We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Town House

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew | NR7 0EF, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
+44 1603 700600
Today
07:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 07:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 213: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My family, aged 7 to 85 years of age, were all delighted with the lunch they had this week. A smaller appetite meal suited my mum, whereas my husband tucked into the King carvery. Kids plates were a very good size too! The gammon melted in the mouth and the veg was very tasty. I also had it on good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Hi TeresaC thank you so much for your glowing report it is very much appriciated. We try to accommodate all appetites and our king size is a particular favourite. It's great to see the children enjoyed their meals very important to us. We hope you will visit us again soon and I will share your review with the rest of... More 

England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Have visited here twice now and understand that a certain approach to food is followed given the Town House is part of a chain of carveries. Last visit was Christmas Day and a pleasant friendly experience was had. Being vegetarian just had the vegetables etc. so can't comment on the meat side. The veges were hot, fresh and good as... More 

Helpful?
Thank theteacher112
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear theteacher112 thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments to us sorry that the gravy did not live up to your expectations, we do have 2 types one gluten free and the other beef & onion. I will look into the cooking and taste of both. I am glad you were given a warm and friendly... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed with this pub.to say the least. I booked this meal a month in advance as a lovely surprise for my family on Christmas Day.. I did this purely because my mum has cooked every year for us and I though it would be nice to take my family as part of their Christmas present! I booked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Holliee L
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Hi HollieeL I am so sorry you did not enjoy your Christmas Day meal experience with us. I know that on the day we had no complaints and we did 235 meals that day. As far as I am aware all the staff did check backs on all the tables and we got nothing but complements from our guests. Please... More 

Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went today for Christmas Day Lunch. 4 adults and a child, we were greeted in arrival with a friendly hello and a Merry Christmas, shown to our table and advised who our server would be. Again greeted by our server by a friendly hello and a Merry Christmas, she was lovely through out. Starters were gorgeous, soufflé, hard enough generally... More 

Helpful?
Thank KirstieB
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Hi Kirstieb thank you so much for your glowing review its comments like yours that make working Christmas Day worth while we are very happy you enjoyed the day and I will pass on your glowing review to all the staff and hope to see you back in the near future. Regards all at the Town House Norwich More 

Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this Restaurant today ( 18th Dec ) with my mother & father in law for a family celebration ( a early Diamond Wedding dinner ), from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome....all 12 of us 8 adults and 4 young children, the staff were more than helpful even with the youngsters whom i think took... More 

Helpful?
Thank norfolkcouple2013
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

I am so happy you were made feel welcome and the children were looked after we as a team pride our selfs on looking after families after all the children are the future of this great country I will pass on you comments to the rest of the staff and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

There's lots of choice for an expensive Christmas dinner with friends and colleagues, but for those on a budget and who want to include everyone, this place ticked all the boxes. The starters, the Carvery and the pudding s where all good, the staff were willing and able and the price was the best! We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Louise L
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Louise L, Many thanks for the glowing review, we pride ourselves on the value and quality of our festive offering, and the quality of our team, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

Visited whilst we were on a short trip to Norfolk. We had booked ahead for a Christmas Fayre 3 course dinner. It was lovely - nothing fancy, but very well cooked, very tasty and very good portions. The staff were lovely, the location is great - by the river - and the price was very reasonable. Excellent place!

Helpful?
Thank PJ259
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear PJ259, Many thanks for the lovely review at £8.99 for 3 courses we feel that our festive fayre menu is wholesome and great value and we are glad you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed serving it! We look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

By far the very worst breakfast I have ever had. The bacon was burnt and hard - could not cut it. The eggs were like rubber. Would not recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Darryl G
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Darryl G, Many thanks for The review I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations, but as you can see from all the glowing breakfast reviews we have, this is not our usual standard, if ever anything is not to your taste please do not hesitate to contact one of our team... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

I went to the town house for breakfast with my family for the 1st time on Saturday, it was the best breakfast I had ever had all fresh eggs cooked lovely would recomend to everyone, I will defenitly become a regular. The lady chef was friendly and she greeted us which u don't get in many places, it was just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lisajones00
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear lisajones00 Many thanks for the glowing review, we pride ourselves on offering one of the best value and tastiest breakfast offerings in the city, with a friendly team to boot. Rest of shored compliments passed on to the team member in question. I look forward to seeing you upon your return. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Turkey quite tasty and the beef was fine. Vegetables fine apart from roast potatoes which were hard and barely edible. Yorkhire puddings dried out and hard. Not fine dining but not bad for the price. Bar staff very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Manager R, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review

Dear Richard G, Many thanks for your review, and for taking the time to comment on all the positive aspects of your visit with regards to the food and bar team, if there is ever anything amiss please do not hesitate to approach one of our friendly team and they would be more than happy to assist you, Many thanks... More 

Travellers who viewed The Town House also viewed

 
Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich
 

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:30
Thursday
07:00 - 21:30
Friday
07:00 - 21:30
Saturday
07:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew | NR7 0EF, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 700600
Description
Tel: 01603 700600

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Town House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?