We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anton's Bistrot

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2015

Visited restaurant 11/11/15 I ordered chicken and leek pie.The veg was new potatoes and green beans.All was covered with far too much salt ! The ple crust was impossible to break into. The filling was ok although very meagre. The waitress was informed when she gave us the bill and said she would pass it on. I had to leave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philip g
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are really sorry about the pie. We used to buy these from the market in the interests of supporting local suppliers. When it became apparent they were not up to our usual fare, we started to make them ourselves. Sorry you had one of the ones below parr. We're also sorry your complaint wasn't dealt with as it should... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2015

Enjoyed an evening meal for two. Good and pleasant service with varied menu choice. Food was very good and 'wine of the week' was good value.

Helpful?
Thank MJohnK
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and wine with us. More 

Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

We ate here as we were staying at The Crown. The menu isn't great but typical pub stuff. I am allergic to dairy. I couldn't have any of the starters and only the steak for a mains I wanted a shepherds pie but they said there was butter in the mash. There is no reason they couldn't have made mash... More 

Helpful?
Thank LyndsH
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not happy when dining with us recently. Please be assured that our mash potato is not bought in. Yes, you should have been offered more alternatives and we are sorry our service let you down. This is not our usual level of service. The steak comes with mushroom, tomato and fries. We do charge extra... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Absolutely superb risotto and the salmon fish cake was amazing. Soup was wholesome and the chutney with the pate was to die for

Helpful?
Thank DannyNeal
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Gosh, what a super review, thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your meal so much. Come again, won't you? More 

Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2015

We ate on a wet Tuesday evening. The restaurant was very busy with just 3 members of front of house staff. Whilst they worked extremely hard, you just felt that you maybe weren't getting the service you should receive when dining out

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Three members of staff in the restaurant is our operational norm and we are sorry you felt you did not receive the service you should have done. More 

England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2015

Anton's provides good value for money and the staff are delightful, but there is very little atmosphere, and we've visited a number of times, but now prefer to eat in their bar.

Helpful?
Thank Rose1111
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're pleased to hear you enjoy eating here and have found the Penn Bar the better place for you to dine. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2015

Food was outstanding. Staff were very pleasant. Restaurant can be found in The Crown at Wells public house. It has its own entrance.

Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your short but sweet review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal so much, particularly the steak. We hope you'll be back again before too long. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2015

We were directed here from our B and B. Rather confused service the night we ate here. I ordered an aubergine and feta tart and was given a potato and feta tart. While it was not an unpleasant meal my waitress and the manager questioned the absence of aubergine. manager did refund half the cost of my entree.Perhaps remove the... More 

Helpful?
Thank evf385
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Sorry about the confusion with one of your dishes. We're looking for a Sous Chef, not Head Chef, as you stated. More 

Wells
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2015

Excellent venue for private dining parties. 70th birthday party was brilliantly catered for. The food was perfect size portions and a good selection choice was offered.

Helpful?
Thank LullyWells
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your 70th party with us and appreciate you taking the time to tell others. More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2015

arriving here on a Sunday evening after a long and arduous journey, first we were told that because it was a Sunday evening the dining room would be closing at 9.00(we had arrived at 8.30). to drink I asked for a white wine spritzer, I wasn't asked what wine, nor if I would prefer soda or lemonade, I was simply... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. We will take criticism as and where it is due and apologise where mistakes are made. There are, however, slight inaccuracies and presumptions in your review We stop serving at 9pm on Sunday evening. Not close. Stop serving. We are sorry you did not like your spritzer. It... More 

Travellers who viewed Anton's Bistrot also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Mediterranean, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Anton's Bistrot and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?