We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Central Leeds

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
88 Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4LT, England
+44 113 242 4434
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Having recently started working in Leeds, I pop in here for lunch. Although a bit pricey, the beer is always in good condition, and the one time I ate, the food was more than acceptable, The atmosphere of the place is relaxing and the staff are very good, particularly Emma and Rebecca who seem to work none stop.

Helpful?
Thank Vince S
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Not run off the mill shops, lots of small independent shops. A Good Buzz about the place, lots of bars and cafes. A good place to take the family.

Helpful?
Thank S5812CKwendyb
Swindon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Lots of shops, still lots of independent shops. All the chains and posh shops too! Had a fantastic lunch at Patasserrie Valerie TOO MANY LOVELY CAKES TOO MUCH CHOICE.

Helpful?
Thank bassetth0oud13
Birmingham
Level Contributor
314 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Ordered lunch here, seafood risotto. A mushroom risotto came out, would have put up with it, but the rice and mushrooms were not cooked, told staff and asked for two starters instead, fish cakes and chicken skewers, the fish cakes came out cold in the middle, so send them back. Only ate chicken skewers. Went to the ladies toilet, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingSolo_11
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

The Central is oxymoronically 3 minutes from Leeds train station but in the middle of nowhere, so it's definitely a destination restaurant if you're not a local banker or business dude. What is waiting for you is worth the (small) trip. Friendly and assertive staff, a simple food and drinks menu and a lovely, cosy environment. They specialise in mussels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry J
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We ordered food at 12.20pm on a Friday lunch time. At 1.30pm, after several requests, our food still hadn't arrived. We therefore asked for and got issued with a refund but with no real apology. It's a shambles down there at lunch times with no table numbers - assumedly other people took our food! Wouldn't recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Ceri P
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. The Friday lunch when you visited The Central we were unbelievably busy. Every single chair in the building was filled with hungry people on their lunch breaks. Sadly when it gets this busy it does take time for food to come out of the kitchen. I believe your table was a large one... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Very disappointed with the service. We had to wait over an hour for our food order that never came. People arrived after us got their food served first. Eventually we gave up and asked for a refund. No apologies were given. Table numbers might help sort this out, won't bother coming back for food again.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila N
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. The Friday lunch when you visited The Central we were unbelievably busy. Every single chair in the building was filled with hungry people on their lunch breaks. Sadly when it gets this busy it does take time for food to come out of the kitchen. I believe your table was a large one... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

We tried this place thanks to a living social voucher. Have to say it has been such a lovely experience. We were warmly welcomed and no one minded we were over 30mins ahead of our booking. Instantly offered alternative drinks to the voucher offer and seated without any fuss. We opted for the Sunday roast main plus dessert and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank SassiePea
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at The Central and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Had a 2 course Sunday Lunch courtesy of a Living Social voucher. Excellent spicy whitebait for starters followed by equally excellent Sunday Lunch of Roast Beef roast potatoes and a good selection of vegetables all served lovely and hot. Sunday lunches in pubs/restaurants are quite often let down by poorly cooked vegetables but here they were a highlight. Good choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank david54196
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you to the Central again soon. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Me and some colleagues popped in for a few pre-Christmas dinner points, the staff whilst multiple were slow at serving with only two serving, the beers kepot running out and were off and the staff didn't take control of the situation. Clearly can't cope. No wonder its so quiet

Helpful?
Thank Faceyreviews
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Firstly I must explain how draught beer works. We have kegs of beer delivered, we connect them up to the beer taps and serve lovely cold beer, when the keg becomes empty the beer stops coming out of the taps, at this point we have to go into the cellar and connect the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Central Leeds also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Central Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 88 Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4LT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 242 4434
Description
Leeds original and best Mussel bar, serving fresh mussels daily with a choice of sauces and freshly baked bread. Traditional Yorkshire pub food served also.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Central Leeds and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Central Leeds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?