We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery

Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
+44 24 7667 2309
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible31%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (6 reviews)
“toll gate” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a difference from previous visits. There was 9 in our party. We booked by phone. Table clean and ready for us. Waitress showed us to the table and explained how things work now. We all opted for the carvery. Food was excellent, hot. Sauce...More

Thank Jane P
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jane P, What a lovely review, thank you for the detailed feedback. I am delighted that you had a great time at the Tollgate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks Kyle, Jane and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table last week a few hours in advanced only to be told after being seated that there was no meats available due to a broken cooker. These things happen but i do expect to be told about this is advance. However we decided...More

4  Thank mc t
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

MC T, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed comments, i was dissapointed to hear my team let you down on your recent visit. Your comments will be looked into further and dealt with. Many thanks Kyle

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Oh dear another disappointing meal. Every time we visit there is something wrong with the food. This time people had their meals but had to wait 10 minutes for gravy, so the meals were cold and had to be made up again. No mushrooms for...More

1  Thank JohnMaureen2015
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed feedback. I'm sorry to read that your recent visit wasn't of the good standard you would expect from us, I am myself also disappointed that the team failed to deliver basic standards....More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Have been there 2 times now since the refurbishment and i have to say it's a great place to eat,had 2 chicken burgers each time and i wasn't dissapointed,i dont mind waiting a tad long for the burger as that tells me it's being cooked...More

Thank Glyn D
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi Glyn, Thank you for the detailed feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon Kyle and the team

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

After recently moving to the area my family and myself thought we would try The Tollgate and truly wish we hadn't wasted nearly £60 on a meal for four. We visited last Sunday, it certainly wasn't busy. There were plenty of empty tables at half...More

2  Thank Dallas B
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dallas, Thank you for taking the time to leave detailed feedback. I'm sorry we failed to meet the basic expectations of both you and the company. If you would be kind enough to contact me on 0247 667 2309, I would like investigate further...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

I had seen bad reports on this one and live close to the pub .I decided to try for myself 5weeks ago with granddaughter both cleared our plates and this was the best beef I have had from a carveryi have been every week since...More

Thank oxygengray1
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we pride our self on giving the very best experience to our guests. We have just launched a new menu, come and try our new items and let us know your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a turn around for the Tollgate , we went there for my granddaughters Birthday the second week into opening after a refurbish, it was horrendous . I was there on Friday with a large party of people (70). The staff were outstanding along with...More

Thank kevinanne2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mrs Hunt. Thank you for your lovely feedback, I'm glad we were able to make your day as stress free as possible. We hope to see you and the family again soon. Regards Kyle Williams General Manager

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Lovely early evening visit last night. Carvery was excellent. This is a great place for a good value meal. Staff were lovely and attentive. Even managed to sort out our group booking for the Festive Fayre. All in all a very good experience.

Thank Pat R
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Pat, we are go glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you for your festive book in November. Many thanks Kyle and the team

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Despite the refurbishment the chef must be the same .The carvery was disappointing ,meats over cooked so more crumbled rather than slices .Roast potatoes burnt ,thickest gravy I've even seen . Is there a manager to oversee if the chef doesn't realise ?More

Thank Mary38677
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Mary38677 We regret to hear that you had this experience with us, The standards on your visit are not those we uphold, I have recently taken over the business and have put together a strict training plan for all of the team here to...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays and decided to come here for lunch. The lady at the bar was very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough for us. I really like the way it has all been re-furnished it is very smart. We had...More

Thank Betty521
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi Betty521, Thank you for taking your time to review us here at The Tollgate Coventry, I am so pleased you had a lovely meal with us. I Remember your table well, Children are Fantastic and so happy. I hope you enjoyed the rest of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pickles Indian & Grill Cuisine
130 reviews
1.11 km away
Mocha Lounge
24 reviews
1.08 km away
The Chestnut Tree
27 reviews
1.21 km away
The Holyhead
227 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Allesley Park
51 reviews
1.56 km away
The Weaver's House
18 reviews
1.38 km away
Butts Park Arena
14 reviews
1.42 km away
Clue HQ
89 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fraser M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from moley70 | Reviewed this property |
Don't think this is a question, it's a statement, and very true, I agree with everything the this person has said, I am also Very near and would have been lovely to walk around, especially as the garden has been sorted, but... More
1
Vote
joycejakeman
13 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from reggie2005 | Reviewed this property |
Finished but tbh I went tonight and it was awful!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7667 2309
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up! We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing