We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fox and Hounds

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
+44 1243 575246
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this pub a while ago and had a very pleasant meal there. Returning recently we were quite disappointed as things seem to have changed. Whilst the service was very good, the main meal and dessert portions served up were quite meagre considering the prices charged. The entrance to the pub is quite shabby and could really do with... More 

Helpful?
Thank pehu44
Chichester, West Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having lived in the area for over 30 years my family and I frequent various pubs in the area for Sunday lunch. We always find * The Fox and Hounds * one of the best for value, quality of food and very friendly service. We find the friendly manager and all the staff very pleasant and attentive with nothing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bosham007
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review, as an Independent business we always appreciate the support from our local community and love that you enjoy spending time with us at The Fox and Hounds. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit. Kind regards, Kate Pinder Marketing Manager More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a super meal here this evening....delicious food, good value wine and great service. Over the years, as we live locally, we have used this pub for casual meals, locals night, drinks, group celebrations and the Sunday Carvery - always a pleasure to visit. A special mention to the manager - he was courteous, helpful and friendly...despite it being... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Davys-girl
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review of your experiences at the Fox and Hounds, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all your meals with us and we always appreciate the support we receive from our local customers. We love reading such positive comments and it was great to be able to praise the team with... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this pub several times before , sometimes just the two of us and on other occasions with a larger group. We can honestly say that none of us has ever had cause to complain about the food or the service. We have eaten from the main menu, specials board and the Sunday carvery and the quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lou6365
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review, we definitely appreciate your support and I am delighted to hear that you have always enjoyed your visits with us. We look forward to seeing you back in the pub in the near future. Kind regards, Kate Pinder Marketing Manager More 

London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just been to the pub's locals night which we prebooked. We also informed them by email that there would be a vegetarian so they could include this in the locals menu. Once there, we were told that there was no vegetarian option. After checking with the chef, we were offered...a jacket potato. Hardly worthy of an evening meal,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddict2578
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well of course the Fox and Hounds isn't in Chichester but some miles away in Funtington but that is perhaps not so important. It is a nice pub with attentive service and good food -- watch the specials board because it might be of more interest than the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Bokkop
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on The Fox and Hounds, our Kitchen team ensure the specials board is full of current, seasonal dishes with plenty of delicious options to choose from. We look forward to seeing you back in the pub again soon. Kind regards, Kate Pinder Marketing Manager More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been here several times before, but this time the food surpassed itself!! There were four of us, the two chaps had mussels, which were huge and apparently gorgeous. One lady had the salmon terrine which was lovely and the other had the chicken liver pate which was yummy. Three of us had the cod with a rarebit topping,... More 

Helpful?
Thank esmerelda337
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you all enjoyed your meals with us and very pleased you saved room for dessert, as these are definitely worth it! (Calories don't count if you enjoy it) I will ensure I pass your great comments onto our kitchen team... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit to this pub in 6 weeks. The first review I wrote was extremely positive. On Sunday we all had the carvery and were somewhat disappointed. We were the first to go up to the food bar. The meat was all good but the Yorkshires were cold and so were the vegetables. We went up at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1454
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Sue, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve the service that we provide to our valued guests. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your second dining experience with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the cold... More 

Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Having been so impressed after visiting yesterday lunchtime, and really enjoying the seafood platter, with excellent service, todays offering, which sadly compared only to a 'conveyor belt' carvery, left me utterly disappointed! VERY rare roast beef (undercooked) and luke warm vegetables totally undoes yesterday! Sadly we wont be risking such a disappointment again 😩

Helpful?
1 Thank jeff261159
Foxand H, Marketing Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review - I am delighted you enjoyed your seafood platter and the service you received on your first trip, although I was very disappointed to read you did not enjoy your meal the day after. Your comments regarding the carvery have been passed onto our management... More 

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Meeting up with friends at the last minute we had trouble booking lunch. The Fox & Hounds could take us at 12:00 as long as we were finished by 13:30 as they had a booking at that time. Parked in their car park without trouble & made welcome on arrival at bar. Shown to table & friendly waitress handed out... More 

Helpful?
Thank latetraveller100
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know that you enjoyed your lunch , and hope to see you again soon . More 

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Stoughton, Chichester
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 45
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 575246
Description
The Fox & Hounds pub & restaurant offers fine dining in relaxed, elegant surroundings in the charming village of Funtington, near Chichester in West Sussex, boasting a truly fantastic wine list, well-stocked bar with a wide range of real ales, large garden and impeccable, friendly service.We are open for breakfast and serve meals all day. we are famous for our Sunday Carvery and traditional pub atmosphere. We are be opening our own Village shop in Early 2013

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fox and Hounds and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
portsmouth
1 month ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?