We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Geales

$$ - $$$
Kensington and Hyde Park
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
2 Farmer Street, London W8 7SN, England
442077277528
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm regularly away on business in London and just fancied good fish and chips. It's a bit tucked away but close to Notting Hill Gate station. I ordered the Skate Wing and chips and it was spot on. I'd never tried Skate before but loved it. Nice friendly staff, nice wine and a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. I love seafood generally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked lunch with a Groupon voucher Usually you get treated awfully but thought I would give it a try Even though I emailed them dozens of times via Groupon to confirm booking when arrived there it was shut due to a gas leak. The lady greeting us apologized and explained that Groupon doesn't communicate with them. Anyway she rebooked Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank christopysas
London UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We have not been to Geales for some time but remembered it as a fantastic, if slightly expensive, fish restaurant. Sadly that wasn't our experience recently. No atmosphere, poorly trained staff and food that really missed the mark. Fish pie had great ingredients but no seasoning and virtually little flavour. A 12.5 % service charge slapped on the bill.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellroy1962
Management response:

Dear Ellroy 1962, Really sorry to hear that you had such such a disappointing experience. Fish Pie is one of our most popular dishes, sorry you didn't like it. Really hope we can make it up to you, if you would be happy to come back again. 12.5% service charge is discretionary, sorry that you felt, you have to pay... More 

London UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is the restaurant of choice for me when I want a lunchtime treat. Their beer battered fish is always cooked to perfection and I find myself drooling just thinking about it. I always have problems with their selection of starters - I want them all! I can recommend the oysters, the whitebait, the crispy squid and the soft shell... More 

Helpful?
Thank g_parry
Management response:

Thank you Garry so such for this wonderful review. We all really hope to see you here again soon !! Dita Rudzite More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Dinner mid week. Friendly, attentive staff but in a restaurant that was almost empty and badly over lit. Starters of mussels in white wine and cream and soft shell crab were pretty average. Battered fish and chips (a speciality) were large and well presented but the fish was tasteless and the batter thick and stodgy. Reasonable bottle of Malbec. Probably... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I've found this place by chance and I was definitely well impressed. Staff very welcoming and friendly, food sooo delicious! I tried the fish soup as a starter and the fish pie as a main, both of them simply amazing, tasty and so good. We were sitting by the window with the heating just next to us so very cozy... More 

Helpful?
Thank dheboracoconut
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Still on the search for fish and chips in London where you can sit and eat in comfort a top quality product. Gales gets half way there. The location just one short block from Notting Hill Gate Tube was salubrious, the decor and furniture comforting and the staff efficient, welcoming and happy to converse (We were early, the place was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jawildman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We had the best fish in a long time!! The service was amazing, the food was tasty and delicious. We saw good people giving the best and the staff open and ready to have a good service and an open conversation with their clients. We had fish and chips, also we had a starter ( the Chef's sugestion) and dessert.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petrea V
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Recommend a reservation. We were able to grab the last table available without one. Skate was excellent and the girls runnning the restaurant were great. Very friendly and service was fast! Not far from the Notting Hill station, so quite easy to get to.

Helpful?
Thank BearFan1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

I was in this restaurant 25 years ago and loved their fish & chips. 25 years later, I went back and the food is as delicious. The fish melt in your mouth and the chips good... I went mid-afternoon and the atmosphere was relaxed. Good value and inexpensive eating.

Helpful?
Thank CGermain333

Travellers who viewed Geales also viewed

 

Been to Geales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 27
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Farmer Street, London W8 7SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Kensington and Hyde Park
  • Neighbourhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
  • Phone Number: 442077277528
Description
Geales has been London's most loved neighbourhood fish restaurant for over 70 years. Since 1939 this reputable restaurant has been a firm favorite with devoted locals and celebrities' alike. Geales offers a menu that retains the great British chip shop mentality... No frills, just fresh fish and fabulous service. The updated historic site provides a rustic yet chic local diner with a relaxed, nostalgic nod to the brand heritage.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Geales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?