We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham

High Street | The Swan Hotel Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
+44 1787 247477
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cheese plate” (5 reviews)
“venison” (16 reviews)
“parfait” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street | The Swan Hotel Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The Swan Hotel rates as one of the most delightful venues you could visit if you are looking for old charm character coupled with good service. Our classic car group of thirty were accommodated for Sunday lunch in the Suffolk Room. It could not have...More

Thank Colin S
Reviewed 1 week ago

There were 20 of us gathered together for this lunch in Lavenham and we had reserved ahead because of the size of the group. The room was all prepared and ready for us when we arrived. The Swan had prepared a special menu for us...More

Thank PicMorDaisies
John M, HOUSE MANAGER at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. I certainly will be sharing your comments with team and I do hope we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly the staff were attentive and knowledgeable. My wife had the pappardelle pumpkin starter followed by the sea bass. I had the smoked salmon, followed by scallops and then my main was loin of pork. It was all delicious and beautifully presented.More

Thank jerryannecrawford
John M, HOUSE MANAGER at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I certainly will be sharing your comments with team and I do hope...More

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and service. Would recommend it. We will definitely try and return there soon. We just had a collection of starters and side dishes and enjoyed the mix.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I certainly will be sharing your comments with team and I do hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in a room that will take your breath away, the Gallery isn't only aesthetically pleasing but also offers delicious, seasonal foods on an interesting and compact menu. Staff were great, the sommelier was great at talking us through the wines that were paired with...More

Thank hrb91
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your evening in the Gallery. We certainly are very lucky to have such a magnificent room to dine...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in the hotel for one night and when we booked we opted for the evening meal to be part of our package, and were not disappointed. The menu and wine list were extensive. The service and food were both very good.More

Thank Ralph159
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your evening in the Gallery Restaurant. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the hotel, so I booked here for his birthday dinner on 23rd Oct. The setting is superb and the service very good. It was just the food was definitely not memorable and mixed quality. My partner had pumpkin pappardelle...More

2  Thank Fussyminx
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I'm really glad you enjoyed the service and setting of the Gallery Restaurant. I am sorry to hear though that you didn't quite enjoy everything you had food wise and I will...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This really is a superb location and well worth visiting for that alone. We went for an anniversary lunch, and the meal was very good - set Sunday menu. Service attentive and the dessert and cheese platter were highlights. One slight niggle: I had requested...More

Thank DavidTaylor45
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunchtime in the Gallery Restaurant. My apologises regarding the glass of Champagne - we should have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wife and I were staying nearby to Lavenham and had popped into the Swan at lunch time for a drink and sandwich -loved the look of what we saw and booked for dinner in The Gallery Restaurant . Had drinks in The American Airmans Bar...More

1  Thank colintimms
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your evening in the Gallery Restaurant with us. Just to note and for other readers, side orders of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner in the Gallery restaurant. From greeting to leaving the service was impeccable and a wonderful warm ambience throughout. The menu on offer made choosing tricky as it was all so mouth watering. Small additional canoes were relished before we even had...More

Thank Clive A
John M, House Manager at Gallery Restaurant - The Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to receive such lovely feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your evening in the Gallery Restaurant. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our pianist, I certainly...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lavenham Great House Restaurant
731 reviews
.17 km away
Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms
246 reviews
.13 km away
Number Ten
485 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lavenham Guildhall
491 reviews
.14 km away
The Church of St Peter & St Paul
114 reviews
.30 km away
Little Hall Lavenham
107 reviews
.15 km away
Number10
47 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kizzyframes
17 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JaneLarcombe | Property representative |
The Swan have been fully booked for a residential Christmas break since Feb 2016. Therefore bookings for Christmas Day lunch are not being taken. For pre or post Christmas lunch or dinner enquiries & menus, please call 01787... More
0
Votes
Sean B
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JaneLarcombeBDM | Property representative |
Smart casual is great. No tracksuits or shorts please.
0
Votes
Geeta S
26 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from gingko2 | Reviewed this property |
Smart casual I would guess. We were at a private function.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 56
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | The Swan Hotel Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Babergh District  >  Lavenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 247477
  • E-mail
Description
An elegant, two AA rosette restaurant in the pretty Suffolk town of Lavenham, The Gallery Restaurant is part of the impeccable and historic Swan Hotel, a quintessential English country spot with spectacular service. Priding itself on serving the very best in modern British cuisine, The Gallery���s menu is created using fresh, seasonal produce. Talented Head Chef Justin Kett and his brigade bring passion and creativity to the kitchen, working hard to create the ultimate dining experience which recieves impressive feedback from guests. A broad range of both classic and New World wines populate a wine list designed as a compliment to the wide variety of The Gallery���s inspired dishes whilst surroundings bring together historic original features, including the timbered gallery which gives the restaurant its name, and contemporary yet comfortable design.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing