We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Fox Lane | Boars Hill, Oxford OX1 5DR, England
+44 1865 735131
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good13%
  • Average1%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (3 reviews)
“fish pie” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Fox Lane | Boars Hill, Oxford OX1 5DR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

A friend took me for a lunchtime birthday treat, as we were intrigued to discover why this restaurant has changed hands so many times recently, after having enjoyed a long (and consistent) tenure, in past years. Based on our experience, it's likely these owners will...More

Thank Alison F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Fox is in a lovely setting and is a scenic walk from Abingdon. The decor is cosy chic. There is a lovely decked area at the back which is perfect for drinks in the sunshine. There is always a warm welcome from the bar...More

Thank N K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a roast dinner at the Fox Inn with friends last Sunday. They also have a good vegan menu (which my girlfriend ate from) Situated in the Oxford countryside it's a great location. There is a nice outside area for a sunny day and the...More

Thank GreenGG
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Fox has always been mediocre at best, however our meal last night was astoundingly poor. The staff, at least some of them, are very rude and dismissive, and clearly don’t know how to do their jobs. The young lady serving us was obnoxious for...More

Thank Charli M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here on a Sunday night, arrived at 7:50pm; we received a warm welcome from the man behind the bar. Very polite, helpful & smiley, straight away my husband & I were pleased, as to often in many establishments (especially later in the day),...More

Thank Vicki A
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vicki Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. I do apologies about the lack of carrots, and do agree that we could have communicated better. I have addressed this issue with the team. Ryan is truly...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A really nice place. Staff friendly and efficient. Was shown to our table as soon as we arrived. Menus and drinks order taken. Once we decided on food order was taken and food arrived about 15 - 20 minutes later. Food was nicely presented and...More

Thank Rob C
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rob Thank you for the kind words, I am delighted to inform the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards Richard

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

14 people in attendance including three teenagers Apart from a poor salad, and a rather long wait for a pizza service and food was good. Apology for salad was swiftly forthcoming, as was a replacement. Prices on them somewhat higher side for a pub restaurant

Thank franciscan45
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Franciscan Thank you for your review, we always like to make sure that we make our Guests stay an enjoyable one. And am very pleased to see that we dealt with the salad issue swiftly. Kind regards Richard

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We came in for a lunchtime after we had been here before! And had a bad time with last manager This time we was welcomed in the pub and they was so helpful The menu was very nice this time and enjoyed it. Well done...More

Thank suemorrissuk07
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sue Thank you for the great words. It's always great to get positive feedback. Please feel free to pop in and enjoy the great sunset on our terrace, now that "Spring" might finally grace us.. Kind regards Richard

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

The Fox is a real gem. If you want a friendly welcome the Fox is for you. The staff are genuinely lovely. In the cold weather the fire is roaring and in the summer the decking is the place to be. Today was a Mother’s...More

Thank N K
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear N K Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic Mothers day. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Richard

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Came to celebrate Mother’s Day with the family and had an excellent meal, I had the roast beef as did my Ma and wife and brother. My dad had the lamb and step daughter had the chicken. Everyone of us said how lovely it was....More

Thank Matt T
The Fox B, Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Matt Thank you for the fantastic review. We are very blessed to have such a passionate team. We hope you come down and enjoy one of our great sunsets in the near future. Kind regards Richard

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Oxford
The Westwood Hotel
343 reviews
2.01 km away
Egrove Park
28 reviews
3.46 km away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
409 reviews
3.79 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1,309 reviews
4.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Buscot Tea Rooms
81 reviews
3.32 km away
Tandem
150 reviews
3.46 km away
The Greyhound
775 reviews
3.02 km away
The Flowing Well
398 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Head to Toe
20 reviews
1.63 km away
Great Coxwell Barn
69 reviews
3.31 km away
Abingdon County Hall Museum
90 reviews
4.53 km away
Abbey Meadows
117 reviews
4.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
985Sheels
2 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris L |
The Fox is still open just under different management
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 35
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fox Lane | Boars Hill, Oxford OX1 5DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 735131
  • E-mail
Description
The Fox Inn is situated towards the edge of the beautiful rural village of Boars Hill, about six miles from Oxford, straddling the boundary between the civil parishes of Sunningwell and Wootton. The village was historically part of Berkshire until the 1974 boundary changes transferred it to Oxfordshire. The pub itself dates back to the 1930s and exhibits a truly traditional building with stunning wooden beams and inviting open fires for the colder British seasons. With plenty of parking, a large outside terrace and excellent accessibility we offer something for everyone, all year round. We also welcome our canine friends in the bar area. Our aim is to create an informal dining experience featuring fantastic fresh British food, a selection of wines and cocktails, beers and real ales.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing