Staff pleasent enough. However I would not recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank patriciamackenzie25
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to Highland dancing and when planning our trip to Scotland I really wanted to find somewhere where we could see some dancing. When I was researching I found out about Ceilidhs and decided to go to Ghillie Dhu for their Friday/Saturday night ceilidh. It was probably the highlight of our trip. We loved it. We had the meal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsElfa
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You lads conservatively left £10k behind you yesterday, I thought the ground floor bar was bad for service but the top floor took the biscuit. I couldn't leave as we were in company but I would have walked out in a heart beat if I could. Nice surrounding but the staff and clearly poor management ruin this pub.

Helpful?
Thank NADublin
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Dear NADublin, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at Ghillie Dhu. We thank you for your patience, and ask that you get in touch via info@ghillie-dhu.co.uk so that we may discuss your comments further. Kind regards, The Ghillie Dhu Team More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a large bar area, quite busy with good atmosphere. Had live music when I was there which was very good. Also nice small booth areas for some privacy. Drinks prices were average with wide selection.

Helpful?
1 Thank z0eb95
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Dear z0eb95, Many thanks for your 5* review. It is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable evening with us. We too are found of our little booths. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, The Ghillie Dhu Team More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decent beers on tap. Great decor too. Staff were nice. Didn't have the food but it's probably good. Best bogs I've been to in Scotland. Atmosphere was bustling. Bar staff friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford C
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Hi Bradford C, We appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your experience at Ghillie Dhu. Happy to read you found our beer selection suitable and the toilets are pretty novel we agree. Kind regards, The Ghillie Dhu Team More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked here for a Burns dinner during Burns week. We reserved in the bar bc the main auditorium room was full. The service was attentive and the food was good. There were some innovative cocktails on the menu which we tried. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience although not outstanding. It might have been a more fun... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank travelinjep
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cane across this place whilst out walking and was impressed by it, beautiful lights outside ( not sure if they are always there or due to Christmas time ) and when you enter its warm and cosy , with a rustic traditional feel. Lovely choice of drinks and friendly staff , never tried to food but it looked good ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pami.eire
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Hi pami.eire, Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent experience with us here at Ghillie Dhu. We are pleased you had a enjoyable evening and hope we can welcome you back to sample something fromt he menu next time, should you wish to make a reservation, please do get in touch via events@ghillie-dhu.co.uk. Kind regards, The Ghillie Dhu... More 

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Given this place a chance to respond to my e-mail and give me a refund. 10 days in and still no response. Rating it 1-star, probably less if they had it as an option. Love Edinburgh and everything about it. However, this place ruined my short trip to the city for Hogmanay and it's sadly continuing to fulfill its reputation... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank purplemuse
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Dear purplemuse, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at Ghillie Dhu - as we are dealing with complaints and comments individually, we respectfully request you email us on info@ghillie-dhu.co.uk with your full details so that we may get in touch directly. With thanks, The Ghillie Dhu Team More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being an Edinburgh born and raised lad that now lives down South I wanted to show my wife a bit of the home town for our third wedding anniversary. For our first night we booked the Burns supper and ceilidh. This was held in the main auditorium a breath taking room. The staff were very attentive and the food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RobAllan72
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review

Dear RobAllan72, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable evening at our Burns Ceilidh Experience and that you felt staff were friendly and your party were all looked after. We are honoured to hear you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us and so delighted... More 

Travellers who viewed Ghillie Dhu also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ghillie Dhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-6 Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighbourhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 222 9930
Description
Originally St Thomas Episcopal Church, Ghillie Dhu has been beautifully restored to showcase its traditional features. With an enviable location tucked in at the West End of the city centre, we are a short distance from Haymarket Train Station and directly opposite all major bus routes. Awarded Best Small Venue at the Scottish Event Awards two years running the team pride ourselves on the quality of catering and service we provide.Ghillie Dhu benefits from a dedicated and experienced Events Team who are poised to look after your event from enquiry right through to completion. Our Chef has created a variety of mouth-watering menus from the best produce that Scotland's larder can offer.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ghillie Dhu and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ghillie Dhu staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood