We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
+44 1656 653614
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 237: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing real good on the menu. Expected roast dinner. Shefffs specials expensive. Had shefffs specials grill. About half a dozen chipped. No veg or salad. £19.99. Wow. No wow meal for that. Bar staff arguing. No manager. Still the same. Has not improved.. I.am a local and live in the village. Tried Tim and Tim again. Bring back Steve and... More 

2 Thank Allan L
Management response:

We are very sorry and shocked at these comments, I would like to explain ourselves on some of the comments to reassure yourself. Firstly we are very sorry you wasn't happy with your visit with us and I am very confident that if you had spoken to a member of staff upon visit we would have done our upmost best... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the pub for a family meal but unfortunately picked a day when it was very busy possibly due to good weather . On placing our order at the bar it would have been nice to have been told there was a delay in getting the food out we had to wait 45 minutes for our starter then a... More 

1 Thank Karen M
Management response:

Firstly we would like to apologise for this experience you had with us on this particular day. We can assure you that this isn't our usual standards and due to the beautiful weather we have had lately it did exceed our expectations. The management and staff were trying their upmost hardest to make all customers aware of the wait and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came about this place by accident having not found our original destination. From the moment we entered to when we left we enjoyed our visit immensely. We ordered 3 Sunday specials, a rack of ribs, vegetable lasagne plus various desserts. All were delicious, served in good time, with the staff being polite and friendly. If I had to be... More 

Thank Kevin W
Management response:

We thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we are extremely happy you enjoyed your visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again very soon and maybe one of our sharing sundaes might hit the spot. Thank You Nikki Assistant Manager More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service was brilliant staff very good. Food arrived promptly and was hot and appetising we enjoyed our meal, had a slight problem which was sorted promptly and quietly can't fault the venue lovely and clean

Thank Tovey68
Management response:

We thank you kindly for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and happy that our staff were very prompt and efficient with dealing with any issues you had during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you Nikki Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere in the pub. It is divided into two sections - the bar area and restaurant, though you can easily move between the two. The restaurant menu is typical of a brewery owned / managed pub. It gives plenty of choice and portion sizes are good. It is supplemented by a daily "specials" board. Quality of food is fine... More 

Thank Paul H
Management response:

We kindly thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about our establishment, menu and our staff. All feedback is taken into consideration and we will look into this for you but our menu does offer healthier options (Less Calories) and also some of our drinks range so this falls into that category but once again thank you so much... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A miserable wet evening outside inside good food warm temperature and fab atmosphere. A good menu something for everyone gluten free available Three courses for £11.50 and you'd imagine small potions but no good potions did not leave hungry. The staff are friendly and very helpful even taking photos for us thank you we will be back 😆

Thank Leona C
Management response:

We are very happy to hear that we brightened up what was a 'Miserable wet evening outside'. Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon. Thank You Nikki Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this pub, in the beautiful village of Penyfai. Enjoyed a lazy afternoon catching up with my sis over lunch and a glass of wine. The food is good quality and very reasonably priced, can highly recommend it.

Thank ExpertJules
Management response:

Thank You kindly for your feedback! We look forward to you having many more relaxing catch ups with your sister and family. More 

Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't book anywhere for Mother's Day and after trying some places we ended up at the pheasant and they had room at the bar tables which was great. There was 2 meals for £13.99 plus extra for drinks. We were waiting a long time for food to be served and they couldn't find any salt or vinegar but they... More 

Thank Kellyrogers1718
Management response:

Thank You very much for your feedback, We love to hear about it. We're very pleased you decided to join us on Mothers Day and glad you enjoyed overall other than it being extremely busy at that time of year. We look forward to you visiting us again, if you would like to book a table in the near future... More 

Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Guaranteed happy welcome. Service is quick, efficient and professional. It gets very, very busy in here, but you'll not have to wait for long before being served. The manager, Steph, is always on the ball and ensures that you have everything that you want or need. The menu is varied, relatively inexpensive and the quality of your meal is always... More 

Thank Robert J
Management response:

Thank You kindly for your awesome feedback! We do get extremely busy on times but we always aim to please and keep our standards up! Our Team Leader Steph is awesome with our customers and a credit to us here at The Pheasant! Thank You for your feedback and onwards support! More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were recommended to eat here by the owner of the guest house we were staying at. Lovely building, nice decor and extensive menu. This should have warned us that a lot of the menu items were probably microwaved. Enjoyed our starters (garlic prawns) but the mains did not fulfill their promise. The medium/well-done Barnsley Chop arrived still baa-ing (the... More 

Thank Jenaphina
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry your visit wasn't what you expected. We have many visits from numerous guest house's around our area and aim to please every time and encourage all feedback. If you would like to discuss your visit further you can contact us at Pheasant@sabrian.com. More 

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 17
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: +44 1656 653614
The Pheasant is a classic village pub located in Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend.We serve a big range of cask ales and premium wines, as well as home cooked food and daily specials.Our beer garden is huge and is a fantastic place to spend the summer months.And function room is the perfect size for meetings, dinner parties and larger events...opening out onto the beer garden.Opening HoursM: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmW: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmF: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 11pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pheasant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bridgend, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?