We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Burnt Stump

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Burntstump Farm Burntstump Hill | Arnold, Nottingham NG5 8PQ, England
+44 115 963 1508
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 290: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a quick lunch good deals and good food. Lots of 2 for 1 deals which made it good value. Staff were very helpful. In a good spot for walking.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am glad to hear the team looked after you. I hope you enjoyed your walk More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered chicken melt - on the menu it said BBQ chicken on a baquette with melted cheese. Dish came on toasted bread with chicken and BBQ sauce. Told the waitress but she wasn't too concerned. Disappointing!

Helpful?
Thank ronlin66
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

I am very sorry about the mix up with the sandwich. And also very sorry that this was not corrected. More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another dinner with my mother and partner and partners mother. Picked from the buy one get one free board. This makes each meal in the region of about £13/14. However I would say that £7 would be the correct price for a single meal here. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We all had a great time. My partner's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_Steve_Ling
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you all enjoyed your visit. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's busy approaching Christmas so you do have to be a little more forgiving but there's only so much you can forgive! Interesting table arrangement for a booking made weeks in advance. All different shapes and sizes. It was what people might do at home to accommodate unexpected extra guests. I suppose we should be grateful none of it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turnip8888
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met at the Burnt Stump for a Christmas family get-together. Had to wait 20 minutes until we were shown to our table, which were three different sizes/shapes! We were then waiting a good 50 minutes before out food arrived. When it did.......a burnt yorkshire pudding, burnt carrots, 5 frozen brussels, 3 small....looked like new potatoes, frozen peas, turkey and gravy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location in the woods near a small lake. Good menu choice. Food was ok, nothing special but very good value. Ideal place for works do or cheap family meal out.

Helpful?
Thank EKarch81
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

I went for dinner with 3 friends to the Burnt Stump, many years after I lasted visited. My initial thoughts would be to go with a group of an even number of people in order to take advantage of the excellent 2 for 1 deal. The beer selection at the bar is a little limited but I had a very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisomatic
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do try and cater for all tastes with our ale selection and are working hard on this area of the bar trade. I am very sorry about the nachos as they are supposed to be layered with the cheese so I will take this up with the kitchen team. Glad to hear you enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

It's cheap and cheerful enough. Starting to look tired now though and could do with a refurb. I treated two colleagues to lunch and we ate from the lunchtime sandwiches menu. Around £5.50 each plus drinks. The steak and cheese was okay I had the chicken club which was dry and a bit lacking in filling. I've been here before... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank L C
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to giving us a review, yes our decor is looking a little dated it is something that is been looked at to improve in the near future. sorry to hear about the Club sandwich I will review this with the kitchen to improve that. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely pub, have always liked this pub, food good, always a good atmosphere,staff are friendly and willing to help, love the puddings as well

Helpful?
Thank diggydegdegdeg
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you lovely feedback, glad hear that you enjoy visiting us and we hope to see you again soon More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Great location however in need of renovation. Good food and drinks selection. Lots of space outside for children to play etc..

Helpful?
Thank A N
David B, General Manager at The Burnt Stump, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would agree that our décor and building is looking quite tired, and it is something that we are looking at improving. The outside area is fantastic for the children to play. Why not come and give us a try in the summer especially when the cricket is on... More 

Travellers who viewed The Burnt Stump also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Arnold, Nottingham
 
Farnsfield, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Burnt Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Burntstump Farm Burntstump Hill | Arnold, Nottingham NG5 8PQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: +44 115 963 1508

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Burnt Stump staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?