We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill

Belvedere Road | Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England
+44 20 7654 7800
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“petit fours” (26 reviews)
“steak” (120 reviews)
“duck” (64 reviews)
Opens in 3 min
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Belvedere Road | Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great venue with stunning river view. Let down by very poor quality, cold food. Not to mention absolutely no choice of menu ...all had to have the same starter, main and dessert (apart from veg of course) .... then paid a lot of money for...More

Thank Liz720859
Reviewed 2 days ago

The room is lovely and we had a great table by the window. Good service, if a little hectic (friendly new waiter and then several other staff at different times). Two friends and I had the Festive menu. At 1.15 they had already run out...More

Thank Nicola G
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

First impressions were great , front of house staff were very accommodating and friendly as we had booked the restaurant but after looking at both the Grill and Restaurant menu we opted for the Grill. The menu choice wasn’t brilliant and we all thought the...More

Thank ErialcB18
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear ErialcB18, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us, After reading this it is clear on this occasion we did not provide the high level of standards we aim to achieve for which we apologise for the inconvenience caused...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

If I’m honest, I was given bits of tomato as a starter and a burger as a main, very little to it considering the enormous price tag. Some of the stuff we wanted to order was not on, but we weren’t told at the start...More

Thank Rory M
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Rory M, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I wish to apologise for the incovienence this may have caused you and your party and would like to discuss your meal further, could I kindly...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Sunday lunch ahead of a Christmas extravaganza concert at Royal Festival Hall sounded like a perfect pre-festive outing. It turned in to a starvation exercise and appalling example of customer service. We arrived 25 minutes early thanks to good traffic, were seated straight away, orders...More

Thank famwag
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear famwag, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, I would like to apologise we have not been able to provide you with a full meal on the day. could I kindly ask you to get...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Sunday lunch's service was extremely poor. Our table was not ready, so we sat at the bar and had a drink. No one then let us know when our table became ready. We ordered our mains and selected the wine we would have with our...More

Thank Sherrine
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sherrine, Thank you for choosing Skylon for our Red Roast lunch, After reading your comments within your review it is sad to hear of your disappointment towards your experience with us for which we apologise for the inconvenience caused, I have personally taken on...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Went there on a Sunday; apparently there were only two chefs in that day and food quality suffered as a result. In fact, Sunday lunch at the local pub would have been much better and cheaper. A few of the waitresses had it written all...More

Thank charley22138
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Charley22138, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I wish to apologise for the poor level of service you have received on the day and losing your umbrella. I would like to discuss your experience, could I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good brunch here last Saturday, although a bit surprised to find an ibiza dance dj in the corner on a Saturday afternoon. Luckily we had a seat in the corner, great view, nice food and mostly good service. We had booked a bottomless...More

Thank judithcharmers09
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear judithcharmers09, Thank you for taking the time to review your Saturday Brunch with us, We are happy to hear you enjoyed Skylon’s iconic views over the River Thames and surrounding areas along with the dishes delivered to you, our Executive Head Chef will be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant and I am always so impressed. We took advantage of the bottomless Bordeaux offer. Great value, food was lovely and staff were very attentive. I didn't have to ask once to be topped up...More

Thank SuzieOR
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SuzieOR, Thank you for choosing Skylon for your Sunday brunch outing, As a returning guest of ours we are once again pleased to hear of your enjoyment and that the level of service along with the delicious dishes provided was that of the high...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went there with a bigger group. The food was outstanding, the salmon and the starters. The service is quick. If you want it quite, this is not the place you pick.More

Thank Viajanos
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon Restaurant, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Viajanos, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us, To hear of your enjoyment towards the delicious dishes our Executive Head Chef prides herself on is great, I will be sure to pass your feedback to her and the...More

Nearby
Southbank
Big time attractions such as the London Eye and a
thriving theatre scene (compliments of the National
Theatre and the Young Vic) are but a few of the
reasons that Southbank is such a collectively
cherished part of town. With plenty of family friendly
activities and venues lined up along a pedestrianized
river bank between Westminster Bridge and Waterloo
Bridge, visitors can always expect a casual and
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Brasserie Blanc Southbank
780 reviews
.16 km away
Las Iguanas
1,275 reviews
.03 km away
The Archduke
734 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
London Eye
66,144 reviews
.31 km away
South Bank
1,428 reviews
.28 km away
Thames River
2,413 reviews
.29 km away
National Theatre
872 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gyda H
27 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Ludovic S | Property representative |
Dear Gyda H from the inside of the venue you can see half of the firework. on NYE we offer a ticketed event for a tasting menu and all guest go down on the terrace of South Bank Centre to watch the fire work. go to our... More
0
Votes
Stuart M
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from michd67 | Reviewed this property |
it wasn't revolving when I attended but business casual wear is a good start.
0
Votes
Teri_Po
29 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Alec M | Reviewed this property |
This is very close to the London Eye. An easy walk. Ask for a table by the window overlooking the Embankment when you get there.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Belvedere Road | Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Southbank
  • Neighbourhood: Southbank
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7654 7800
  • E-mail
Description
Skylon takes its name from the original, iconic structure that was built for the 1951 Festival of Britain and the restaurant's design echoes the style of the Royal Festival Hall during the same period. Situated on the third floor of the Southbank Centre, Skylon boasts outstanding views over the River Thames from its huge floor-to-ceiling windows. The main Restaurant features modern British cuisine, while the Grill offers more informal cooking and a relaxed atmosphere. The two dining areas are separated by a stunning centrepiece, raised bar which is renowned across London for its fabulous cocktails. Executive Head Chef Tom Cook brings a wealth of experience to the kitchen, following time at sister restaurant Pont de la Tour. Look out for regularly changing menus with an emphasis on seasonal ingredients combined simply and imaginatively. Visit the Skylon website for sample menus and further information.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing