We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Picnic

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unit 5 Castle Court Royal Avenue | 2-6 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1BH, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9024 6122
Website
Today
11:30 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 11:30 - 18:00
Wed - Sat 11:30 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 347: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great burgers and a great selection to choose from, the fries are good to, I particularly like the parmesan ones.

Helpful?
2 Thank GuyStJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I would not recommend this place at all. Stood waiting to be seated then someone from behind the counter basically grunted at me with a menu and pointed to me to a seat. After deciding what I wanted and going to the till I was told that I couldn't order yet because the customer before me hadn't paid yet. Can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Ian, Sorry to hear you didn't stick around to enjoy the City Picnic experience. Normally we would recommend that you had stayed in the queue rather than returning to your seat, and that way new customers would not have pipped you to the post the second time around. That being said, we're sorry that our service didn't meet your... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very warm welcome was the first thing that we noticed about our first experience of Citypicnic. We had a young child with us and they were more than happy to help us find a suitable table out of the way and then provide with a high chair. Ordering the food the staff member was very friendly and informative. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Neill C
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Neill, You've made our day with your glowing review! Thanks for taking the time to give us top marks, and we're delighted you enjoyed Belfast's Best Burgers! Please come back soon, there's lots more on the menu to enjoy! More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Drinks had to be ordered separately from the burgers, then we noticed the sign that said free cocktail with every burger from 4-8 but they started closing the place at about 5.20, moving all hoarding from outside to beside the entrance. While customers were waiting to be served their food was a bit rude. Good point though.....garlic fries were strangely... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stevedoom
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi Stevedoom, Sorry to hear you didn't notice our free cocktails offer until after you had ordered, but had you told us that you wished to avail of this offer, we would have been more than happy to oblige. We hope that you will give us another chance to win your heart, but if not, we're at least glad that... More 

belfast
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in here yesterday for a change. Had a good deal on wrap and fries for £5.00. Well worth the money. Food was excellent. No table service for ordering which was ok because it wasn't busy but would be a problem if there was a queue. Down side was a tin of coke was £1.50 and milk shake £3.00.

Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastClarkey
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi BelfastClarkey, Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, our Rapido menu has proved to be a winner with the lunch crowds! And don't worry, even when there's a queue, we make sure to take your orders as quickly as possible! Hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 4th February at 1pm. When we arrived the auto entrance doors wouldn't open and the girl that greets you had to move forward and open the door. The restaurant wasn't overly busy. We ordered the food and waited 30minutes for it to come out which for a burger and fries is too long to wait. When the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LJ C
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi there, We’re sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with your first experience, but since you have taken the time to detail your complaint, allow us to address some of your points. I see that your problems began with the automatic door - a buzzer sits to the side of the doors to shelter our hungry customers from... More 

Newtownards
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful food , fun place to eat for both adults and children, the food is first class and everything available in the menu, the ingredients are all very clear ,the staff are all very friendly, definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Another fan! Thank you for your fantastic comments, and come back soon! More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Bizarre experience. The automatic door wasn't working so I'd to wait for a waitress to buzz me in. Ordered the chicken fillet burger and fries to go. Reasonable at a fiver. However...It was served very strangely. Fries in a drinks cup, wrapped in a paper bag and burger in a normal polystyrene burger carton, then wrapped in tinfoil. Both items... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mowbray O
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had trouble with our automatic door - there’s a buzzer to the side of the door to shelter our hungry customers from the chilly Belfast weather as shoppers walk by. As for our presentation - we aim for an authentic American BBQ feel, with a side of quirky - sorry if we didn’t hit the mark... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We won City Picnic's pumpkin carving competition at Halloween and won a free meal. We finally found some time on Saturday to go into town and have some lunch. It was nice to arrive somewhere that has a relaxed atmosphere and keeping things simple. All staff were very friendly and the service was great. My partner ordered the beef burger... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alannah S
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Lovely to hear from our pumpkin carving winners! Come back soon - and please feel free to share the love on our other social media channels if you're feeling generous! More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Be prepared to spend £10+ when you are eating at a table of 2!!! Me and my friend were "let off" when we spent £7.50. I understand that places need to make money but when I apologised, the member of staff didn't seem to want to accept it. Wouldn't bother coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank edevlin72
City-Picnic1, General Manager at City Picnic, responded to this review

Hi there, No apologies necessary, but we do pride ourselves on being more than your basic fast-food joint. If two Big Mac meals cost an average of £8-10, we believe that suggesting at least a £10 spend between two people is not too much to ask for the full City Picnic experience! We do have lots of hungry city-goers to... More 

Travellers who viewed City Picnic also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Aldergrove, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to City Picnic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Fast food, British, Diner, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 18:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 20:00
Thursday
11:30 - 20:00
Friday
11:30 - 20:00
Saturday
11:30 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit 5 Castle Court Royal Avenue | 2-6 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1BH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9024 6122
Description
We make real hamburgers, made from the best local beef, grounded with just a touch of pepper and nothing else, served in a soft fresh brioche bun with fries.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Picnic staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?