We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turl Street Kitchen

16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
+44 1865 264171
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“plaice” (23 reviews)
“pork chop” (10 reviews)
“potatoes” (36 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 725 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Nice ambience. Pleasant staff. Super poached eggs on avocado and toast. Coffee good. What's there to complain about?

Thank RalfRosin
Reviewed 1 week ago

I meet up with friends often at Turl Street Kitchen. Great coffee, delicious home cooked, local fare in an upbeat atmosphere. Friendly servers. Good value for money. Highly recommended.

Thank Natalie W
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks Natalie :) Happy to hear you and your friends enjoy it here.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to like Turl Street Kitchen more than I did. The atmosphere was nice - a big room full of different old tables. The service was good - friendly and helpful. Plus, I like the idea of locally sourced food and don't mind paying...More

Thank Travelpages33
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I'm sorry to hear you had such a mixed experience at the TSK. Hopefully it hasn't put you off coming to try us again, our menu changes twice daily and we're constantly coming up with new dishes according to what's in season so there's...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

When the visit starts off so bad what can you say. Customer service is everything, it makes up for many ills. The food can be so-so and one may overlook if the staff is friendly. Unfriendly staff and even a 5 star can turn you...More

1  Thank rebfamily
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thanks for taking the time to write this feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the Turl Street Kitchen. Please could you get in touch on our email address (book@turlstreetkitchen.co.uk) with details of the time when you visited etc. so...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

A very average experience all round. Bland food and scandalous prices. Wasn't full or satisfied with my meal. Won't be going back.More

Thank Dan M
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hello, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your food with us. We source our food locally and seasonally as much as possible to bring great flavour to our menu. Our menu changes twice daily, which means that our prices reflect the cost of food and...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

After agreeing to 2 meet friends in Oxford we picked Turl Street Kitchen as our lunch venue. Upon arrival we were confused as to where the main seating was and the staff member asked did not offer clear instructions. After being seated however by another...More

Thank NaiHanne
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to write this feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the Turl Street Kitchen. Please could you get in touch on our email address (book@turlstreetkitchen.co.uk) with details of the time when you visited etc. so...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018

We came across the Turl Street Kitchen on an evening out in Oxford with Friends. Really enjoyed our evening here, and felt very well looked after by our Waitress. Good selection of dishes on the menu all reasonably priced. We sat in the large room...More

Thank brizzle1965
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hello- thanks for the review, we're really happy you enjoyed your evening with us. I'm trying to work out why your bill had 25% service charge as our our service charge is 10%, which is in line with other restaurants. It is also completely optional,...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

Most expensive bread and butter in Oxford! 5 tiny pieces of freshly made bread but only 3 mouthfalls each slice and two small pats of butter for £7.50! When my grandson questioned the price the waitress replied that the butter was expensive and special! We...More

Thank manny955
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We are an independent restaurant meaning we can't always pass on the savings of economies of scale to the customer in the same way as much larger restaurants can. Our food is sourced locally and seasonally...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018

We ate breakfast here twice over the weekend and it was nice both days. It has a great feel about the place with nice food (can highly recommend the banana bread), friendly staff and at a good price.

Thank thphotography
TSKTeam, Community manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Come back again soon.

Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Came here for breakfast and had fantastic food and coffee from Turl Street kitchen in Oxford. Food was tasty and fresh and really enjoyed it. Service was good and staff were attentive and very jolly.

Thank rayrest
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad we were able to get your day off to a good start! Come back again soon :)

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Oxford
Vanbrugh House Hotel
790 reviews
.24 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3,421 reviews
.25 km away
Bath Place Hotel
300 reviews
.27 km away
Victoria House Hotel
164 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Original Hassan's
109 reviews
.04 km away
Pieminister
282 reviews
.12 km away
No.1 Ship Street
129 reviews
.11 km away
The White Horse
553 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sheldonian Theatre
423 reviews
.12 km away
Trinity College
230 reviews
.09 km away
Exeter College
106 reviews
.03 km away
Balliol College
298 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Turl Street Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 43
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 264171
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing