We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Boy

$$ - $$$, British,
Shinfield Road | Shinfield, Reading RG2 9BP, England
+44 118 988 3116
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (28 reviews)
“burger” (28 reviews)
“pudding” (16 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shinfield Road | Shinfield, Reading RG2 9BP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 464 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

After reading the wonderful reviews online, I thought we'd try this place as the in-laws were in town for the weekend. I must say, when I called up to book a table on the phone, the man I spoke to was fantastic, very polite and...More

Thank Claudia_Yol
Reviewed 2 days ago

Had a lovely meal at The Black Boy this week - delicious food with a great choice on the menu (I'm vegetarian so was nice to see such a variety of choices!). The staff were really friendly and the interior is lovely - definitely recommend...More

Thank Charlotte G
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Charlotte, thanks for posting this lovely review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to The Black Boy, thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon :o)

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First visit since the take over. Saturday meal with family. Food was superb. Atmosphere was great. Staff are first class and very friendly. Loving the outside area with booths that I've never personally seen before at any pub/restaurant.

Thank bluemissile
Barons D, General Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your great review and lovely feedback. Glad to hear you like what we've done to the pub and hope to see you again soon :0)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the good places were fully booked so thought we would settle for The Black Boy. Overall I would say the food was just about average, I think it is overpriced for the standard and quality of the food. Starter - Chicken Satay (6) &...More

Thank James F
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear James, many thanks for your review and detailed feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you don't consider the Black Boy to be one of "the good places" but understand your disappointment with the quality of some of your meals. I will investigate the issues...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us girls ( mature ladies actually!) had a fab evening at this gem of a pub last Monday. The food and service were first class, and it was all great value for money. Will definitely visit again. Lovely ambience in the restaurant.

Thank Jan S
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jan, many thanks for this fab review, we're delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! :o)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service and some interesting choices on the menu. Very pleasantly surprised after passing it for years

Thank Robert W
Barons D, General Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review, Robert. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon :0)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I work locally and knew this place before it became a chain. Was a little old and rustic inside but since the new owners have taken over the refurbishment inside is great. However, the fixtures and fittings are excellent but the food is simply awful....More

Thank 779braveheart
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad to hear you like what we've done with the refurb but sorry to hear that we've failed to wow you with our food since we took over in March this year. Just for the record, by...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very nice evening Meal - in a "pod" in the garden of The Black Boy last night. They have got the set up pretty good, providing these little cozy and confidential eating areas. However, long waiting times to order items at the...More

Thank Redgreenblack
Barons D, General Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and feedback. I'm glad to hear you like what we've done with our garden area and the dining "pods" and apologies that you had to wait to place your order at the garden bar. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been to visit family in NW London and decided to wait till we arrived back in Reading for dinner. A good decision because once again excellent service and good quality food cooked perfectly and excellent friendly service from all staff rounded off with drinks in...More

Thank James V
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely review! Thanks so much for posting it. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :0)

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked a table for 21 people on the 12th August, I was asked if we could pre-order before our visit, as we were a large party, I was more than happy to do so, as I appreciate, to take all the orders on the night...More

Thank Maria J
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Maria, thank you so much for posting this fantastic review! I will certainly pass on your comments to Natalie and the team at The Black Boy and we are delighted to hear what a lovely evening you enjoyed with us. We hope to see...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
L'Ortolan
1,086 reviews
.60 km away
Toby Carvery Lower Earley
291 reviews
1.55 km away
China Garden
48 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary's Church
9 reviews
.63 km away
Fusion Beauty & Health
7 reviews
3.51 km away
Madejski Stadium
212 reviews
2.49 km away
Lockey Farm
155 reviews
3.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Beverley B
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ellie R | Reviewed this property |
you can certainly eat outside. it is very pleasant.
0
Votes
REGINALD C
14 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Marc N |
Good evening Reginald The menus can all be found on our website which is listed on the main page. (Sorry, we are not allowe3d to post the link in this section!) To book a table, please contact us on 01189 883116 anytime... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shinfield Road | Shinfield, Reading RG2 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Reading
  • Phone Number: +44 118 988 3116
  • E-mail
Description
We’re delighted to be the new owners of The Black Boy, Shinfield. We are currently closed for an extensive refurbishment and are due to reopen on Wednesday 8th March 2017. We will be updating this our website shortly and you will be able to book a table online from mid February, so watch this space! We look forward to seeing you. Barons Pub Company
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing