We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...

Hen & Chickens

) #56 of 74 Restaurants in Abergavenny $, Bar, British, Pub
Flannel Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EG, Wales
+44 1873 853613
Website
Save
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (4 reviews)
“pie” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
DETAILS
Flannel Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EG, Wales
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Well What Can I Say-----The Only Positive Point Was Knowing How To Get Out ! We Ordered A Roast Beef Dinner (As It Was Sunday ) We Ordered Drinks First---Mine Was A Bitter Shandy---My Usual Tipple During The Day-----It Was As Flat As A Pancake---When...More

Thank stephens8522016
A TripAdvisor Member
125
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Had fabulous meal at this quirky old pub last week. Happy fun staff. Perfect steak We plan to go often now that we've discovered it .

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Quick drink at a local pub! Bargirls were lovely. Ideal for a quick drink as in the middle of town and not too far from the car park.

1  Thank natshibberd
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

There appears to be a rather drunk lady thats obviously a regular.. Her personal hygiene doesn't seem to exist as the smell was putting me off my beer.. She keeps getting served.. Scrounging off everyone for a beer.. Shame.. Its a pub I'd like to...More

1  Thank boathousedoors22
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Had a lovely couple of Sunday lunch pints! Very relaxed and chilled.. Didn't eat but the food I saw come out looked and smelt nice! Very reasonably priced!

1  Thank Andrew G
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Andrew G, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's always a pleasure to read positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Rhian

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Had 3 mixed grills in the same week. Very consistent very good selection of meat on the plate. Never a bad meal that's why I ended up eating there all week while I worked in the area for a week. Staff very helpful and couldn't...More

1  Thank wsyoung1
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi wsyoung1, Wow!! Thank you so much for the 5 star review, it's always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. If you're in the area again pop in and say hi!! Kind Regards Rhian

Reviewed 30 January 2017

We visited a couple of weeks ago. Alarm bells started ringing when we placed order only to be told that they had run out of what we had chosen. We all chose burgers as a second choice. Frankly, I've had better at McDonalds. Only a...More

1  Thank heidi_charlton
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Heidi_Charlton, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that your visit was not up to our usual standards. I have spoken to the team and put measures in place to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope...More

Reviewed 18 January 2017

With hindsight we should have left without eating but we had booked a table and it looked good online. We placed our orders but then they had run out of chicken so we had to choose again, burgers this time. Then they came back and...More

2  Thank CaptainandMrs
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi CaptainandMrs, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry your experience was poor. I have spoken to the team and put measures in place to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope you decide to give us another try in...More

Reviewed 14 January 2017

What a great disappointing meal, service and attitude of staff! Ordered the special curries Vegetarian Thai, Turkey Tikka Korma and Taverner's Chicken.Meals arrived with not much care in placing meals on the table also the wrong meal was brought out with "oh wrong order!" Thai...More

1  Thank Sian502013
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Sian502013, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you had a poor experience. I have passed your comments regarding our chips onto our Catering team. I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meals and hope that you...More

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Me and My partner stop by today for some quick food as we were really hungry. It looked like a lovely pub for drinking so we had our seats and took a look at the menu, my partner ordered the cod and chips and I...More

2  Thank sallyg905
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Sallyg905, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we pride ourselves on our great customer service and food quality but missed the mark on this occasion, please accept my apologies for your experience. We did have a technical issue followed by a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
396 reviews
.11 km away
Pizzorante
409 reviews
.11 km away
Cwtch Cafe
410 reviews
.08 km away
Gurkhar Corner
231 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
216 reviews
.24 km away
The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church
116 reviews
.18 km away
Skirrid Fawr
13 reviews
.98 km away
Brecon Beacons Tourist Information
13 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hen & Chickens staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 22:30
Thursday
10:30 - 22:30
Friday
10:30 - 00:00
Saturday
10:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Flannel Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 853613
  • E-mail