We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hidden Gem

Rear of Bents Green School Ringinglow Road | Rear of Bents Green School, Sheffield S11 7TB, England
+44 114 262 0094
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good10%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (36 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (20 reviews)
“cakes” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rear of Bents Green School Ringinglow Road | Rear of Bents Green School, Sheffield S11 7TB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

a great location with amazing breakfasts... the only suggestion is to cook the black pudding a little more

Thank Si G
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited here for breakfast after reading the reviews. It was very busy but the service was good and the place has a lovely atmosphere. I had the vegetarian breakfast which was outstanding, would definitely go back!

Thank JBellaBull
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I’d seen reviews on here and thought it’d be nice to see for ourselves. The staff were friendly, the food was ok but the menu is quite limited which was disappointing.

Thank Anna D
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited today and had a lovely lunch, the place is obviously very popular as was really busy and we were told we would have to wait 10-15minutes, we barely waited 10 mins until a table.was available. Food is very high standard, I had the mushroom...More

Thank Kimberley A
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast; friendly atmosphere and delightful menu. Really tucked away, but bustling with returning customers. Also a great cause.

Thank geraldine c
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for brunch & had a fabulous selection of sandwiches, followed by delicious cake. The coffee was great too! Would definitely recommend

Thank amanda f
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi amanda f, Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here before but only had cake so came for brunch this time instead. We all agreed our food was delicious and didn't have to wait long despite the fact that it was busy. It is not cheap but the quality and ethics...More

Thank Helen B
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Helen B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and support our wonderful charity. Its lovely to her that you enjoyed your visit, please call back soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
61
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely brilliant, the food was amazing and staff very helpful! Will be back to visit again! Definitely a hidden gem.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visit regular and always have a lovely brunch. The staff are all friendly and welcoming and the food is always tasty 😋

Thank Kat H
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kat H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently paid a visit for lunch and it was very good. The cafe on the outskirts of Sheffield is a little off the main road, hence the name. The day we visited the menu was slightly reduced, no sandwiches or chips. The food we chose...More

Thank Trevor B
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Trevor B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit, we can only apologise that the menu was reduced this weekend we wouldn't normally do this unless we really had too. We hope...More

PreviousNext
12345642
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 53 hotels in Sheffield
The Norfolk Arms
384 reviews
2.06 km away
The Florentine
257 reviews
2.31 km away
Roslyn Court Hotel
2 reviews
2.44 km away
Halifax Hall
791 reviews
2.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miller & Carter
189 reviews
1.08 km away
Lavang
88 reviews
1.54 km away
The Prince of Wales
454 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Endcliffe Park
324 reviews
2.11 km away
Millhouses Park
285 reviews
2.56 km away
Mayfield Alpacas
173 reviews
2.16 km away
Forge Dam Park
72 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kylorobes
14 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from RuthHiddenGem | Property representative |
Hi Kylorobes, Yes you can call in for just coffee and cake on a weekday morning. We open at 9am. We would only suggest booking if its for a table of 5 or more for food as we do get busy. Thanks
1
Vote
Katie C
18 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RuthHiddenGem | Property representative |
Hi Katie C, Thank you for your question. We don't serve alcohol but we are more than happy for you to BYO. We do charge a small corkage at £2.50 per person. I would also advise booking if your party is bigger than 5. If you... More
0
Votes
misscowley
2 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Terrilouise91 | Reviewed this property |
I saw a leaflet saying they do can't remember the price but remember commenting the price was very reasonable
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 14
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rear of Bents Green School Ringinglow Road | Rear of Bents Green School, Sheffield S11 7TB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 262 0094
Description
The Hidden Gem cafe is linked to a small charity for young adults with learning difficulties, it is the perfect quiet retreat set back from Ringing low Road. You can call in for coffee and cake or something more substantial like homemade light bites, full English breakfast and delicious daily specials. Food is served Monday-Saturday 9am - 3pm and coffee and cake until 4. Our bijoux gift shop sells a beautiful array of home accessories, gifts and bespoke pieces. We also sell stunning handmade items that the students of WORK Ltd create
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing