We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince of Wales

$$ - $$$, British,
95 Ecclesall Road South, Sheffield S11 9PH, England
+44 114 236 9176
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good23%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
“linguine” (7 reviews)
“ribeye steak” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
95 Ecclesall Road South, Sheffield S11 9PH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 409 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thank you for looking after us , great customer service , happy and efficient. Atmosphere was good and energising . Good night out

Thank alisonrogets1
Reviewed 5 days ago

I had lunch here today with three school friends who I only meet up with once a year so we like to spend a long time over lunch. We have had a few only average lunches in other places in recent years but had a...More

Thank heatherij
Dave L, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Heather, Thank you very much for writing such a nice review of your experience with us at The Prince; I'm very glad that you and your party enjoyed yourselves, and I hope that you had a good catch up! I shall be sure to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

On a recent visit to Sheffield we went to the Prince of Wales for Sunday lunch. The chap greeting on the door was very friendly and the ambience of the room was nice. Most of us had Sunday Dinner which was well cooked and had...More

Thank prophet72
Dave L, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi prophet72, Thank you very much for reviewing your experience with us; I'm very glad that you enjoyed your visit, and I shall pass on your kind words about the food to the chefs. We are working on improving the efficiency of the service, particularly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the Prince of Wales for a family lunch, good service and cosy atmosphere but felt the food was lacking. Very small portions and poor presentation. Food was tasty but not value for money. Would be unsure about visiting for a meal again.More

Thank ESR1985
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for reviewing your experience with us and leaving some detailed feedback. I shall speak with the kitchen team about what can be done with regards presentation and portion size. I've glad that you had good service and enjoyed the atmosphere however, and I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a very pleasant Sunday meal with my family. We were served by Becka, she was great! She was patient when my family took longer than usual to choose what to eat. She was very friendly and made our visit more enjoyable. My mum...More

Thank Sophbl23
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind words and great review of your visit to The Prince. We're all very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us! Becka is one of our star front of house members, and she'll be thrilled to read...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I visited recently on a Sunday night - I accept our booking wasn't until 8pm, but there were quite a few selections unavailable..........including any type of Sunday Roast - which is the least we would have expected!. That said, the food we...More

Thank Leobolly
PrinceP265, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Leobolly, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to The Prince. Unfortunately on the day of your visit, we had been particularly busy and sadly some of the menu items were not available. This is something we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with my family the other night, as my cousin and his wife are migrating to Oz! We ordered mains, aswell as a few drinks, and had quite along wait for our food (about 40-45 mins). I had the wagyu burger, with other...More

Thank craig_tommy
PrinceP265, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Craig, Thank you very much for your kind words about your experience at The Prince yesterday. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your visit, and will be sure to pass on your compliments to the kitchen team. Apologies for the slightly longer wait than...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropping our daughter off to her uni digs we spotted this lovely looking pub. It was 7pm and we called in hoping to be served. We went to the bar and ordered drinks. We were seated while the table was being made. There was a...More

Thank Philippa H
PrinceP265, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Philippa, We were very pleased to have you on Sunday, and I'm incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. I shall be sure to pass on your feedback to the chefs regarding the Sunday roasts as they have been working...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite a few reviews on here meant we approached our visit booked by friends with a little trepidation. We were however blown away by the food. I had the Chicken Karaaga with Katsu sauce, my wife had Beef Kabobs. Both were outstanding. We both had...More

Thank Ged P
PrinceP265, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ged, Thank you very much for your kind and honest review of your experience with us; I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and had a great evening with your friends! I will pass on your compliments to both the front of house and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal here last night. The menu is varied and offered something for everyone. The staff were friendly and although service was a little slow it did give us time to talk. We'd definitely come here again.More

Thank Susan P
PrinceP265, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Susan, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to The Prince last night, and for giving us a 5* review. Saturday was incredibly busy for us, so I'm very glad that you and your party enjoyed yourself and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bistrot Pierre
657 reviews
.89 km away
Napoleons Casino & Restaurant
194 reviews
.83 km away
Dino's Restaurant
181 reviews
1.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Endcliffe Park
318 reviews
1.41 km away
Hidden Ibiza Tours Ltd
82 reviews
1.48 km away
Sheffield Round Walk
59 reviews
1.29 km away
Shepherd Wheel
37 reviews
1.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 12 - USD 30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95 Ecclesall Road South, Sheffield S11 9PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 236 9176
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing