We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ma Goa

242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG, England
+44 20 8780 1767
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“vindaloo” (17 reviews)
“goan food” (15 reviews)
“lamb shank” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely atmosphere to restaurant; kind, warm and welcoming staff. Paneer and broccoli samosa for starter was high quality; very neat and fully packed. Lamb shank (on waiter's recommendation) was delicious; meat fell off the bone, excellent depth of flavour, if slightly overpowered with heat. Saffron...More

1  Thank James W
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words! We love Dishoom & are thrilled you thought we were up there with the best!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went there recently and its good to see that is as good as ever! A wonderful rebranded atmosphere with the same fantastic delicious and ORIGINAL food! An experience to your tastebuds where you won’t be disappointed! So freshly cooked with the...More

1  Thank Marta M
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I am pleased to say that I went back to Ma Goa for the first time in a while and it all looked a bit different......but FANTASTIC. What a lovely upgrade! Well done to all involved but it did make me worry that the food...More

1  Thank Papaflump
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

I went in v early on Friday evening and was abruptly barked at by a Polish waitress "please leave by 730pm" as she dumped the menus on my table. I tried to make light of it with some humour but it fell on stony ground....More

Thank DanielChris333
MaGoa, General Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Ridiculous & so unfair as this is not a true reflection of your experience with us. We actually are very suspicoious that you are employed by a competitor. We do not employ a Polish waitress at present, in fact the waitress who served you is...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived everybody was very friendly and attentive. Every dish from starters to deserts were top class and all very different from the usual curry house fare with Keema Bomb and Porco Vindaloo being big hits. All this with a good choice...More

1  Thank MCGDublin
MaGoa, Guest Relations Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Sir, We are thrilled you enjoyed your evening with us! Loved that you enjoyed Pork Vindaloo - One of our favourites too. We hope to see you back at Ma Goa soon! Kind regards, Ela Kapoor

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Ma Goa is an excellent Indian restaurant. The food is superb and the menu has plenty of choice to satisfy all tastes. The interior is unique and very stylish. One of our favourites!

1  Thank Jack L
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Jack L, It makes us all very happy to read that you enjoyed the food & our new look! Thank you so much for spreading the word on Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

It's been many years since I visited this operation and was a little concerned by the new menu. However, this place has lost none of its charm and the food is still superb! This lady recommended a bottle of South African wine and also some...More

1  Thank Deepak S
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Deepak, Many thanks for your kind words. We are very pleased your experience with us was a good one & we hope you do not leave it too long until your next visit! Kind regards Ela Kapoor

Reviewed 25 November 2017

What do you do to keep the punters flocking to your restaurant which has been around for so long that it begins to feel a tad like an institution? Ma Goa has quite a clever answer: halve the size, re-invent both the menu and the...More

1  Thank futtock21
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Futtock21, We love your review & are so pleased you appreciate all our recent changes. We will always be a work in progress (even after a quarter of a century!), learning from our guests on platforms such as Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Restaurant found to be noisy. More cafe style with hard wood seating. Food quality appeared good but too spicy for us to eat. Would not visit again.More

1  Thank 8Cleopatra8
MaGoa, General Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi there, We really appreciate your review although don't quite understand if you ate in or had a takeaway as your title suggests? Anyhow we appear to have not met your expectations & although this is really disappointing we realise we cannot please everyone. PS...More

Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The food was fine, but unfortunately not nearly as good as the reviews. The prawns in my curry were on the dry side and the peshwari naan was overwhelmed with jasmine. It was better than the average, but for sharing a rice and naan along...More

Thank jack s
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Jack, Thank you for taking the time to review Ma Goa on Trip Advisor. We are really very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit but appreciate your feedback which will be taken on board. It's the only way we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,077 hotels in London
St Paul's Hotel
540 reviews
3.62 km away
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
421 reviews
3.80 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Chelsea
1,603 reviews
2.85 km away
Premier Inn London Chiswick Hotel
260 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Totide
85 reviews
.20 km away
Bill's Restaurant
187 reviews
.20 km away
Tomoe
101 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fulham Palace
94 reviews
1.05 km away
St Mary's Church, Putney
10 reviews
.56 km away
River Lee Navigation
10 reviews
.63 km away
Flight Experience London
115 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kath36
4 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Martin D | Reviewed this property |
I am not 100% sure but I believe they do have it and it was on when we visited.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 21 - USD 41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Home Style
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG, England
  • Public Transportation: Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8780 1767
  • E-mail
Description
At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed down the generations. Our menu takes inspiration from all regions of India but we have a passion for Goa. Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run independant restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style paired with incredible craft beers from our tap wall. Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & local delivery service via Deliveroo & UberEats & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing