We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaam Nights

116 City Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 3DQ, Wales
+44 29 2048 2824
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (104 reviews)
“rice” (134 reviews)
“hummus” (93 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Halal, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
116 City Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 3DQ, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Staff were friendly and polite, service was quick and there were a nice atmosphere. Menu had a lot to choose from , I had the chicken Kabsa which were Devine which come with a lush cucumber and mint sauce . There home made chilli sauce...More

1  Thank Nadia A
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Middle eastern food. Great service and tastes amazing. Platters provide volume and variety. Bring cash, however. Cards not accepted.

1  Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

After hearing amazing reviews àbout this restaurant and wanting to embrace other culinary cultures we were rather excited to eat here but left a little disappointed. I loved the decor it gave a real authentic feel however pictures are misleading this is not a large...More

Thank ellis1990155
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Ellis, Thank you for your review and feed back mainly booking in advance is highly recommended and especially on weekend evening. we are pleased to hear that you had such an authentic dining experience with us at shaam nights. Also you pointed out our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a table of 8 for my mums birthday and we were all very impressed! The starters were very enjoyable and pretty much all of us had share grills which were £10 each and incredible! Really tasty and there was absolutely loads of food....More

1  Thank David G
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello David, Thank you for your review and very kind comments. We are please to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience with us at Shaam Nights. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great value for money, very tasty food, friendly staff, this restaurant had all the qualities a traveller needs while on the go. Even the interiors are very nice, impressive!

Thank Tamás F
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Tamas, Thank you very much for your review and very kind comments. we are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your entire dining experience with us at shaam nights. look forward to welcoming you back when next in cardiff. kind regards.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food, their hummus is a must try, perfectly balanced. Well-portioned like many other middle-eastern cuisines. The front of house staff are a bit lacking in numbers though, could also be more attentive. Though the quality of food and price makes up for it.

Thank Woei-Sheu W
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for your review and feedback. it is great to hear your kind comments. look forward to seeing you back soon. Regards.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Well decorated, clean but atmospheric restaurant. Good variety of dishes available and generous portions given. Waiters were friendly and helpful. Will definitely return. Nice touches added like complimentary dessert. Thanks for a lovely night!

Thank Hils W
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Hils, Many thanks for such s lovely review. we are glad that you had a lovely nights with us at shaam nights. look forward to welcoming you back soon. regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant many times over the past 4 years. I took my wife here on our first date and the food improves everytime we go. Staff are very welcoming even remembering us from previous visits. Quality food at very reasonable prices.

Thank Shane R
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Shane, Thank you so much for your excellent review. our customers are always remembered by us and always look forward to welcoming them back. regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hosted my engagement party at this beautiful restaurant this year. The decor is absolutely stunning, so my guests were in awe and my pictures came out amazing. It looked like we were in Morocco or some other exotic Middle Eastern location! The feast was...More

Thank Fariha S
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Fariha, Many thanks for your review. it was great pleasure hosting your engagement part at shaam nights. wish you a very good luck. kind regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was excellent and very good value for portion sizes! Service was also excellent and we will definitely visit again. As for review below, there is a sign at eye level when you enter stating that cards are not accepted and it is cash only,...More

Thank Cesca1991
Admin-sn, Public Relations Manager at Shaam Nights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your amazing review,feedback and the cash only clarification. we are glad you had such a wonderful dining experience and we look forward to seeing you back soon. kind regards.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Saray Restaurant
361 reviews
.17 km away
Deli Fuego
301 reviews
.08 km away
Mezza Luna
307 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Museum Cardiff
1,875 reviews
.72 km away
The Gate Arts and Community Centre
19 reviews
.32 km away
Sherman Theatre
8 reviews
.61 km away
Mansion House
5 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Awais S
3 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from nolanar | Reviewed this property |
No it's cash only!
1
Vote
jimmygreenarmy
29 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from LewPontypridd | Reviewed this property |
No strictly no alcohol 😐
0
Votes
Melinda L
26 June 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Julie H | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay but I think is necessary
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 17
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:59 - 22:00
Monday
11:59 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:59 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:59 - 22:00
Thursday
11:59 - 22:00
Friday
14:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:59 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 116 City Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 3DQ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2048 2824
  • E-mail
Description
Sunday Times Magazine and news paper has mentioned few times that Shaam Nights one of the three best Middle Eastern grill houses in the UK visit our website for more details. Shaam Nights has also been announced on Wales on line as one of the best in Wales. Shaam Nights is a rather elegant dining experience and sets itself apart from the rest both inside and out. With a beautiful, rustic tiled floor, stained glass and bronze lanterns and noticeably deep cushioned seats. Shaam Nights offers you a rare opportunity to taste its HALAL Authentic Syrian Cuisine at the heart of Cardiff. Shaam nights is conveniently located close to City centre, less than ten minutes walk or a couple of minutes driving.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing