We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Denvir's

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Irish, Bar, Pub, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14-16 English Street | County Down, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4461 2012
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my girlfriend and her mother for Sunday lunch had purchased them Horatio Dinner vouchers for xmas had 3 fabulous starters of chicken wings BBQ and spicy both flavours were great for mains I had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding mash and veg my g/f had the ham with garlic roasties and veg her mum had the steak, all... More 

Helpful?
Thank robbie209
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Robbie, Thank you very much for such a positive review, we're delighted you had an enjoyable visit, and I will certainly make Darryl aware of your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Stephen More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The decor and atmosphere are really nice, and this would be a positive review if we had just called in for a pint. But our dining experience was disappointing. Apart from the staple soup of the day and a garlic ciabatta, their vegetarian menu consists of removing the meat from one of the starters and one of the mains. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felipe H
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Felipe, Apologies for taking so long to respond to your review. To be honest I was a bit surprised by it because it is so far out of kilter with our other reviews and I wanted to speak with our Head Chef and staff first before doing so. Due to holidays etc. following the busy Christmas period I only... More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

enjoyed our meal in Denvirs and not for the first time, eat here when we are in downpatrick shopping, will call again

Helpful?
Thank DpkMan
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Thanks DpkMan, For your very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, have a great Christmas! Chris More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Went to this hotel for a night out with other couples a very nice bar in a old hotel over300 years old friendly atmosphere and good fun

Helpful?
Thank Rocky H
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Rocky H, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and you are absolutely correct that we are over 300 years old. In fact 2017 marks our 375th year since opening. We'll be marking the year with some significant events, so hopefully we'll see you again at one of those. In the meantime,... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Tonight I watched the door man actually bully a younger member of staff who had served a (non alcoholic) drink to a customer, apparently after hours. He shouted at this young fella, who was no more than 17 or 18 by the look of him, and slammed his fist on the bar. Absolutely disgusted to see this sort of bullying... More 

Helpful?
Thank hot201
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Dear hot21, If you were "absolutely disgusted to see this sort of bullying" you should have reported it to the Manager on duty as opposed to reverting to Tripadvisor. If you had done this then, on the night in question, we could have dealt with the matter right away because bullying does not happen in Denvir's and it would simply... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Our B&B owner recommended this pub. Loved the very thick walls and old cobble stones in the restaurant. Staff very friendly and loved the food.

Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Maureen, We're delighted that your B&B owner recommended us and equally delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We are a very old pub, a Coaching Inn in fact, dating from 1642, the oldest in Ireland to continually operate as an Inn since opening. Hence the thick walls and the cobble stones, which all add to the character. We are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Just back from a lovely Sunday lunch in this very traditional restaurant excellent roast beef . Good service and atmosphere. Only quibble please replace paper napkins with linen makes all the difference.

Helpful?
Thank lambert129
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Lambert129, We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and thank you for the kind comments on the service and the atmosphere. I take your point on the linen napkins as we are using linen table cloths, and this is something we will consider. Hopefully we'll see you again soon. Kind Regards Stephen More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This was a quick stop while passing through the town. I was last here 20years ago and regularly used it then for meals and evening drinks. The charm still remains and I enjoyed the nostalgia of returning. I browsed a good lunch menu and will definitely return in the near future, family included. There isn't really anyplace in the town... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1_mth_1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for coming back to Denvir's, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit, and we very much look forward to you returning with the family. You are totally right when you say that "there isn't really anyplace in the town quite like this". As you probably know we date from 1642 and the premises have operated as... More 

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

I checked in for an overnight stop,an experience I was looking forward to as Denvir's Coaching Inn is so old.I have never stayed in such a place with such a long history. Check-in was fine and I found myself in room 3 with creaky wooden floorboards. There are no phones in the rooms,however as most people have smart-phones these days... More 

Helpful?
Thank mobile_6
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for such a positive review. We're absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay, even though we couldn't organise the ghost, and we really do hope that we see you again soon. Kind Regards Chris More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

We ate here on a Sunday evening and both had the roast dinner. It was very good, pub grub type food. Service was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Suma16
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Suma16, I'm not sure how best to take your review. The comments are positive, thank you, but the score only average? I think we'll go with the comments as they are in line with our other reviews. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Chris More 

Travellers who viewed Denvir's also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Denvir's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Television
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14-16 English Street | County Down, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Downpatrick
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4461 2012
Description
Denvir's is an old Coaching Inn dating from 1642. It is full of old world charm and is popular with both tourists and locals, so you will enjoy a real County Down welcome and fit right into the community.
Food is served all day from breakfast through to dinner, and there is entertainment 5 nights per week from Wednesday to Sunday.
Groups can be catered for in either of the restaurants, and management are happy to tailor packages to ensure full enjoyment.
And finally, there are 6 bedrooms to let. So, forget about going home. Have a nice meal, enjoy the entertainment, a good rest, and then in the morning, enjoy some of the local historic sites such as St. Patrick's grave which are only a stone's throw from the Inn.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Denvir's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?