We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the merlin

#1,496 of 1,874 Restaurants in Edinburgh}
$$ - $$$, British,
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
+44 131 447 4329
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good33%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“rump steaks” (3 reviews)
Closed
10:00 am - 9:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in the Merlin with my daughter on Friday evening 3rd November for a pre- theatre meal, I was flabbergasted at the quality of the meal we received I had macaroni with garlic bread but the garlic bread was cold! My daughter had balmoral...More

Thank Maz2012
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, It is very disappointing to hear that you had a poor experience and the issues you had with the food weren't rectified on the evening. I can assure you this is not what we strive to for and isn't the norm. I would firstly...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was at the Merlin recently for a function. Venue is pretty tired and the toilets were not clean and a bit smelly. I always think that you can judge a place by how clean the toilets are kept. Aside from that, the staff were unable...More

1  Thank esme199
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, It's very disappointing to read your comment as we pride ourselves on delivering great service especially for a private function. I would like to get some more information as to which function it was and the date so I can follow up with my...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Great pub serving traditional pub meals , good selection of everything at great prices , didnt need to book although quite a few in when we went ample room , nothing fancy just good filling food , would go again

Thank MikeandCaroline
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I'm glad you had a lovely meal .I will pass this onto our Chefs and mention this in our next Staff meeting.

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We live locally and used to visit here regularly but it has been going downhill fast in the past year or so. We were in a few weeks ago for food & drinks - I had the scampi which consisted of 5 tiny pieces of...More

1  Thank evie62
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, It's really disappointing to read your review Firstly on the food front as we have worked really hard to get our consistency right . I will take this away and feed this back to the team and at our Managers meeting . On the...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Sat outside with my daughter for a simple pub lunch of chicken sandwiches and chips, accompanied by a pint of lager and a glass of wine respectively. A sun trap in the early afternoon until it got too chilly and we retired indoors to finish...More

Thank cageybee
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and I will be sure to pass this onto my Team.

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Visited today with my dog so sat outside on decking. Ordered coffee and sandwich - arrived promptly, coffee hot and sandwich on fresh roll with plenty filling! Waitress (Hannah?) was extremely friendly and returned to check that everything was okay with my meal. She even...More

Thank Alicemills
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm glad you and your Dog had a great time.

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Went to the merlin for a quick meal before going to see a show nearby. From the out side it looked nice and inviting, inside was very loud with a football match being shown and the volume up which was a bit off putting. We...More

Thank Val W
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on our Trip Advisor. We try to have suitable areas for all our guests sometimes it does clash and I'm sorry it made the visit a uncomfortable . Liam"Billy Joe Armstrong" is a...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We were staying locally as attending Military Tattoo. The pub as vibrant, friendly and the food was good (regular Fish & Chips was huge!).More

Thank Emily P
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello, thank you very much for your feedback . We definitely see a few more guest during the Festival and Tattoo in August. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Merlin . Yes the Fish and Chips are pretty big and a favourite with...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Have been coming here for over 30 years, when in the area, great windows for people watching, stylish decor, average food, pleasant staff, parking at the rear, chill out sort of place.

Thank author55
GeneralManagerChris, Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hello, Thank you very much for your positive feedback . We do have lovely windows facing Morningside road and they are always popular and the 1st to go .

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Have been here on several occasions but feel the general service, cleanliness and quality of food have gone down. We ordered a chilli con carne and chicken tikka masala from the two meals for £11.99 (which is normally great value). The curry was a good...More

1  Thank Myra H
GeneralManagerChris, Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hello, Thank you very much . It's disappointing that you have had a poor experience last time that you where here . I'm sorry that you felt the Chilli was lacking in substance and I will pass this on to our Development chef to look...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nonna's Kitchen
605 reviews
.32 km away
Roundsquare Roastery Coffee House
21 reviews
.15 km away
The Canny Man's
316 reviews
.19 km away
The Gurkha
111 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Hermitage of Braid and Blackford Hill Local Nature Reserve
41 reviews
1.01 km away
Church Hill Theatre
13 reviews
.40 km away
Wild West Cowboy Street
20 reviews
.10 km away
Dominion Cinema
308 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from the merlin staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 447 4329
  • E-mail
Description
We are a pub that service good quality pub grub cooked from Fresh . We have ample seating and show sports regularly on our 5 screens.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing