We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anton's Bistrot

$$ - $$$, British,
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“pate” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

Came in here for lunch in December. Bit of a strange set up. There are menus by the door listing their festive meals but you can't order a main course from them at lunchtime. Instead, you select from a menu that doesn't have any festive...More

Thank Leigh C
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Apologies for the apparent confusion. Christmas Party menus are for those who have pre-ordered their meal in advance. This allows service to run more smoothly. Apologies if that was not explained to you. Fish and chips are served with chips from the fryer, as opposed...More

Reviewed 12 December 2016

we decided to drive into wells on a cold November evening for a belated birthday meal, saw Antons ,and decided to try Although fairly busy ,we were found a nice table for two near the window. The food was outstanding , I opted for the...More

Thank spoons26
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, thank you. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and service was as it should have been with at least one member of staff. There have been some changes to the...More

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived in Wells and after walking around the small market by to the cathedral we decided on this restaurant/pub fearing that it would be too mainstream , but it was excellent. We ordered the fish and chips , the pasta , the chicken burger...More

Thank Nacho R
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Super review, thank you. We're pleased you were so pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Wells is a very beautiful historic city - has a Cathedral. Anton's is located in a historic building - also a hotel and pub. Booked a table, not overly busy when we first arrived so expected good service. Opted for a starter of goat's cheese...More

Thank Sally E
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Thank you for your review. You're right about the goats cheese starter and it's no longer on the menu. Thank you for your feedback. With regards to the bread, you "got the impression they were left over rolls from breakfast." We never use any leftover...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed in the hotel attached to this restaurant and had 2 breakfasts and one dinner in the restaurant.. Good to the same staff as on our last visit 2 years ago. Food was fine both at dinner and breakfast and staff friendly and helpful

Thank Richard A
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals with us.

Reviewed 12 November 2016

Lets start with the food, 2 burgers and a steak. Firstly the chips were under-cooked (hard) and when they were replaced, not much better and tasteless. The burger was a finely minced meat, dense and totally lacking in juice or beefy taste. It reminded me...More

Thank John K
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

We're happy to take constructive criticism on the chin, where appropriate. Unfortunately your review is personal and insulting, making statements based on what your surmise and assumptions. Your opinion, not fact. We're sorry the burger was not to your liking. We are pleased it remains...More

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Unsure of our directions, receptionist didn't even lift her head when asked where the Bistro was. Stood by the bar waiting for some assistance, eventually a pleasant young girl arrived and we asked if we seat ourselves or wait to be seated. She went to...More

Thank Broomstix
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

We're sorry, we were terribly busy when you came and you should have received better attention, this is not our norm. Orders were backed up in the kitchen which is why we were not taking new orders at that moment. The Bistrot closes at 3pm,...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stopped in for a pub lunch after touring the lovely Wells Cathedral. This pub is charming inside and very handy as it is located nearby. We ordered a cheese and tomato baguette with chips. It came as a stale low quality supermarket baguette with...More

Thank FoodieNaples
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Whatever you do - DON'T eat here!!! Bit of perspective, perhaps? Cheese and tomato baguette comes with crisps, as described on the menu. The quality of our ingredients is neither "low quality" or "cheap". Dismay? Goodness me.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited Anton's Bistrot last night having booked a table. We were a tad worried as it was a cold night and we were shown to a table by the window but, it wasn't an issue and we were warm during our visit. We opted for...More

Thank Grumpyoldman15
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for your super review, much appreciated.

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Walked in off the street after being turned away elsewhere as full during the Literary Festival. Friendly greeting and seated right away. Staff were all great. Food super. Steak slightly cool at one end but the rest was very good. We've eaten here before and...More

Thank Claire J
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

So pleased you found us; we're one of just a few places open on a Monday evening in Wells. Thank you for your review and we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us.

PreviousNext
15678931
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,008 reviews
.07 km away
The White Hart Hotel
311 reviews
.10 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
218 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)
224 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Courtyard Restaurant
447 reviews
.10 km away
Square Edge Cafe-Bar
278 reviews
.11 km away
Rugantino Restaurant
443 reviews
.10 km away
Goodfellows
508 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Cathedral
2,739 reviews
.12 km away
The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
1,136 reviews
.21 km away
Vicar's Close
748 reviews
.26 km away
Wells Market Place
213 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing