We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruby Cantonese Restaurant

29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
+44 1543 251144
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good20%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

endless fresh cooked chinese. hot plates and nibbles arrive as you sit down but no sign that you are ever rushed along. repeatedly asked if theres more you would like. cant fault the service or food.

Thank chrisbutler2016
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Aww thank you so much for your lovely review & looking forward to having you dine with us in the near future 🙌🏻

Reviewed 1 week ago

had herd many good things about this place so gave the take away a try. the service was good and the food delivered promptly, so that was all good. however i ordered one of the set meals and found it mostly over cooked and only...More

Thank gary1casson
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have decided we are not returning after tonight, food was ok nothing exciting presentation non existent , and expensive for what you get, we ordered our starters and the waiter said would you like to order your main course , why when its all...More

1  Thank kevvo77
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

all you can eat menu with all the food freshly prepared. Staff are friendly. Nice to see some new faces recently. Once you eat here you will never look at Chinese in the same way. There is so much variety.

Thank Dougbcfc
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review it’s customers like you whose got style & knows there Chinese food 👋looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future 🙌🏻

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eat as much as you like, just been today, don’t want to go on too much about the food. Got to be one if not the worst we’ve had. Local to the area visited before it went to free menu, flavourless, deep fried, cheap cuts...More

1  Thank lazyspoon
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I’m not going to waste too much of my time talking to someone who obviously 🙄 does not have a clue about good top quality food 🙄 Stick with your chop suey back street cafeterias 👍

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

£13.95 midweek or around £17.00 at the weekend for an all you can eat menu with all the food freshly prepared. Staff are friendly. Nice to see some new faces recently. Once you eat here you will never look at Chinese in the same way....More

Thank Emmelia_123
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review 😍it’s customers like you that we love to be of service to...Hope to see you again in the near future 🙌🏻

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Food was OK. Not great. Expensive for what it is. Won't return. The one spoon of ice cream for pudding was fairly measly.

Thank MissJed67
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

We don’t use a spoon to scoop the ice cream Jedi Bassan!!! As you should know we use a proper ice cream scoop so really no point to go on as u know we know who you are & more so what you are!!!

Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Me and my Girlfriend eat here regularly, and we've noticed on our last couple trips that we feel slightly rushed, it seems they just want you in and out as quick as possible.. Shame but I think well try and book into the Lee Garden...More

Thank RTW100
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Go here fairly often, but disappointed last night , booked for 7pm arrived 6.50 .... But as we were taken to the table the were already placing crackers and hotplates......... Waiting for our Peder before we had sat properly....... Rushed them out, and whilst they...More

Thank Vera A
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Really!!! What is wrong with hot plates & prawn crackers (complimentary to every customer may I add) being ready at your table for you??? That’s the way all customers should be treated! I’m sure you would have plenty to say if nothing was ready for...More

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Had the buffet option meal here with a group of six which we enjoyed as we tried 6 different starters, 6 different mains , not much choice on the deserts though (don’t think the Chinese do deserts) Service was good (they were very busy, Saturday...More

Thank illoyduk
PreviousNext
12345629
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Lichfield
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1,071 reviews
.21 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
548 reviews
.29 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
408 reviews
.82 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
143 reviews
1.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lal Bagh
800 reviews
.18 km away
The Angel Inn
95 reviews
.17 km away
Lime Pickle
40 reviews
.02 km away
Brewhouse & Kitchen Lichfield
147 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,516 reviews
.49 km away
Garrick Theatre
197 reviews
.16 km away
Beacon Park
251 reviews
.45 km away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
254 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James1539
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norreena H | Property representative |
Hi James Thank you for your question However I consider all my waiters & waitresses to be top quality staff & it would be totally unfair of me as a boss to single any of them out on trip advisor who is better then who, Why... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 251144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing