We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gypsy Queen

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Drakehouse Lane, Sheffield, England
+44 114 248 7429
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place after spending on cloths and gifts in Crystal Peaks Shopping Centre. Very friendly staff quick service well when we went in . Good quality wholesome food and well stocked bar. Just over the road from the shops, play area for the little ones advise you supervise though ,near to a lot of traffic and supertram

Helpful?
Thank Chattylad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been for a family meal here tonight ... great service , friendly and helpful staff and many compliments to the chiefs all our meals were lovely ... piping hot and well presented will be visiting again very soon ... also may i had lovely festive decor including a santa grotto kiddies will love it

Helpful?
Thank kpow123
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to this pub for lunch as we do every week because my 80 year old mum likes it. Not me though, every week there's something wrong. Some of the things are I found an hair in my curry, burger was pink inside, the steak was full of fat. Each time the useless managers offered us another meal or... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilmissw40
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to this pub on numerous occasions and found it to be well decorated with friendly staff. There is also a large car park and easy access for those with wheelchairs. Wi fi is also available. Both food and real ales are acceptable. However what is not is the behaviour of some of its young clientele who have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevan_12
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off in passing before shopping as we wanted a quick bite to eat. We weren't over hungry so went for the 2 for £7.99 menu. So expectations were set - we didn't want anything fancy, just something to put us on for a while. £4.00 each isn't a lot but you expect the basics. Fish and Chips was described... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarndy
hungryhorse4725, General Manager at Gypsy Queen, responded to this review

May I apologise for your recent visit and assure you that all comments are welcome and acted upon to strive for better service and quality, your meals could have been easily exchanged or swapped for other items on the menu at the time of your visit, I would welcome you on a return visit and hope that this experience has... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Called in today as I had been informed that one of my fave beers, Everards Tiger was on sale. Unfortunately the beer was sour which was obvious to me from its appearance. After a short wait it was exchanged this time for Abbeydale Moonshine, which was also sour. I attempted to drink it but I was unable to so I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
hungryhorse4725, Public Relations Manager at Gypsy Queen, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your recent visit wasn't up to our usual standards, the cask ales you mentioned were unfortunately at the end of their barrels, and were taken off immediately from sale, and put on water as is our policy, they were cleaned over night and fresh casks were on sale the next day, may I again apologise that... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I went in for a few drinks with my husband last night, live quite local and trying to get served is a nightmare. The staff haven't got a rush in them aside the fact there's not enough staff for such a busy pub. I like this pub but there is no organisation, staff are friendly but I avoid this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank samantha C
hungryhorse4725, Public Relations Manager at Gypsy Queen, responded to this review

sorry to hear that you were not happy with our service but we do try and serve everyone in turn and try our best to be as quick as possible, and clearing tables of glassses More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Well where do I start there was about 30 of us last night for a birthday party ....we had great service at the tables and they managed to get all the mains out in good time ...this ment we all ate together ....food was lovely and great value for money and the kids loved the deserts ...would defo come again... More 

Helpful?
Thank craig j
hungryhorse4725, General Manager at Gypsy Queen, responded to this review

great to hear you had a great visit with us for your birthday party, your comments have been passed on to all team and are most appreciated, hope to se you again in the very near future More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Came here for tea last Tuesday after having a lovely breakfast a few months ago and was so disappointed. Food order took nearly 40 minutes to arrive (on a Tuesday night!) and when it did come she brought a meal for another table. Then when the right meal came it still wasn't right. On the menu it clearly states 4... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sanlougov
hungryhorse4725, General Manager at Gypsy Queen, responded to this review

your comments are welcome and have been addressed with all team concerned and measures put in place to rectify the points you raised, may I take this opportunity to apologise and hope that your experience will not stop you returning in the future More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

1st attempt the food was cold . 2nd attempt the skewers were so dry we couldn't eat them . when we told the waitress she said " uh yes . the skewers usually are very dry ?? . we were going to have a dessert but were totally disgusted paid and left .

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
1 Thank davidmM3292OL

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Queen also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Gypsy Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Drakehouse Lane, Sheffield, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 248 7429

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gypsy Queen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?