We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Brasseria

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Wind Street, Swansea SA1 1DZ, Wales
+44 1792 469683
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

694 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 685: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2016

I like the La Braseria presentation of the menu choices where you can view the food before you chose, mixing different dishes if you want to. After making our selections it did not take long for the food to arrive. A decent range of drinks including a rather nice red wine or two. Service was attentive but not intrusive. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunlounger99
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Sunlounger99 I’m pleased that you enjoyed the food, wine and service we provide at La Braseria and will look into the lighting levels for you. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Had the scallops which were beautifully cooked. Can be a little noisy and dark, however would definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Lorraine M thank you for your review, positive feedback is always appreciated. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Sad to say it but having dined here very regularly for many years, standards are slipping. Food is still good (although the cooking of steak can be hit and miss - tends to be overdone, so order one level lower than you'd like!). The rest of the food is still fine. The service however really has lost its edge. Tonight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Panfur
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Panfur what can I say but sorry, I assure you that if there has been any slip in standards I am as interested as you to nip this in the bud. If you could contact me with more details at info@labraseria.com it will identify the source of any problems more effectively. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Ive been here twice now and its been poor on both occasions. I went with family midweek. It was busy. To start with you have to go and queue to order your food so your not getting table service. Then the prices are too high for what you get. Way too high. Ive eaten at a lot of restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sig1978
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Sig1978 I apologies that you had a disappointing experience at La Braseria, I am very keen to explore the issues you have highlighted and would be most appreciative if you could email me at info@labraseria.com with more details so that we can take action to stop this happening in the future. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

It was a late works Christmas party so food had been pre ordered well in advance. When we arrived at 8 they showed us to the table but did not mention the fact that they hadn't received our food choices. It was left to us to find out what was going on and when the party organiser showed them the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia G
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Julia G we strive to achieve the highest level of customer satisfaction possible and investigate all customer feedback. I apologies if we have failed you on your recent visit we would like to gather the specific details of your booking and email communications, if you could forwarded me the booking details to info@labraseria.com so I can investigate further it would... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2016

We were a party of 8 old friends who visited on Saturday night. The food was good though anything other than chips or jacket potatoes was extra cost and the chips were limp. We didn't expect to have to queue to order our food, the restaurant was very busy and queues were long. The service was shambolic, not a reflection... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diner235
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Diner 235 we value feedback from customers and would appreciate your input into recommendations as to items you would like see included in the price of the meals and your opinions with regards to changing to more traditional menu based ordering format. We apologies that you had a disappointing experience and are working to address the failings you described in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Booked a table this evening to celebrate my parents 25th wedding anniversary; it was a totally disappointing experience lacking customer service and that "personal touch". Either side of us was two large tables, which the majority of the waiters attention was focused on. For the most of the night we were forgotten. Our table was left with plates piled up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Victoria B at La Braseria we hope to create a vibrant atmosphere where regardless of table size, all dinners enjoy a high standard of food and service, the personal touch you mention is our goal, we apologies that such standards were not achieved. If you have any more detailed feedback you could share with us it would be most appreciated.... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2016

This was my second visit both times with a sizeable group of work colleagues in the evening. First to be clear, the quality of the food served was very good as was the range of raw ingredients to chose from both meat and fish. My gripe is with the lack of accompyments to go with the main courses, a colleague... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

John B thank you for the review, customer feedback is always welcome and helps shape the business going forward. I would love to share your observations and recommendations with the with the kitchen staff if you could drop us a line at info@labraseria.com it would be much appreciated. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

The 2 course lunch was good . food quality and quantity excellent however when you added in drinks, garlic bread and salads what started off as reasonably priced soon shot up.

Helpful?
Thank Simon H
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

Simon H thank you for the review, pricing of products is reviewed on a regular basis and is checked against local market prices, if you would like to contact at info@labraseria.com we would be happy to look at the prices that you feel are a bit step. Thank you General Manager La Braseria More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

We visit La Braseria for our anniversary on a Monday evening. As soon as the place was open we went in and it was already full; this clearly shows it's a popular place! The food was absolutely delicious and the portions are fairly large so definitely worth every penny! Only downside to the food would be our starters were too... More 

Helpful?
Thank BritAbroad97
GMLabras, General Manager at La Brasseria, responded to this review

BritAbroad97 thank you for the review I’m sorry to hear you burnt your thumb we will look at incorporating an option for the customer to specify server on cold plate as an order option in future. I’m pleased that you “would highly recommend as the food is gorgeous” and you felt “the portions are fairly large so definitely worth every... More 

Travellers who viewed La Brasseria also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to La Brasseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
19:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Wind Street, Swansea SA1 1DZ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 469683

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Brasseria and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Brasseria staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?