We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Burgh Cafe

Main Street West, Inveraray PA32 8TU, Scotland
+44 1499 302323
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (35 reviews)
“baked potato” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Scottish, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street West, Inveraray PA32 8TU, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here end of last week for coffee. Staff very pleasant and coffee quality good but unfortunately was only lukewarm.More

Thank WOLFACHMAN
julie t, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear WOLFACHMAN I'm sorry your coffee was lukewarm. We never have a problem with our coffee so I hope you mentioned it to our staff as we would happily have made you another. I'm happy you enjoyed the quality of our Coffee as it is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Were recommended the Royal Burgh by Maggie and the food was fabulous. Great Haddock & Chips but the star of the show was the Cullen Skink which was devine. We had a bottle of wine a soft drink and a coffee with change from £40...More

Thank Jon C
julie t, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jon C Thankyou for your great review. I'm happy you enjoyed your food & drink. The Cullen Skink is very popular. Thank you for your custom & thankyou Maggie for recommending The Royal Burgh Cafe we appreciate it. Regards Julie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went in to put a little break to our journey, food was served very quickly and staff were very nice and friendly will be back again!

Thank Ciaran1998
julie t, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ciaran 1998 Thanks for your great review. Thankyou for your custom & we hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food and nice service. Reasonable prices. Good location in the main street of Inverearay. I had a waffle, my parents ate soup.More

Thank Ann V
julie t, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ann V Thankyou for nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed our service & good food. The Belgian Waffle desert is very popular.With a choice of yummy gelato & cream. Our soup of the day is always a satisfying choice served with freshly baked bread...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in here for lunch on a trip to Inverary on our holidays. It looked nice, the lady who showed us to our table was helpful and there was plenty of choice on the menu. The food and drink which we had was fine...More

Thank mummysquadge
julie t, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mummysquadge Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your food & service in our cafe/bistro. I'm sorry your daughter and yourself overheard any conversations between our hard working staff. We all work very hard during the busy summer months and some staff are...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Dropped in today 26th July for lunch and was served by the lovely and helpful Maria....Thank goodness she advised me to take the small Cullen skink if I was going to have something else to eat...... My god, the small one would have drowned me...More

Thank tailgunner
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We ordered one dish and got something else. When I asked the waiter to bring us what we asked for, he argued with us. Very unpleasant and rude. We left. Never to come back again. Not even tried the food.More

2  Thank Suely T
julie t, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi Suely T I'm unaware of your visit or any of our staff having a customer being dissatisfied with our food or service.I would be more than happy to speak to you if your review is genuine which I think is more than unlikely. All...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Much larger in side than first expected. Modern restaurant. Good staff and good food make it a great place to eat.

Thank Steve G
julie t, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Steve G Thanks for posting your positive review. Customers often comment on how deceiving the restaurant is from the outside. I'm glad you enjoyed the food & service. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Julie

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Popped in for a quick lunch, quick friendly service. We had soup which was served with bread, the service was quick and efficient, Many Thanks.More

Thank GR0B15
julie t, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear GROB15 Thanks for your review. We work very hard as a team to give quick efficient service as the restaurant fills up so quickly so we want all our customers to be happy and relaxed knowing there food & drink have been served fast...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The fish was fabulous and tasty. We had various orders and everybody enjoyed. The tea despite as a takeaway also surprisingly good

Thank Danny H
julie t, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hi Danny H Thanks for your positive review. I'm happy you enjoyed your food & drink.We hope to see you again the next time your visiting Inverarary. Regards Julie

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Samphire Seafood Restaurant
524 reviews
.12 km away
Brambles Cafe & Bistro
722 reviews
.02 km away
The George
1,507 reviews
.05 km away
Skippers
120 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Inveraray Castle
1,521 reviews
.74 km away
Inveraray Jail
1,183 reviews
.12 km away
Inveraray VisitScotland iCentre
64 reviews
.09 km away
Loch Fyne Whiskies
123 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sandy H
2 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WilliamH962 | Reviewed this property |
Hi - why don't you give them a call and I am sure that they will give you all the info you need .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street West, Inveraray PA32 8TU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Inveraray
  • Phone Number: +44 1499 302323
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing