We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack

$$ - $$$, British,
The Green | Weston, Stafford ST18 0JH, England
+44 1889 270238
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“rump steak” (3 reviews)
“sandwiches” (3 reviews)
“salad” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Green | Weston, Stafford ST18 0JH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We have be told by lots of narrowboat people how great this pub is and dog friendly so pop down on Sunday to try I had the Duck special and my wife had chicken my duck was very good when I go again I will...More

Thank Russ9294
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited this pub today with our friends and their dog. Fabulous to find such a gem of a pub that accepts both dogs and young children as we had both! Beer was top notch I had the Marstons guest ale which was kept well and...More

Thank Arm85
Reviewed 6 days ago

haven't been here for a while and glad I came back. Cannot fault last night. the service was excellent, attentive but not in your face. the Food was delicious. Steaks were perfect and the best Sweet Potato fries I have had in a long while....More

Thank Sam D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food at a great price! Came on a sunday evening, unfortunately they had run out of most of the sunday roast menu, but the main menu was still excellent!More

Thank Nick M
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nick, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our pub. Were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Sundays are a very busy day for us with the roast dinners and unfortunately we can sometimes sell out...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a large party of family in for a birthday, orders where sent in 3 days before as requested, we waited an hour and 20 minutes to be served on the last table, other member of our party had finished there meals before we...More

2  Thank anna m
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went yesterday "on speck" for lunch about 3.30, we were quickly shown to a table, there were quite a few free in the restaurant. We ordered a roast beef and a roast pork, these came very quickly. The 2 small roast potatoes on each plate...More

2  Thank Christine S
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Christine, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our pub. It is with sadness to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Suggesting that the waitress took a 30p cost from the bill, I suspect that you raised...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend and my friends daughter came here after hearing and reading fabulous reviews, however - the food was OK, I had Cajun chicken, which was dry. My friend had lasange which was burnt, and her daughter had the kids meal which was...More

3  Thank Ellie M
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ellie, It is with disappointment to read your comments. Firstly I will say that the 'blonde Manageress' you are referring to I assume was myself. However, if I have given you the impression that customer focus isn't my priority I must apologise. I can...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Family visit today, Wednesday 10/01/18; arrived at 11:40am. Advertised opening hours for today are 11:00am onwards. The pub was in darkness, no staff or customer cars outside, except one which was hidden around the back. Am I to assume this pub is permanently or temporarily...More

2  Thank Piglet_and_Eeyore
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This review has been reported. Events are inaccurate and fake. This is the second review of this nature from this account, where CCTV footage can be provided to prove that the information has been falsified.

Reviewed 31 December 2017

We hadn't been to the Woolpack for a few months as the last couple of times we visited we weren't too impressed, as the service and food were not a great standard. As we were visiting the local antique fair today, we looked at recent...More

2  Thank MrsAlisonB
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MrsAlisonB, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're ecstatic to read how you enjoyed your dinning experience with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon! Many Thanks, Kelly Taylor General Manager

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

What a super evening we had last night here at The Woolpack! Knowing it was our anniversary, rose petals and jewels had been scattered at the table which was a lovely touch. The grazing/sharing plate was delicious! Definitely recommend the crab dish! Served by Lucy...More

1  Thank johelijo
WoolpackKelly, General Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Johelijo, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We love to read about how you enjoyed your dinning experience with us and as ever we very much look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Many Thanks,...More

PreviousNext
12345624
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Stafford
Weston Hall
795 reviews
.95 km away
Common Farm Motel
55 reviews
4.58 km away
Vine Hotel
220 reviews
6.39 km away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
922 reviews
6.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Man
252 reviews
3.06 km away
Clifford Arms
138 reviews
4.68 km away
Green Man Inn
42 reviews
5.23 km away
The Bank House Hixon
126 reviews
3.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
British Wildlife Rescue Centre
13 reviews
2.01 km away
Wickers World Balloon Flights
535 reviews
4.44 km away
Canalside Farm Shop & Cafe
169 reviews
4.32 km away
Anglo Welsh Dayboat Hire
10 reviews
4.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Piglet_and_Eeyore
15 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Molly123s | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry, just seen this. The hours i believe are wrong, they are open 11am - 11:30pm.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green | Weston, Stafford ST18 0JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stafford
  • Phone Number: +44 1889 270238
Description
A beautiful, quintessentially English village pub in an idyllic setting on the village green, The Woolpack is a well-established business supplying hearty pub fayre and exquisitely well-crafted English ales. With a variety of offers on weekdays, there's always something new to try! If you have any queries just give us a call and we'd be happy to help in any way we can.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing