We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travellers Rest

$$ - $$$, British,
Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
+44 29 2085 9021
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good24%
  • Average19%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Our mains arrived...wife had steak, I had fish, chips and mushy peas..... Her's was piping hot, mine was luke warm,peas with a crust on, batter going soggy on the fish..it had, in my opinion, been sat under a heat lamp for a good 5-10 minutes....More

Thank John A
Reviewed 1 week ago

we visited your pub last night 2/12/17 at 7pm, we reserved a table for 5 of us for your christmas meal , I am writing to say that we couldnt fault our visit , we had a nice welcome shown straight to our table a...More

Thank adethomas2006
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this fantastic review. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Words nearly fail me with this place after my recent experience. We decided to give the place another chance after previous bad experiences. BIG MISTAKE! We had reserved a table and arrived on time. It took 10 minutes for anyone to take our drinks order...More

Thank Alan P
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, very sorry for the experience you received on this day. It was an extremely busy day for us here and we are very sorry this affecting the times on the meals going out. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staggered at the price of a pint at this pub £4:30, at a similar country Inn abound 2 miles away its £3:30More

Thank scoobydoo94
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, due to us been a managed house (ran by a company) our prices are set for us. We do have a selection of different drinks and different prices which we can offer to you. I am very sorry for this experience but hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly had Turkey off xmas menu meal disappointing my friend had a pie meat tough she complained but nothing was done about it

Thank carolhart46
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Very sorry to here of your experience. These issues have been brought to our head chef to resolve so the next time you visit all will be perfect.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the travellers last night.at 7pm. Big mistake. Booked over 3 weeks ago for a friend's birthday meal and asked for a round table for easy access as one of our Larry has difficulty getting past the chairs. When we arrived we were squeezed onto...More

Thank amandafreye
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, very sorry for the experience you had with on this day. We are family friendly business who welcome a variety of guests of all ages and we try to accommodate all the best we can. The table you were allocated to was only...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went here with my daughter son in law and grandson for Sunday lunch and we had a very pleasant time. The atmosphere was great very lively but the staff coped very well and were very pleasant. The food and drink were...More

Thank Charles J
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lovely to hear you had such a lovely time with us. Hopefully see you soon for another visit.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice meal 3 of us had steak pie with red wine gravy mm nice fish n chips average, chips nit triple cooked as advertised

Thank JackieSwan
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We went here to celebrate a 21st birthday and there were 12 of us they were very happy to take the booking. The food was beautiful and there was plenty of options for different ages from an elderly women to a 4 year old absolutely...More

Thank Bethan P
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Had a good meal yesterday lunchtime in a lovely old thatched pub. Unfortunately every chair we looked at was dirty and stained so we sat on our coats. Not good enough in this day and age. The management need to engage someone to clean the...More

1  Thank Mike T
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are very sorry for the experience you had with us on this visit. All comments have been brought forward to the manger. Many thanks

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Cock Inn
518 reviews
1.50 km away
Miller & Carter
514 reviews
.78 km away
Manor Parc Restaurant
101 reviews
1.08 km away
Sequoias Restaurant @ The New House Country hotel
76 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Caerphilly Castle
1,453 reviews
2.72 km away
Caerphilly Mountain
275 reviews
1.31 km away
The Visitor Centre - Caerphilly
173 reviews
2.60 km away
Tommy Cooper Statue
94 reviews
2.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tracy O
23 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bethan P | Reviewed this property |
yes it is it has dog bowl and dog treats at the bar
0
Votes
Joypaws
13 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jeffaber | Reviewed this property |
Yes they will take reservations.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2085 9021
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing