We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bleeding Heart Bistro

Bleeding Heart Yard, Hatton Garden | off Greville St, London EC1N 8SJ, England
+44 20 7242 8238
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good44%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak hache” (8 reviews)
“lapin” (6 reviews)
“rabbit” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bleeding Heart Yard, Hatton Garden | off Greville St, London EC1N 8SJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 342 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We went there for lunch, not knowing what to expect. Simple menu but with great variety. Food was brilliant and no French snobbery. Well recommend the creme brulee, just divine. Go definitely go there again.

Thank WelikeHouse
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 days ago

I went to the bistro for a lunch, and it was amazing !!! The salad is fresh, light et very tasty !! The fois gras is very nice !! The combination with the chutney was perfect !!! The terrasse is a very good point for...More

Thank Cold1610
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Second visit here, last time was a good few years ago. Not as good as I remember it. Service was very slow, dinner took two and a half hours and it was not particularly busy. Main complaint was the prices. I am used to paying...More

Thank Happytrailertrash
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We thank you for your visit and we hope you visit us again in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went there on a Saturday night for dinner. It was a bit chilly so we did not choose to eat outside, but the terrace in this quiet courtyard would be really pleasant on a warmer day. One of us being vegetarian, we were pleased...More

Thank Pauline L
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We thank you for your visit and are delighted that you had a great time. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a dinner organised by a supplier. It is several years since I have been, and it was lovely to see that it was still good. The venue was great, food was wonderful and the conversation lively.

Thank annie_bee14
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The sea bream was really nice and the profiteroles too, and the staff was really helpful. Would definitely recommend and come back.

Thank Charrier S
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Very good food, very filling so check the size of your helping. Good service and if I lived in London, I would defintely go back. Has a nice and easy vibe.

Thank thecat67
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Lunch for six here . Had eaten in the Restaurant before but preferred the Bistro today . Very busy lunch crowd , mainly businessmen and women . Not a huge menu and there is both prix fixe and a la carte. All the cooking was...More

1  Thank Turkoman
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We called in by chance and had a pleasant lunch from the set menu. The lamb was well done which was what we wanted but perhaps to the English rather than the French taste. A nice glass of white Burgundy. Service was efficient and friendly.

Thank eldonista
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

My fiancée and I visited the bistro with her brother and his girlfriend and we had a lovely evening. The food was good and there was quite a lot of choice. The only thing that was that there was only one portion of mussels for...More

Thank Gogs42
GroupeBleedingHeart, Guest Relations Manager at Bleeding Heart Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Nearby
Holborn
Inner London’s busiest streets crisscross quiet
cobbled lanes for an effect that can be urbane or
quaint – or an intriguing blend of both – depending on
the particular corner you turn. Due to its especially
convenient location, bustling Holborn hosts an
excellent range of hotels, eateries, and shops to suit
practically any taste or budget. With major
attractions like the British Museum and Somerset House
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Bleeding Heart Restaurant
572 reviews
.02 km away
One Tun
72 reviews
.07 km away
Ye Olde Mitre
100 reviews
.11 km away
Vivat Bacchus (Farringdon)
212 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hatton Garden
159 reviews
.05 km away
St. Etheldreda's
34 reviews
.09 km away
Hearts of London
142 reviews
.04 km away
Hatton Garden Jeweller
145 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bleeding Heart Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bleeding Heart Yard, Hatton Garden | off Greville St, London EC1N 8SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Holborn
  • Neighbourhood: Holborn
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7242 8238
  • E-mail
Description
Our busy buzzy Bistro with its striking 19th Century French wine posters and eccentric Vineyard Sculpture combines a warm ambience and cheerful yet professional service with traditional French dishes ranging from Coq au Vin and Steak Frites to Lapin à la Moutarde and Navarin of Organic Lamb, plus a great-value list of 450 wines by the bottle and more than a dozen by the glass. From Spring to Autumn the Bistro has a secluded court yard terrace sitting more than 30.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing