We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
+44 1725 510408
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (5 reviews)
“ham” (5 reviews)
“sandwiches” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We nipped in here on the way through Downton looking for somewhere to eat. Looks nice from the outside but the decor could do with updating on the inside. Bar staff were friendly enough we had a drink each but didn’t stay for food it...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Button1321
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Arrived early for a Sunday Lunch, just two of us. We were very disappointed. The staff were very nice, friendly and pleasant, it is an agreeable pub, but the overall service and food was poor. We had a chicken and a beef roast with the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AugustblueII
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Quite a wait for food but worth it. They have a playhouse and slide in garden that our toddler enjoyed, also nice toys inside pub.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank polly s
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our food and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 July 2018

The White Horse serves some great ales and has very friendly/helpful staff. A large beer garden at the rear so great for summer days.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Steve B
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My husband and I went here for our tea last Friday. We had to order our food at the bar but soon after the friendly bar person arrived with our cutlery and napkins etc. Soon after our delicious food arrived, my husband had the vegetable...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 440helenj
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 21 June 2018

We were on a walking holiday and had walked about 10 miles when we arrived in Downton early on a Sunday evening. We tried the first pub nearest to our B&B, but they weren't serving food. We tried the next one, The White Horse, but...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Audrey T
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm only sorry that I wasn't in the bar when you arrived to save you the walk up the road and back. So glad we could help - I couldn't send you off to your B&B with only sandwiches...More

Reviewed 16 May 2018

Called in on the off chance for a light lunch and we both opted for a sandwich option, which we enjoyed in the pretty beer garden. Hubby went for a fish finger sandwich (homemade to order form fresh cod - not the frozen variety!) which...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank backnowthanks
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We were in the beautiful area visiting family and decided to give this place a try for lunch as It was near. It was a hot bank holiday Monday and the pub was empty (presumably because everyone was outside or bbq-ing at home). 1st impressions...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Charleybobs
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We have completed a lot of work on the garden and have scheduled an internal renovation to banish anything old manish (including any shirtless men with dogs!). We have also just introduced a new menu which has even more variety...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely awful..... they don’t provide what you order and they don’t care.... we won’t go back.... the manager couldn’t even be bothered to come out and not even an apologyMore

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank acdavies
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

I have spoken to the staff and neither they nor myself have any recollection of your visit. I was on site all day and no one requested to talk to me. If you would like to discuss any grievances please feel free to pop in...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch with the family and the food and service were great. I’m sure that we’ll go back again sometime soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank FredFaulkner
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you had a positive experience and hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Salisbury
Premier Inn Salisbury South Milford Hotel
11 reviews
7.82 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
1,035 reviews
8.15 km away
Grasmere House Hotel
673 reviews
8.25 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
107 reviews
8.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wooden Spoon
163 reviews
.66 km away
The Bull Hotel Restaurant
114 reviews
.42 km away
The Borough Cafe
152 reviews
.03 km away
Downton Fish Bar
39 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woodgreen Community Shop
16 reviews
3.77 km away
National Trust - Pepperbox Hill
12 reviews
6.12 km away
The Kings Head
30 reviews
7.33 km away
Arniss Equestrian
154 reviews
7.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 38
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1725 510408
  • E-mail
Description
The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing