We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience

$$ - $$$European, British,
354 Castlehill | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 2NE, Scotland
+44 131 477 8477
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scottish tapas” (36 reviews)
“haggis” (68 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 8:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
354 Castlehill | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 2NE, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 684 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I just love visiting Amber when I'm in the Royal Mile. It''s quiet, conveniently located and has a great selection of whiskys, delicious food and reasonable prices. Honestly, if you're around, stop by.

Thank pcuni
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had prebooked to have a lite bite in here before consuming more whisky on the Scotch Whisky Experience and to be honest we were more than pleasantly surprised. This was for lunch, and for a place that is only a stones throw away from...More

Thank rabidquill
Reviewed 3 days ago

My husband and I had dinner here last week. We were in early so it was not very busy. I ordered Cullen skink for starter as it is not something that is on a menu in N Ireland and my husband went for the tapas...More

Thank carolsbelfast
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Scottish tapas and haggis was very nice. Unfortunately service was poor and very slow. The younger staff were good, but there was another lady serving who seemed very stressed. When she took our order, her nose ran and dripped into our drinking water. Not...More

Thank NikCroRo
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi NikCroRo, we're very concerned about your review - please can you contact us directly about your experience? Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited after a whisky tour and it was lovely. Good food and great value for money. Would recommend.

Thank Hilary F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From reception to service everything were great. However, we ordered 2 portions of the steam shetland mussels and they don't seem to be fresh. We left 1 plate untouched and when the waitress clear it she don't even bother to ask why we left that...More

Thank Zenraigunnm
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. Firstly, we can absolutely assure you that the Shetland mussels are delivered fresh every morning. Whilst we will be speaking to the member of the team who cleared your plates without enquiring about the untouched food, it can be hard to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say but my idea of heaven, only visited for a couple of drams at the bar, and what a delight it was. The staff behind the bar are extremely helpful, very knowledgable and really friendly. Had an absolutely amazing experience and will...More

Thank David James B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of nine of us visited this restaurant before going to the rugby at Murrayfield. We all had a variety of very tasty starters and main courses.......ranging from ham hock and smoked salmon starters to haggis and beef casserole main courses. Very tasty......didnt have...More

Thank Phil Y
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have visited the Amber bar at the Whisky Experience a several times when visiting the great city of Edinburgh. Neither my wife or I would confess to being Whisky drinkers but we have always had great trials of some very nice...More

Thank Ian S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Professional staff, friendly and patient, (Christie P. particularly stood out, hope this reaches her, thank you). I am always wowed by the food, it seems to get better every time. Looking forward to my next visit.

Thank Chris D
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Oink
2,196 reviews
.11 km away
The Ensign Ewart
337 reviews
.11 km away
Hanam's Middle East Restaurant
1,518 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
5,601 reviews
.08 km away
Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
10,384 reviews
.05 km away
The Scotch Whisky Experience
4,667 reviews
.02 km away
University of Edinburgh
79 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kingstongirly
13 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ScotchWhiskyExp | Property representative |
Hi Kingstongirly, The Taste of Scotland Menu is a set menu, but just let us know in advance of any special dietary requirements (such as vegetarian) and we can prepare a special (and delicious) version of the menu for you... More
1
Vote
PSPretiree
15 January 2016|
Answer
Response from ScotchWhiskyExp | Property representative |
Hi PSPretiree, I'm sorry it's taken us so long to get to your question. I am afraid I'm not entirely sure what you mean, but if you mean wearing the colour blue to dinner, then certainly that is entirely acceptable... More
0
Votes
WilhelmHast
7 June 2015|
Answer
Response from ScotchWhiskyExp | Property representative |
Hi Wilhelm, I'm sorry this is probably far too late for you, but £25 would be average spend for dinner.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 25 - USD 59
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 354 Castlehill | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 2NE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 477 8477
  • E-mail
Description
We bring you the finest Scottish Food made from the best of seasonal ingredients. Experience Scottish food - full of character, flavour and above all authenticity. Menus change with the seasons and all of our food reflects the regional diversity of Scotland's larder. Enjoy our tapas and cheese platters at the Whisky bar, sit down and relax within the restaurant, or simply indulge yourself with a speciality coffee and homemade cake. Dishes can include: Haggis and Vegetarian Haggis, mussels with a Whisky sauce, beef with dumplings, Scottish smoked salmon, Scotch beef, Highland lamb, caramelised Apple and Whisky Crumble, Scottish Cheeses. OPEN EVERY DAY. Food is served every day from midday, last orders 8.30Pm (Sunday - Thursday), and last orders 9pm on Friday and Saturday. Private groups also catered for. Important access information - please read Please be aware that from 1 November until a proposed mid-March finish date, our lift will be closed for replacement. This will mean that Amber will not be accessible to wheelchair users during this period. We're sorry for the inconvenience, but look forward to welcoming wheelchair users in the new year, with our new improved lift facility
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing