We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofinos Restaurant

Churchill House 12A Mosley Street | Newcastle Upon Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1DE, England
+44 191 261 5512
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (83 reviews)
“potato skins” (37 reviews)
“cheesecake” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Italian, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Churchill House 12A Mosley Street | Newcastle Upon Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1DE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 809 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

As a Newcastle lad, I’ve ate in my fair share of restaurants in the town and this one never disappoints. First and foremost, the building itself is stunning and adds greatly to the ambience, and the food is always top notch. This time it was...More

Thank David M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Upon entering I was overwhelmed by the beauty of this little place. Coupled with the smells of fresh herbs and authentic Italian cooking, I knew we were onto a good thing. The staff were friendly and polite and greeted us immediately. Service was fast, perfectly...More

Thank rakn0wles
scott i, Public Relations Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the building alongside your meals, service and general ambience. We look forward to seeing you soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend has been here many times before so took me here on a date night. The service was very good throughout the night. I had carbonara which i really enjoyed so i would recommend. However, my boyfriend was disappointed with the garlic bread and...More

Thank Sophie C
scott i, Public Relations Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review, Sophie. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your carbonara and felt you received a good level of service. As regards to the pizza thickness, this is a personal preference and many of our customers prefer a thinner crust. However, we appreciate...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were very friendly. The decor is beautiful and the downstairs toilets very quaint. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the restaurant and I will definitely return. Food was good too and the prices extremely reasonable. What more could you want?

Thank Susan W
scott i, Public Relations Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for the review​, Susan. It's great to hear you enjoyed eating with us

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

booked for my daughters 14th booked three days in advance and when we turned up they said we were not on list, shown to the worst table right in front of th bar and bumped three times by passing waiters within 2 minutes Asked to...More

Thank Micks2311
scott i, Public Relations Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. We will look into what went wrong on this occasion, and again we can only apologise for the booking error

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this place a handful of times now over the years. More recently with a few friends where we took advantage of the happy hour deal with runs until 7pm. Both the inside and outside of the building are very pretty. The staff are very...More

Thank Amy P
scott i, Public Relations Manager at Portofinos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for the review Amy and it's fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed dining with us

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is ok but very reasonably priced. Must admit it used to be a regular of mine, but have seen a decline in the past year or so. Could do with going back to basics.

Thank steve w
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant with my mum and young daughter (children are very welcome). The menu has plenty of choice (the special lunch menu is also available on a weekend) and staff were very welcoming. When our starter arrived I accidentally knocked my daughters drink over...More

Thank Katie M
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Love this place but got a BOGOF voucher via email and once again did not disappoint Best crispy tasty pizza in town without a doubt Great historic building too

Thank Creamtea1964
Reviewed 11 April 2018

always have a good meal, value for money, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Lovely choice of pizza and pasta and would recommend any of their desserts, the homemade white chocolate cheesecake is my personal choice

Thank Andreaw281
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Grey Street Hotel
95 reviews
.02 km away
Surtees Hotel
616 reviews
.11 km away
easyHotel Newcastle
732 reviews
.21 km away
The Vermont Hotel
2,282 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Zucchini Pasta Bar
120 reviews
.12 km away
Nadon Thai - Newcastle
186 reviews
.07 km away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
2,726 reviews
.03 km away
Dacantus
360 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grey Street
1,073 reviews
.10 km away
St Nicholas Cathedral
460 reviews
.11 km away
Newcastle Castle
636 reviews
.18 km away
Holy Jesus Hospital
6 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
G2739ZPlouisec
10 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Portofinos | Property representative |
Yes there is a happy Hour from 5pm until 7pm. weekdays.. and until 6pm Saturdays..
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Churchill House 12A Mosley Street | Newcastle Upon Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 261 5512
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;