We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Horse - Weathervane

Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England
+44 1782 388799
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good20%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (26 reviews)
“steak” (28 reviews)
“ice cream” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in the adjoining hotel the Brewers Fayre as we were there for a weekend to go to Alton towers,we had arrived later on so decided to just eat here as it’s downstairs,I wish I hadn’t it was just dirty food...More

Thank delle123
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience in our pub as we always strive to present our customers with excellent quality. Please accept our apologises, we do hope to welcome you back. If you would...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took the family in the evening after a busy day at Alton towers 4 children 2 adults. Mixed grill swimming in grease and cold. Mushy peas felt frozen they were that cold. Kids meals dry. Sausages undercooked. Tables were sticky with not enough cutlery. Staff...More

Thank hayleanleash2018
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hayle Thank you for taking the time to feed back on your dining experience with us. Please accept our apology, we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. As we take this very seriously and if you wish to speak to us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came with two children to feed. Build your own pasta came out as described. Kiddies Lasagne as described. Adult steak sizzler poor, tough and chewy offered an exchange but didn't want to wait so just ate the sides. Children's mini mania sundae was impressive, strawberry...More

Thank missalex17
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alex thank you for taking time to leave us a review. Please accept our apology for not exceeding your expectations. We are striving to deliver our best at all times and this was not the case. We do hope we will see you again,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great selection of pub grub. Reasonably priced and very good for families. Relaxed atmosphere and good customer service. Gets busy. Play area outside for children and outdoor seating area.

Thank Wwoo161
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed yourselves and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub has had a make over just over 12 months ago. It is now a lot lighter and brighter and a more pleasant place to go. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. The reason I have given it only 4 stars...More

Thank David P
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to us. We could not be more pleased that you have enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waiting staff were excellent but all other aspects were average. Cooking time was slow. One our party had an undercooked burger and returned it. Unfortunately everyone had finished by the time the replacement arrived. All other meals OK though. To be fair prices are low...More

Thank Paul S
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience in our pub as we always strive to present our customers with excellent quality. Please accept our apologises, we do hope to welcome you back so...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great experience here! Our Server Emma was amazing, made us feel very welcome and couldn’t do enough for us also a lovely attitude to work and give her all!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Clayto
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Clayton thank you so much for leaving review about your recent visit. We are delighted we`ve met your expectations and will pass your comments to our college who will be very appreciative of your kind words. We do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Our mains and drinks were fine. Waiting time was fine but the desserts were awful. It’s only dessert but they were expensive and I was annoyed. Ordered strawberry sundae for my child and it came with no strawberries? And I paid £5.19 for a candy...More

Thank Dmhawk
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. Please let me apologies for not meeting your expectations regards deserts, this will be investigated to ensure standards are kept. We do hope to see you again, so if you would like to speak to...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Called in before going shopping quiet but a nice fresh look to the place breakfast very good food well set out and warm sausage nice and eggs just as i like them will definitly call again

Thank grandblake
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Blake thank you for taking time to leave us a review about your recent visit. We are so pleased we met your expectations and we do hope to welcome you back very soon .

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Can highly recommend this restaurant,food was lovely and reasonably priced..Staff worked really hard and always polite,will definitely return...

Thank helenbates
TheWeathervane, Front Office at Hungry Horse - Weathervane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Helen thank you so much for leaving a review about your dinning experience with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed yourselves and we do hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Best Western Stoke East
421 reviews
.03 km away
Crown Hotel
265 reviews
3.84 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1,015 reviews
5.98 km away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
215 reviews
6.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Saracen's Head Steakhouse
521 reviews
1.38 km away
Blue Tiffin
193 reviews
.62 km away
Taste of India
43 reviews
1.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gladstone Pottery Museum
800 reviews
3.42 km away
Pole Fit
22 reviews
3.41 km away
Moddershall Oaks Country Spa Retreat
596 reviews
3.45 km away
The Congress Inn
5 reviews
3.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Headfairy10
12 July 2018|
Answer
Response from mikeroberts2015 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think they serve some options for vegans
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stoke-on-Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1782 388799
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing