We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Town House

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew | NR7 0EF, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
441603700600
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 07:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Town House has a beautiful setting by the riverside,food excellent,Staff really made us feel welcome food had a great selection

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne J, Thank you for your glowing review, your feedback will be passed back to all the team :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met up with some friends visiting from Eastbourne and we were looking to go out for a meal, decided on a carvery and I was recommended The Town House, having never been there before thought we would give it a try. Really nice atmosphere and we were very surprised at how reasonable it was for a carvery and a drink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MidLifeMini
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear MidLifeMini, Many thanks for the glowing review, we pride ourselves on a good atmosphere and good value offering, we hope you to see you again soon. More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our 40th anniversary here , there was 8 of us and we had the carvery which was very good , there was a choice of Turkey , pork and beef plenty of veg to choose from , it was a Sunday so it was just over £7 each , it's just over £4 each on weekdays , I... More 

Helpful?
Thank janwyer54
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear janwyer54, Thank you for the fantastic review, we look forward to seeing you upon your return. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

...my partner and I have been regular visitors for the last few years. We've always been excited to come for a carvery, the staff are always polite and helpful and the food is always delicious...and yet on this occasion, it all fell apart. We arrived and were promptly served by the staff before heading straight to the carvery, we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Steve B, Apologies that your experience was not as good as your previous visits, please make contact via our site directly so as we can discuss this further, thank you for taking the time to comment on the positives of your previous visits, and as you can see our recent feedback has been exceptional. I look forward to hearing... More 

Trowse Newton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for a carvery especially on weekdays when a plateful and a drink will set you back 6 quid! Nice riverside garden for the Summer months. Does what it says on the tin.

Helpful?
Thank David H
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear David H, Many thanks for the lovely review, we pride ourselves on the value and location of our offering and thank you for your glowing comments. :) More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here again today and wasn't disappointed. Found a table fairly quickly, got served at the bar straight away and got served at the carvery straight away again. This place is our favourite place to have a Carvery. The only downside for us and I would think a lot of the customers is the parking. It's an nightmare. Even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfamily1976
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Lovemyfamily1976, Many thanks for the review and all the positive comments, it will be fed back to the team. Due to the location and popularity of the venue parking at the front can be a bit short on spaces, but be sure to try the second larger car park at the back if you haven't already..... :) More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The lady that greeted us was lovely! The man that took our order at the bar was lovely. Great value for money lots of different meat and veg to Choose from and it was lovely! Definately would return

Helpful?
Thank Jenai L
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Jenai L, Many thanks for the wonderful review, I will be sure to feed your comments back to the team, and we look forward to seeing you upon your return. More 

Norwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Typical carvery lunch . Usual stuff, and nice apart from gravy all had onions in (I don't like onions) No room inside, so had to sit outside in the cold,

Helpful?
Thank Howso
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Howso, Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to comment on the positive aspects of your experience regarding the quality of the food. We do get busy at peak times, but upon your return if it is exceptionally busy, please inform one of the team members and they will be happy to find you a table... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Our Sunday roast is held on a Monday at this carvery. Good food, which has a choice of three cooked meats from gammon, beef or turkey with plenty of vegetables, stuffing and roast potatoes. Superb and fast service from all staff. Friendly atmosphere and pleasant setting. Ideal for lunches by the river or an early evening drink.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Kevin M, Many thanks for the superb review, I shall pass on the praise to all the team, we look forward to seeing you again soon. :) More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a guesthouse up the road from here, and thought we would get some food, typical pub Carvery, good selection of meat and vegetables, staff friendly, good views over the river from the eating area, shame it rained when we were there, but probably glorious in the summer

Helpful?
Thank Hammers1895
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Hammmers 1895, Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to comment on the positive aspects of your visit in the selection of vegetables and the happiness of the team, believe me when the sun shines the garden is glorious!!! You must return and visit us then......... We look forward to seeing you upon your return :) More 

Travellers who viewed The Town House also viewed

 

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:30
Thursday
07:00 - 21:30
Friday
07:00 - 21:30
Saturday
07:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew | NR7 0EF, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: 441603700600
Description
Tel: 01603 700600

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Town House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?