We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the newlands

Tile Hill Lane, Coventry CV4 9DJ, England
+44 24 7647 3049
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good15%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“sizzler pub” (6 reviews)
“lovely food” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tile Hill Lane, Coventry CV4 9DJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love the newlands, staff are absolutely lovely and so good at their jobs, always make you feel welcome and the food and drinks are delicious.More

Thank caseyann2102
General Manager A, Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Caseyann2102, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience, Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did and we’re glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We hope...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family friendly and busy on the Sunday we visited but the food was delicious and filling, and the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Will most certainly be returning and would definitely recommend.

Thank Rachel W
General Manager A, Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Rachel W, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Newlands. We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Last minute decision to go out for some food, they were quite busy most tables had been taken but within 5 minutes was told there was a table as she had noticed we had been looking around. Food was lovely couldn’t fault it!!More

Thank Elizabeth L
General Manager A, Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Elizabeth L, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Visited The Newlands after receiving a £5 voucher. I have been to other Sizzling pub chains so already knew what they are like. I was eating out with my mum and she decided to pick a starter which was the Glazed Chicken wings. We both...More

Thank Rebecca T
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Good Morning Rebecca, thank you for your recent visit to us, we are sorry you feel that your mains weren't as you requested, our onions are steam cooked for softness then placed onto the skillets as a barrier to stop your food from burning, they...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018

Enjoyed a meal out with extended family. Was a comfortable environment. Staff were friendly & attentive. Food was delicious - big serves.

Thank Globalvoyagergirl
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful time with my Husband at The Newlands today (3rd Feb 2018). We ordered a “share starter”, surf + turf, backyard bbq burger, pot of tea and a Diet Pepsi. The food arrived promptly and was delicious. The cost of £22 was excellent,...More

Thank Claire S
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Good Morning Claire, thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad that enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time. maybe try one of our delicious desserts next time, the sundaes are to...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018

Having 'Vowed' Never To Return After Being Turned Away Abruptly Last January I Decided To Give It A 'Go' After Hearing The Staff and Menu Had Changed. We Were Having Breakfast-------Wont Do A Repeat Visit-----Beans Were Cold and Sausages Were 'Peely Wally' No-one Came To...More

Thank stephens8522016
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Good Morning Stephens, We are sorry you feel you wont be returning to us after a previous visit left you vowing not to come again, we dont understand why you would of been abruptly turned away last january,this would of been for a reason if...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Quiet freezing cold Monday and even the bar lady was wearing a beanie.Found a seat beside a piping hot radiator and was well pleased with the Duck Salad (£7.29).Masses of well prepared salad and a good portion of roast duck.Beer was Thornbridge Jaipur which at...More

Thank mncrbest
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello mncrbest, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback, w ereally do appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to us. thank you for popping in, the duck salad is pretty...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

went here for some dinner with the family and could see that it was busy, despite that the food and service was brilliant for the price. 10/10

Thank recs2018
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Recs, thank you so much for your amazing feedback!, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you back again here at The Newlands. see you soon!!!

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Wednesday 27th December, my birthday, seven of us visited the Newlands for a meal at 5.30 pm. Level of occupancy was decent but by no means busy. We needed a large table and other than one very large party (who may have booked) there was...More

Thank ge0rge35
General Manager A, General Manager at the newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi George, im sorry to hear that your visit to us came as a dissapointment to you, we do have an online booking system in place which will ensure that your table (if reserved beforehand and confirmed online) would of been emptied, cleared, and set...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
2,699 reviews
1.25 km away
Arden Training and Conference Centre
21 reviews
2.01 km away
The Jacobean Hotel
427 reviews
2.04 km away
Allesley Hotel
555 reviews
2.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Farmhouse Restaurant
1,573 reviews
1.51 km away
Mocha Lounge
32 reviews
1.30 km away
Rupali Indian restaurant
187 reviews
.12 km away
Serene Lounge
33 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Warwick Arts Centre
185 reviews
3.31 km away
Allesley Park
53 reviews
1.81 km away
Coventry Watch Museum Project Limited
36 reviews
3.25 km away
Historic Spon Street
101 reviews
3.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CoventryHolidaygal
5 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Elizabeth L | Reviewed this property |
Yes I believe it does
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tile Hill Lane, Coventry CV4 9DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7647 3049
Description
Built in the 1930's The Newlands is a great community pub which offers a wide range of food and drinks at a good value price.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing